We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“changes made for the better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rancho Luna

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cienfuegos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Rancho Luna
Save
You added Hotel Rancho Luna to your Saves list
Carretera Rancho Luna, km 18, Cienfuegos, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Cienfuegos
Bowmanville, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“changes made for the better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

after a few nasty emails to the right people rancho luna management got the message . Every complaint was addressed to one degree or another . I spent a week there the beginning of November and was impressed . I believe the credit for the changes can be given to the lady manager . Unfortunately the Cubans who visit there on the weekends have no respect for the resort and leave a huge mess behind and stealing everything not nailed down . We watched a Cuban woman grab a cell phone from a table as the owner was talking with another tourist and ran out of the resort but was caught on video and the phone was returned . This sort of thing only happens on the weekends but sadly , happens with regularity . Once again Rancho Luna is the biggest bang for your dollar in Cuba .

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor in the 200's , less walking and some rooms have a mini fridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    93
    99
    57
    70
See reviews for
57
112
52
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Only a certain type of person can appreciate Rancho Luna.
At Rancho Luna, there was sunshine every day. I looked out the window & saw 4 horses, grass, oxen & the beautiful ocean. Every morning the rooster crowed & the birds sang a lovely song. Lunches at the beach bar are the best!
Rancho Luna is the basecamp for dolphins, city & country life, baseball games, horses, mojitoes, history, massage, flowers, spanish and meeting interesting people wherever you go.
Only drink bottled water. Watch what you eat. People did get sick.
Buy a shell from Michael on the beach. At the end of the trip, leave it to decorate the hotel bar or lobby.

Room Tip: 2nd floor 148
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Avoid this "hotel" at any price! It is actually a former base of Russian army. Beds are crappy, sleeping condition horrible! Staff - corrupted, food - terrible, beach - small and rocky. Find a better place in Varadero, pay a little bit more and enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diksmuide, Belgium
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

just one overnight in a lousy room .The terrasdoor could not be opened because they didn't find the key.food is not attractive at all,wine is disgusting and sparkling water not available.some of our friends did not take the breakfast and byed some food outdoors.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

There were a lot of maintenance work going on during our stay at the hotel. Our rooms were newly painted and looked clean. Bath rooms were clean with hot and cold water. Air-con was noisy but cooling effectively. We enjoyed the beach at the back of the hotel but watch out for
sand flies. The bites were nasty and the itch lasted for over 2 weeks. Food was sufficient and nothing fancy. Service at the restaurant was good with friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

It was our second trip to Cuba and we decided to go to Rancho Luna because it was only 500 CAD per person. The first negative experience we encountered was at the reception: the guy wouldn't change our room even so there were plenty of rooms available. Only with the help of our agency representative, who was really friendly (from Caribe Sol) we finally got a decent room with a pool view and close enough to the main building to feel safe. However, our window had a broken latch (as seems to be a custom at this hotel). Another points I disliked were the absence of sparkling mineral water at ALL bars during the whole week, dreadful pina coladas, and poor entertainment activities. Basically, there is nothing to do at this resort except for the beach or the swimming pool. The only activity I found was an aerobic class (amazingly good by the way, the coach is really professional), but otherwise the management really cuts on the entertainment budget.
Now about some positive moments: the maids do an excellent job cleaning rooms, the food and coffee at the resort are quite good, but you need to arrive among the first to the restaurant because the best choices dissapear quickly; also there are excellent excursions available from Juanita (she is at the réservations desk in the lobby). We did Delphinarium, city of Trinidad, El Nicho and Cienfuegos. All these excursions cost only 35% of Varadero's prices, for example less then 40 peso to swim with dolphins (in other places you pay at least 100). The best transportation option in the area is by taxi, just don't hesitate to negotiate with drivers. By the way, you can go to El Nicho waterfalls by taxi as well (30-35 peso), and pay a small entrance fee (9 peso) directly over there. More economical than an organized excursion and you have more liberty to explore the park on your own.
In conclusion, I would qualify this place as a good base to discover the region and to get a great photos, but not really an all-inclusive Cubain resort as we are accustomed.

Room Tip: Rooms with the pool view are safer, and as close as possible to the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had a wonderful week here. The food is ok with lots of choices, including many Cuban foods. There is a local bus, taken by Cubans, just in front of the hotel. We took this bus into Cienfuegos four times during our one week stay. The cost of the bus ride is two pesos( not convertible peso, but moneda nacional, so it work out to be less than ten cents US).
Horse back riding costs three convertible pesos if you want to ride outside of the resort. Within the resort, it is free. The horse ride is worth it. The trip lasts about one hour.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rancho Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rancho Luna

Address: Carretera Rancho Luna, km 18, Cienfuegos, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cienfuegos Province > Cienfuegos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Cienfuegos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 225
Also Known As:
Rancho Luna Cienfuegos
Rancho Luna Hotel
Rancho Luna Cuba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rancho Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.