We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zunilda y Raya

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cienfuegos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zunilda y Raya
Save
You added Zunilda y Raya to your Saves list
Calle 35# 14 e/ Ave 0 y Litoral, Punta Gorda, Cienfuegos, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 84 Cienfuegos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

What a location - near the end of the point with the sea lapping the terrace. We felt totally happy here - great cooking / comfortable rooms / lovely atmosphere and charming hosts for whom nothing is too much trouble. It does not matter at all that the point is 15/20 mins from the town - this is truly a great spot and it is easy to hail a taxi to take you either to the town of Cienfuegos or the beach or elsewhere. Really excellent casa - you will love it.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    19
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
74
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

This casa has an amazing location with beautiful views of the water from both the front and the back. The back terrace is gorgeous and you can have breakfast and dinner there while the waves gently lap at the bottom of the garden.. Zunila and Raya were so warm and welcoming and it was a pleasure to stay there. We were greeted with some delicious mango smoothie and fruit on arrival. We also had dinner here and it was the best food we had in Cuba. If you go to Cienfuegos, I'd recommend staying here 100%!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had the pleasure to spend one night (unfortunately just one) in this amazing casa particular in Punta Gorda. It has two rooms, ours was at the ground floor. Very clean, confortable, quiet and nicely furnished. The second room is at the first floor and has a wonderful view on the sea. Unfortunately the day we spent in Cienfuegos was really rainy and we could not have the dinner in the nice terrace directly on the water! No matter anyways, we could eat inside and this allowed us to know better and speak with the excellent cook Zunilda (her loabster was without doubt the best we had in Cuba) and the friendly "Raya" (who prepared a very tasty mojito for us). We spent the whole evening watching baseball and discussing about Cuba and we really had the feeling to be part of the family! The day after the sun was shining and we could enjoy the excellent breakfast in the terrace and relax a bit near the water before leaving!
It is also possbile to park the car in front of the house with a person looking after it.
Don't miss it! We will definitely stay there again, if we come back to Cienfuegos...

Room Tip: The room at the first floor has an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This casa is located right on the point with water both sides. We woke up to see the sunrise and went out to the front of the house in the evening for sunset. It's about a 10/15 minute walk into Cienfuegos but there are amenities nearby and many taxis/bici-taxis around.
We stayed for 3 nights, had two breakfasts and one dinner there which were delicious and the portions are huge. Eating in the backyard in the moonlight is perfect.
The owners Zunilda y Raya are extremely friendly and welcoming. They gave us lots of advice on things to do and even booked tours and taxis for us.
Our room was big and clean and other than the low water pressure in the shower this casa was exactly what we were hoping for in a casa particular :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The location of the casa was incredible, near the point of the punta gorda so the back yard is at the water edge. Balcony to the room has rocking chairs and looks out on to the bay. The room felt very private. Take dinner in the casa to sit in the back yard next to the water. A few minutes walk away from the amazing roof top bar in the palacio de valle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this Casa on our honeymoon and thought it was the best in the Cuba. It is in such a great location on the Punta Gorda with views out to the water from both the front and the back of the house. The room and ensuite were very comfortable. The hosts were very friendly although english speaking was limited, but with enough to get by. The breakfast was delicious -including a yummy custard speciality that was delicious. And we highly recommend eating dinner at the casa too. You cant beat the view with moonlight dining on the water, and the fresh seafood is beautifully cooked.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed at a lovely "casa particular" owned by Raya and Zunilda who were warm, thoughtful and happily shared their beautiful home. The back patio faces the sunrise on the water and the front yard faces the sunset over the water. It is quiet and pleasantly removed from downtown Cienfuegos, yet close to several nice restaurants. Zunilda's cooking is wonderful and Raya is kind and helpful. It is a lovely place to relax and feel at home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zunilda y Raya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zunilda y Raya

Address: Calle 35# 14 e/ Ave 0 y Litoral, Punta Gorda, Cienfuegos, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cienfuegos Province > Cienfuegos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Cienfuegos
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zunilda y Raya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.