We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Save Saved
You added Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well worth the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I took my children for our first trip to Maui and we loved this resort! The property is pristine, lush, and large. The kids and I both absolutely loved the pools-they have multiple pools connected to one another with water slides that we did over and over and over! They also have a water elevator that was fun, as well. The beach is nice and the staff were very accommodating. We enjoyed our stay and will most likely return!

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,710
    810
    407
    238
    159
See reviews for
1256
1157
39
291
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

We just love the Grand Wailea! We are here for the first time celebrating our 27th anniversary and the hotel and scenery is breath taking. From the moment we checked in the bellmen, front desk, beach and pool attendants are very friendly and attentive. We haven't checked out yet but are already planning our next visit. Aloha

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I would like to premise this review by acknowledging that there were some very lovely and professional individuals working at The Grand Wailea; however, the incident that took place by the pool will ensure that I never visit this hotel again. I was getting married in Maui and had over 60 family and friends flying in for the festivities the week before including my now husband's family and my own. I had arranged for many to stay at The Grand Wailea and was eager to relax and enjoy time with family before the big day.My now husband and I decided to go down to the pool for a little r&r and went to get 2 towels. The woman working behind the counter informed me I would need to wear a wristband. I politely told her I was getting married in a few days, and that I would rather not wear it to avoid tan lines in pictures. She told me it was mandatory and that I would not be "allowed" to stay if I didn't wear it. I asked to speak with the manager thinking that she would be empathetic to the bride-to-be, and I was met with the same response in a ruder tone. I looked at my husband and said that this was so silly and unreasonable, and that I thought we were staying at a five star resort and not checking into a nightclub. She shoved the towels at us rudely, and I thanked her for her understanding even though I was in shock over this treatment. I tried to relax, but felt on edge give this needless altercation. The next day, I returned to the pool with my mother-in-law, my sister-in-law, and her two little boys (the men decided to golfing instead). My mother-in-law had set up some chairs for us, and I went to go get a drink with my toddler nephew. While on my way, I saw one of the employees who had refused to give me the towel initially, and she screamed out, "Maam, you're going to need a bracelet to be in the pool area." I told her, "I think we covered this yesterday." and she began bad-mouthing me (vulgar language included!) to a fellow employee while I was holding my nephew! I returned to my mother-in-law, and the female employee sent security(a young fellow) to inform me to go put on a wristband. So humiliating! My mother-in-law informed him that we had several rooms in the hotel, and that she could show our keys-as it seemed to her that the whole wristband practice was to avoid non-guests from entering the pool. He said no, and she responded by saying that perhaps I could pin it to my bathing suit as I was getting married in a few days. He rudely said no again. By this point I was close to tears and anything but relaxed! I actually had to go back to the towel lady who had just been speaking badly of me and put on a wristband. I tried to be rational with her, and tell her that in no way was I trying to be disrespectful, I just didn't want tan lines for my wedding photos. She said, "I'm just doing my job." If an employee's job is to embarrass a guest and make a bride nearly cry, then I suppose she did her job. My husband returned from golf, and was furious at how I had been treated. We decided to move to The Four Seasons-which could not have been a more wonderful experience. It really is a shame that amongst some employees there is more of an emphasis on having guests wear wristbands than treating loyal guests who have been coming to the hotel for years with respect and kindness. If you want a first-class/non-wristband friendly experience, choose The Four Seasons or the Marriott.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Front Office staff, managers were very rude and uncordial. Complaints in regards to my bill was directed to accounting staff where only rude employees again that did not care of the amount of money I was putting into their pockets. NO ALOHA spirit at all. As I walked the grounds and lobby I saw employees from Front Office DRESSED in their white nurse looking uniform shopping and purchasing food. Very unprofessional to pay and be charged so much and I had to stand in line again with the same rude people to purchase a meal for my family. Very dissatisfied and not a fan of feeling like I didn't matter or that i was replaceable. Management should keep employees out of site and away IN UNIFORM. Ununiformed employees were also noticeable for they were openly speaking of their 30% employee discount that I was not granted and eligible for. Employees walking around laughing and giggling of the people over paying for rooms they pay $150 for...NO PROFESSIONALISM AT ALL! I will NOT be returning to this UNgrand hotel. I will stay at the Ritz or Four Seasons where I am welcomed and treated as an guest with ALOHA.

Room Tip: Rooms by chapel is nice but far from the pools. Rooms by the pool are good for they are close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Gorgeous property, absolutely. But the staff didn't seem to live Aloha. Concierge tapped away on her keyboard while I stood right in front of her - wouldn't even look up to say hello or I'll be with you in a minute. Valet seemed frenzied all the time. Towel woman at the pool was especially rude, giving me attitude b/c I asked why I had to wear a green bracelet. If I go again I'll stay at the Marriott.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Love the property! Loved the church, the pools, the beach, the room, the waterfalls. Great service! Traveled in June 2010.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We have been coming to the Grand for many years and are NEVER disappointed. It really is our home away from home. My husband suprised me with a birthday to Hawaii. We considered going elsewhere but made the choice to return. Since it was my birthday we were given a couple of discount coupons to wonderful resturants on the property and a FREE bottle of Champagne and upgraded our room. Bonus!!! We look forward to catching up with employess such as BELL (a wonderful bell man who has just about become family)! Bell always gives you great advice on resturants and things to do around the hotel and surrounding area. We show each others pictures of our kids on how they've grown over the years. Number one man to seek out. POOM was a pool attendant who made the water slides and tarzan rope fun for my family. My husband kept on trying to get her wet and she had a great attitude the whole time. These employees take the time to talk and get to know you. We did miss seeing Duke on the beach. The amenities are top notch and the Makawao Chicken Salad with a Mango Smoothie are to die for! I had one everyday relaxing by the beautiful pool. If you forget something they have it by the pool. Very convienant. The slides cannot be beat by any hotel around the world. We have traveled all over and the beauty of the Grand is uncomparable. Yes it is exspensive but as my husband always says, "you work like a DOG and vacation like a KING"! The Grand Wailea makes you feel like royality. You get what you pay for and the memories are priceless. Mahalo to everyone at the Grand for making my birthday so special.

Room Tip: Any room is paradise! We have stayed in a deluxe garden that is close to the pools. The Napua Towe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#6 Green Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#6 Family Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.