We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach to your Saves list
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach
Shacks Beach, Bajuras 326, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
April / May @SHACKSBEACH
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Vermont
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

Stayed in Unit M3. Beautiful area, ideal location. Windsurfing wasn't what I had hoped, but will bring kiting gear next time. Trevor is a very cool host and looks after all your needs. Snorkeling is world class right out your door. Neighbors of VT are very friendly and hospitable. Ola Lola's (walking distance) is an awesome makeshift bar/restaurant where guests and locals can mingle casually and sip refreshing cocktails or eat a great meal.

Tropical Trail Rides- walking distance is an incredible riding experience on pristine beach and almond forest.

This place is the "GEM" of Puerto Rico" for those who aren't the "resort" types. We hate resorts. This place is for laid-back, adventurous, easy-going people into being mellow and not requiring pampering.

Our 3 bdmr unit was great, except that the kitchen could be better equipped for those of us with culinary inclinations. Even just some stemware for wine/cocktails and a few sharp knives would go a LONG way. That said..i'd go back in an instant. In fact, like the Terminator, we WILL be back!

Gracias to Trevor for being such a great host and all around cool dude.

Peace

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    55
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
81
118
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

This is the fourth or fifth time I've stayed at Villa Tropical, for as long as two weeks or as short as one night, this time. It is one of my favorite places in the world, and the new owners - this is the first time I've been there since they took over - are working hard to keep it great, and even improve. They are helpful and friendly, and while this is a self-catering establishment, there are options nearby for food and drink, and groceries available up the hill for those who want to cook.

If you want a resort, go to a resort. If you want a comfortable place to stay with friendly and helpful people, in a fabulously beautiful place with all kinds of activities nearby, then Villa Tropical is the place.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

We stayed in Q3, a newer building which is exactly as portrayed in the pictures. The furnishings were very pleasant and the kitchen was well equipped. The balcony was terrific, although we did not realize it was shared with the unit next door. Really not problematic as it is so large and well set up that you could maintain your own space. Two air conditioners (one in bedroom) keep the unit very comfortable in the heat of the day. Nice outside areas adjacent to the building, all part of the Villa Tropical, that included picnic tables, BBQ grill, showers, and comfortable lawn furniture. Great, fairly secluded, beach that you can walk for miles on in either direction. Husband was able to get wireless service, important to him.

Ate a short distance down the beach one night at Eclipse at Villa Montana. It was spendy and the service was slow, but the view was spectacular and the food great. Spent a fun evening at Ola Lola (walkable from VT) down the road, a simple bar with delicious food run by very sociable couple, John and Elaine. They were very knowledgeable about the area and made local recommendations for sights and places to go.

Does appear to be a good deal of variability between individual units, so just research which unit you are reserving and be aware that they are not all the same. The reservation process was smooth and we arrived at dusk and had no trouble locating our keys. Would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

Villa Tropical came highly recommended. The location is perfect, right on Shacks Beach. Some of our party had stayed here before. Just not in this unit. All other units were booked and from the website and talking to the owner/mgr of Villa Tropical we decided to stay at Casa Session. However, this unit is substandard. Casa Session should be either removed from the property management listing or the staff needs to get real about what Casa Session really is.... and it is NOT as described on the website or by Trevor. When we arrived, we were shocked. There were Big Wheels and two barking dogs in the compound. And it does look like a compound. We could not open the gate without fear of a dog bite. Cujo and his buddy were in attack mode. The unit was nothing like we expected. Cookie, a wonderful lady, offered us another unit for one night while they had the Cujo family move to another location. The ocean front unit called Villa Sol is wonderful. As is Villa Quinones where another couple from our group stayed. After seeing the cramped accommodation of Villa Session, two of our friends elected to go to Villa Montana Beach Resort, which is not part of Villa Tropical, but just a short walk down the beach. The rest of us stayed and paid our penance.

Casa Session, the upstairs unit is a hot, stuffy box with a sliver of an ocean view. There is no air in the central living/kitchen area. Even closing all the windows and creating a dark-hot-box while trying to blow A/C from the bedrooms only brought the temperature down to 86 degrees. Not conducive to cooking or relaxing. The patio has a view of barbed-wire, and one sliver of ocean can be seen. The patio is no relief from the heat inside, as it has not much in the way of airflow or light. This unit would make a great surfer crash pad, and only if the rates were cut in half. If you just got out of prison, you'd feel right at home in this unit. The outside bathroom is reminiscent of the movie Cool Hand Luke and the scenes with the box. Only use this bathroom in the early morning. During the day, you risk your life. Night, brings in the creatures.

