We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Particular in Cienfuegos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Perla Marina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cienfuegos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bella Perla Marina
Save
You added Bella Perla Marina to your Saves list
5818, 39 St & 60 Ave, Cienfuegos 55100, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 73 Cienfuegos B&B and Inns
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Casa Particular in Cienfuegos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Top rating in Lonely Planet and its well deserved two clean rooms in this very friendly house with AC and private bathroom.

Currently being extended to add more rooms and a Paladar.

Amileidis and Waldo are very welcoming have a great knowledge of the town and are very helpful.

Cost was 25 CUC a night and another 5 each for a big breakfast

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    45
    6
    7
    8
See reviews for
19
127
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We chose Bella Perla Marina based on the good reviews in LP and on TripAdvisor. We phoned from Havana to book a room and had no problem communicating in English with Waldo over the phone.
We stayed for two nights in Bella Perla Marina and ate breakfast and dinner there on both nights. Cost for room per night was 25CUC.
The room was clean and comfortable with air con, fan and fridge (with beer, wine, water etc). The bathroom was small but fine for us with hot water. The room can be a little bit loud during the day with traffic but we had no problem sleeping at night. The brass bed is quite beautiful, the mattress not so much (quite hard) but it did not bother us too much.
The two rooms in this casa are right beside each other and noise travels. It was not a problem for us but might annoy some people.
The food served on the roof-top terrace is great, huge portions and good quality Cuban food (much better than most restaurants in Cuba). Also good place to meet other travelers and chat over dinner and breakfast.
I should also mention there is some building work ongoing on the terrace, as they are building another room. It did not disturb us at any stage during our stay.
Location is good, walking distance to main center and Jose Marti square. Area is also very safe.
Waldo is very helpful, knowledgeable and speaks good English. When we left, he chased after us and gave me a souvenir ring which we thought was a lovely gesture.
Overall, good choice for staying in Cienfuegos.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was really great. We had a huge room with a small ensuite. We ate once at the casa and the food was really fantastic, as was breakfast. Location great and very safe. The casa is undergoing extensive building work to add a new room with jacuzzi and private terrace. This did disturb our stay a little bit but the friendliness of the hosts more than made up for it. Building work is expected to be finished in august and the new room sounds like it will be sensational.

Room Tip: Ask for the new room if you're travelling in August.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imola, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This casa is a good point start exploring Cienfuegos: near the city center, but easily accessible by car. The room was quite good, big, clean and well furnisced, but the noise coming from the street during the night was a little annoying. The food... not bad, but nothing special.
The owners were really helpful, giving us precious advices about visiting and "feeling" Cienfuegos, they even gave us a cd of Benny Moré (a cuban singer acclaimed in Cienfuegos).
The price was a little higher than other casas in Cuba, but still cheap (by European standards).
They didn't have a garage for our car, but a neighbor guarded the car for a little tip.

Room Tip: Take the room that don't have the windows facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Bella Perla Marina was a great place to stay. We only got there because our top-choice didn't have a room anymore - but we never regretted going there.

Next to the warm welcome by Amileidis and Waldo, we also enjoyed having dinner there on the roof-top-terrace. Unfortunately, it has been some kind of construction site (the workers drove Waldo crazy), but they might have a parador next time.

If you need help, tips - just ask. They are going to help you with pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Although I didn't stay at BPM (it was full when I arrived un-announced), Waldo happily organised accommodation for me next door at his brothers casa. I did however, visit Waldo and his lovely wife several times over four days. Both brothers/families were extremely helpful, offering a lending hand at any chance. BPM is well looked after and a pleasant place to stay. The rooftop terrace is very tranquil and at the time some extensions were going on.

I would definitely recommend BPM to anyone visiting Cienfuegos.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights with Amileidis & Waldo in their beautiful house Bella Perla. Their hospitality was amazing; they welcome us as a family member. We really enjoyed breakfast and dinner in the top terrace full of wonderful plants. Amileidis &Waldo are vey nice and lovely couple they helps us to decide where and what to do and give us trustable advises of other houses to stay in our following destination. Do not miss this house.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Perla Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Perla Marina

Address: 5818, 39 St & 60 Ave, Cienfuegos 55100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cienfuegos Province > Cienfuegos
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Cienfuegos
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owners of “Bella Perla Marina” Amileidis and Waldo have over 12 years of experience renting. House built in 1952, very well maintained and decorated with Art Deco style, located just 100 meters from the main avenue (Paseo del Prado). All furniture, lamps and ornaments are vintage, most valuable.The house has a large garden with a terrace where you can see much of the city and bay.They rented three rooms, each with private bathroom and central water heater for all bathrooms in the house, one room is a Suite which features a queen Imperial 2 x 2 meters and 2 beds of 1.40 x 1.90 meters with exterior balcony and a spectacular view of our bay and city. Bella Perla Marina has parking available for tourists in the city center and with a viewpoint from which you can see the whole city and the bay. Waldo and Amileidis do everything in their power for the people who choose to stay at their home to enjoy days filled with love, peace and warmth, this is his “golden rule”. They put a lot of love in everything they do but especially preparing meals and the cleaning of the rooms.He speaks English, Italian and Spanish.Address: Calle 39 # 5818 entre 58 y 60, Cienfuegos ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Perla Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.