We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's really very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Brooklyn
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“It's really very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

If you need swanky decor with lots of marble and people in white uniforms, this place is for you. Lovely grounds, great pools, decent restaurants. The beds are super-plush, the bathroom is big enough to bathe a llama, and the balcony is good enough to spend the whole vacation on. But the restaurants are hit-or-miss for the food and always a sucker-punch with the prices. The pools are dominated by kids, even the so-called adults-only Hibiscus Pool, and the beach is public anyway, so why do you need the hotel. It is really very nice, but not spectacular.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,727
    817
    410
    239
    159
See reviews for
1,258
1,177
40
293
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

When we walked into the Grand Wailea on our first night there to check-in, I thought it was the most beautiful hotel I had ever seen. At night, with the lights sparkling, the water all around and the beautiful decor, the hotel is really gorgeous. We were warmly welcomed with flower leis and our check-in was smooth.

I have to say, though, that the hotel is VERY expensive. $4.50 for a small glass of coke with no refill. $10 for a box of Captain Crunch. If you are planning to just stay on the resort, plan on bringing lots and lots of extra money. Even with a resort fee, there was an additional baggage fee in addition to the tip ($40 in our case) and all we did was use the bellhop. There was a housekeeping fee on top of the already high room prices. Want to use a ball at the pool? Pay up. Cabanas were ridiculously overpriced and very few were in use when we were there.

That said, the service was good (although I would have preferred the turn-down service later than 5:00 pm which is when we were getting ready for dinner and not ready for turn-down). The property is well maintained. And it IS beautiful, from the multiple pools to a lovely beach. If you have little kids, be advised that you will have to be with them constantly because the pools all have slides that go between pools, so there is nowhere to sit where you can keep your eyes on your kids the whole time.

We were somewhat disappointed that the pools closed at 10 p.m.

Really enjoyed the spa with the special baths. Yoga on the beach at 7 a.m. was also a nice benefit.

Room Tip: The resort is HUGE. Our room had a beautiful view of the ocean (in the distance) but it was a hike...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExec, Public Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Aloha! We do start our turn down service at 5 PM.

Did you know we love customizing details of your stay? If 5 PM is too early for turn-down service, please let us know what time you'd like service and we will add it to your reservation! It is our goal that each guest has the experience they have been anticipating for their Maui vacation. There are many ways we can customize your stay. Just let us know how we may help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I travel often and typically don’t have the time or energy to write up hotel reviews. However I decided on the long flight home I would take the opportunity to submit my first review on Trip Advisor, mostly because of my level of satisfaction at a recent stay at Waldorf Grand Wailea (March 13-22).

This is actually the second time we have stayed at this amazing resort, so I knew going in it was going to be another fantastic stay and I was not disappointed with the results.

I am a HHonors Diamond member, used points for this stay, and was very surprised at check-in they upgraded us to Napua Tower. Typically, even for Diamond members, it is rare to get upgraded to this tower. I am pretty sure that because I made my reservations so far in advance (last September) that maybe I was put on waiting list with some priority due to early booking if such a room would be available at check-in. (When we stayed here two years ago using points w/Diamond status - we did get upgraded to an ocean-view room)

As standard Diamond member, the daily $25 resort fee was waived. Also received $40 off dinner at the Humuhumunukunukuapua restaurant, two free drinks (at the same place), 20% savings from spa, 2500 bonus points if you spend $125 or more at the spa, and 2000 bonus points if you dine at one of the restaurants during your stay.

The perks of Napua Tower are plenty – very large room, which also contains a refrigerator which is great if you want to buy groceries off-site, etc. The best perk is the Eighth Floor Lounge – where they serve breakfast every day from 7-10AM. It is advertised as a continental breakfast, but it is much more than that as every day there was a different option of a hot meal as well (eggs, pancakes, waffles, etc). Also great smoked salmon which is my favorite. In the afternoon from 2PM-4PM they offer tea, coffee, and awesome cookies. The best, though…is the cocktail hour w/Hors d’oeuvers nightly from 5PM-630PM. Open bar with PREMIUM alcohol…and awesome food, snacks, etc. There is also a personal concierge on that floor for you…in addition to a computer/printing station which is complimentalty. I am not sure the price difference between staying in the Napua Tower vs. standard rooms, but if you have the option to pay for an upgrade to Napua Tower, I would estimate it is easily worth $150 a night more, for a family of four.

The rest of the resort speaks for itself…from reading the reviews they are pretty much spot on..amazing pools, awesome beach. GREAT for KIDS…and there will be TONS OF KIDS here…always are and it is really poised as a kid-friendly family resort. As for some of the negative reviews – let me take an opportunity to counter them…

First, Maui is an expensive place. It is a very small island. Please don’t complain about $15 drinks or $9 beers. If you are that uptight about cost of drinks you can purchase alcohol at nearby ABC Stores or grocery stores which are located close to the resort. The Shops at Wailea which contains several restaurants, shops, etc is located just a 10 minutes walk away. However the food and drinks there are not much less than the resort.