From website: Casa Session is the latest built building managed by Villa Tropical. It is crisp and new inside with fresh paint and new furniture and artwork. Well manicured (NOT) with new furniture (NOT) and paint, (Okay, the paint was fresh; from a can and on the rusty patio furniture. We had green paint on our arms.) Casa Session is only 30 (Try 84 paces..) paces south of the beach. Exceptional privacy, private decks, yard, parking, laundry and barbecue. There is a three bedroom upstairs which has ocean-view from the deck, and a two-bedroom on the main level. (You call that a deck? Now, where is the ocean? Oh, past the barbed-wire.) There are laundry facilities in the base of the building and private parking. (Washer/Dryer/Barbecue are all located on the side of the building. Outside. Rusty.) deck does have ocean views and great patio furniture (Great?) with rocker. There are queen-size beds in two of the bedrooms and a full-size in the third. A/C in each bedroom and lots of closet space. Full kitchen and comfy TV lounge area. (Comfy? With all the window closed? A dark sweat box)
--

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fostoria OH
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

My wife and I spent 3 nights in R2, while my daugher and her boyfriend stayed in R1. The rooms are adjacent. This place isn't elegant, but the units are clean, and the beach is right out the door. We spent our time on the decks or on the beach, so who needs a fancy room? The beach is terrific. It's uncrowded, and it goes for miles. Great snorkeling right in front of the place. There are restaurants and stores nearby, and the neighborhood is quiet. Both units are equipped with gas grills, satellite TV, and adequate kitchens. The knives in the kitchens are very dull, however. My wife didn't like the place as well as I did, as she likes her vacations to be a little more posh, but we all had fun.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

We stayed 4 nights mid week early March and loved it. Value for money was excellent. Rooms are right on the ocean so can go for long walks on the beach out of your back door. Snorkelling is excellent with several blue holes in front of the villa (ask Trevor how to find them underwater). Surfing is close-by on Hobos beach. We bought food and alcohol in San Juan, incl fresh fish, and grilled fish and veg on the gas grill every night to the sound of waves crashing on the beach. We walked along the beach to the west & had drinks at the outdoor bar at the Villa next door (great pina coladas & mojitos). This is ideal for people who want a low-key beach vacation with local color and away from major tourist resports

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queens newyork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

if you are looking for a quiet place to stay a place to relaxe then schacks is the place.at villa tropcial you have a very friendly staff.cookie the manager,know's the vaule of a custmor she goes out of her way.and goes the extra mile.i will return to villa tropcial.i hope the owner of villas tropcial read's this review and know that cookie is an assest to his company my husandand i work for starwood hotels, i would say that your staff gives their custmors a 5 star service. keep up the good work.virginia and manny moreira
03/15/2010,

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach

Address: Shacks Beach, Bajuras 326, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isabela
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1990, Villa Tropical's Location and Accommodations have enchanted visitors from around the world. Villa Tropical Inc. represents an exclusive group of fully-equipped oceanfront and non-oceanfront apartments located ON Shacks Beach (Playa Shacks), Isabela. Directly in front of the VT Main building is the "Blue Hole", a coral-reef-protected swimming area that provides visitors the opportunity to enjoy a variety of sea life while snorkeling and diving in underwater caverns. Just west of the coral reef is a challenging surf break and favorite kite-boarding destination. There are 28 exceptionally furnished, fully - equipped apartments with everything for your home away from home on the beach. Many amenities are included such as FREE wifi, FREE A/C, FREE Parking, FREE beach access, FREE soap, dish detergent, TP and PT :) LOL and cleaning supplies and FREE BBQ tank refills. The NEW Villa Tropical Store (gifts, conveniences, beverages etc.) is to be in full swing by 2015. The friendly Canadian Owners and helpful staff are kind, resourceful and a joy to vacation with. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments On Shacks Beach Hotel Isabela
Tropical Hotel Isabela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.