We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicous food, great service!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paladar Ache

Paladar Ache
Avenida 38 No 4106 e/ 41 y 43, Cienfuegos, Cuba
+53-43-526173
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 35 restaurants in Cienfuegos
Price range: $8 - $10
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Aché Paladar.Bar Restaurant founded in 1996. Built as a native shack decorated with natural elements.The epistemology of the word is related Aché merging two cultures, African and Cuban. Hence the meaning of Welfare, Good Fortune, Good Luck, Health, is given from folk and religious imagery.We offer local and international food. Our main dishes are based on seafood prepared to coal immediately. We have a wide range of cocktails with extra rum you want.We are distinguished by excellent service, cozy atmosphere and comfort.We are at your service from Monday to Saturday from 12 m to 10:30 pm on Avenue 38 # 4106 between 41 and 43 in Cienfuegos, Cuba.You can find us in several international guidelines.Paladar Aché.
Luxembourg
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“delicous food, great service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I had the best dinner in Cuba here. The service is excellent, the food really tasty, the cocktails delicious. The half open half closed restaurant gives a nice breeze even on very hot evening. We are so happy we went to Aché, a real discovery and must go!! We wanted to go on our second evening again to the same restaurant (what we generally not do, but the food was just too delicious, we could not resist) unfortunately Aché was closed on Sunday night.

It is not far from the city center, please dont be afraid of the little walk! I promise to you you will have a great memorable dinner!

As mentioned Aché was closed on Sunday. So we spontaneously decided to go to the restaurant next door, called La Casa De Chango. On our first evening, when coming out of Aché, the waiters of Casa De Chango were stopping us on the street, denigrating and telling plenty of bad things about Aché (that the quality of food was poor, price of cocktails would be only 1 CUC in their place, Aché was too expensive...). The next day, as we were already next to Chango we had dinner there. Surprise surprise: We had less food than in Aché but we paid much more!! And the cocktails were 4 CUC, 4x more than the waiters told us the day before! Don^t make the mistake to go to Casa De Chango in case Aché is closed. I really did not like my food either.

Go only to Aché and you will have an absolute delicous meal!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    69
    30
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful food and superb service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We visited this palader based on the lonely planet and were really glad we did.

The food was lovely and there was lots of it but what was really lovely about this restaurant was the fact that the waiters made time to chat to us. I have basic spanish but the waiter we had was flent in English (he used to be an English teacher in a nearby town) and so questions about the menu were answered in detail and when I finished one of the side dishes it was refreshed at no extra cost. One of the walls has a huge fish carved into it (sounds odd but is actually really impressive) and when we asked about it the waiter told us all about what sort of fish it was, where it could be caught etc. We had a few questions about things we had seen over the past
few days and he was happy to answer them all.

While we were eating there was a thunderstorm. Although the restaurant closes at midnight we weren't asked to leave, instead we had another drink and waited for the rain to calm down a bit.

It is basically a lovely restaurant where we felt we were welcome to eat at our own speed and enjoy our evening. I'd recommend it to anone visiting Cienfuegos.

I noticed an earlier comment about the waiters request to rate them on trip advisor. While I agree that this is a bit off putting, we found that the vast majority of casas, paladars, bars etc in Cuba are encouraging people to rate them on tripadvisor so this certainly isn't a one off. Also we used trip advisor a lot when we were planning our trip and so we actually feel like writing revews of the places we liked or weren't so keen on is actually the least we can do.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice safe bet for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We only had one night in Cienfuegos so decided to take a LP recommendation to eat. So glad we did. The food and drinks were good - the serves were really large so we shared one meal between the two of us. (Why are meals so large in Cuban restaurants? They dont need to be.)
The staff compared to other restaurants we had eaten at, were great. Spoke good English and were helpful with suggestions and recommendations which you do not usually get in Cuban restaurants. Nice place to eat in a nicely decorated outdoor room on a quiet back street.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“So delicious, such great service. Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

One of the best meals we had in Cuba - really excellent. Service very attentive, and totally delicious food, which we found was not always the case in Cuba. Went back twice and so sampled quite a range of the menu, taking the advice of the waiters. All very good indeed, and great cocktails! Not cheap, but would highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointingly average despite the effort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A nice enough restaurant in the backstreets off the Malecon, but didn't live up to the expectations that the Lonely Planet, and this website, had set. The waiting staff were attentive, but often to the point of grovelling, and while the food was good (beautifully garlicky chicken and a decent fish fillet) it was nothing more than that. Cocktails were delicious and generous, but the waiters' imploring to rank them highly on TripAdvisor probably had the opposite effect.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paladar Ache also viewed

Cienfuegos, Cienfuegos Province
Cienfuegos, Cienfuegos Province
 
Cienfuegos, Cienfuegos Province
Cienfuegos, Cienfuegos Province
 

Been to Paladar Ache? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paladar Ache, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.