The resort offers free chairs/umbrellas at the beach. If you are not in line to check them out by 9AM you probably won’t get one. The Grand Wailea only has about 100 chairs/50 umbrellas. Keep in mind the resort also shares this beach space with Four Seasons and also the Marriott. Also it is one of the most amazing beaches in Maui, it is secluded, intimate, scenic, beautiful. Also keep in mind the weather in Wailea is always the best in all of Maui due to location being southernmost. While there was ‘rain’ in the forecast every afternoon during our entire stay, it never rained once. Sunny and 85 degrees every day, maybe some cloud covers for a few hours in the afternoon but otherwise if you want the best possible weather in Maui stay in Wailea.

Pool chairs also fill up fast, however if you are looking for chairs the pool staff will ‘find them for you’… they will move towels from chairs that do not appear to be occupied. But you have to ask. They did it for us every day…

Wife got a massage at the Spa, she has traveled all over as well and commented the Spa at Grand Wailea is the BEST EVER.

This review is getting too long (sorry) so I will end it now. Any questions drop me a line. Enjoy your stay, we will be back next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExec, Public Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
This fantastic review brings up the Hilton Honors program and all of its wonderful benefits as well as offering some really great tips for the stay. He is absolutely correct about our beach and pool staff. They are always on hand to help you find chairs in your preferred location and you don't need to do anything more than ask.

Thanks, again for the wonderful review and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Despite calling ahead and telling the manager that we would be tired and not want to change rooms , when we arrived at the hotel we were escorted to two filthy rooms with a dank smell surpassed only by the stained carpet.
We then spent the next hour hearing how sold out the property is and eventually when my family simply was too worn down shown to a room on the second floor with a view of the trees and the music of the elevators
It is sad to see this once wonderful property in its present state and sadder yet to pay premium prices for this

Room Tip: Nothing help - tips don't work and management is disengaged
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was our second time at the Grand Wailea...we came back when our kids were just a bit older so that they could really enjoy the pools. Yes, it is an expensive place but the pools and views made it all worth it for us. We were pleased with the service and didn't notice any issues that some others have pointed out (and didn't really notice a change from the last time...). The Wifi (included with the resort fee, presumably) worked great and handled 5 devices at one time! The food at our HumuHumu dinner was OK, but the views of whales breaching at sunset made up for it. I'm a Hilton Diamond member and aside from the room upgrade (we already had booked an ocean view) didn't notice alot of extras like some other Hilton's pile on. We did pre-order cabanas for 4 days, since it was spring break time, and although they are crazy expensive made our days totally relaxing. We would definitely return...and hopefully get upgraded to the Napua Tower next time! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Beautiful resort! We stayed here for a week as in incentive trip. Our kids loved the beach and the pools. The grounds were lovely. We had a breakfast buffet each morning that was wonderful. We sat on the patio overlooking the ocean. Our room was very spacious. We stayed in a suite with two bedrooms, living room, dining room, kitchen. Loved the coconut shampoos and lotions that are provided. They sell them in the gift shop for a pretty penny. Valet parking was kind of a pain because of the wait but there were a lot of people there for this incentive trip. I didn't want to leave when the week was up....

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Bring cash to spare because everything you do at this hotel costs money and a lot of it. We sort of knew that coming into the deal, but our expectation was that the service,amenities and cleanliness of the hotel would at least warrant the high cost. The rooms are a tired...long overdue for an update. The food in every restauarant here was expensive and executed without much care or attention to detail...most dishes were overseasoned and periodically overcooked. The buffet breakfast in the Maui Grand Dining Room was okay, until we looked up at the wall above one of the food tables and noticed spiderwebs and dead insects...that was our last meal in that dining room.

As to cleanliness in general, the sheets on the beds were never changed during our entire weeklong stay and we noticed an accumulation of my wife's and daughter's hair on the bathroom floors...clearly there was little or no vacuuming being done.

The pool was fine as long as you ran down there at 7am to secure good seating...the so-called one hour time limit on unused seating was never enforced and people would wander off for hours at a time while others languished in the direct sun. They did have a lot of tented areas and covered seating by the pool that was rarely, if ever, used...I inquired and it turns out that the minimum price for five people for one of those tented areas was $400 for the day...it was offensive.

Happily, our kids are young enough that they were unaffected by all the annoying and overly expensive aspects of this hotel...they were thrilled to be in the pool and on the beach, but at the end of the day, they would have been equally thrilled at a considerably less costly, and more well attended, hotel in Florida.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExec, Public Relations Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your stay with us. The comfort of our guests is our first priority, and I appreciate your sharing your concerns regarding the condition of our dining room and our property. I am actively working with our housekeeping team to ensure that cleanliness issues never interfere with the singular Waldorf luxury experiences we promise our guests, and I will keep your review in mind as we look toward refresh options. Thank you again for your feedback, and I invite you to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Wailea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#6 Family Hotel in Wailea
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#7 Green Hotel in Wailea
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.