We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a short or longer stay in Isabela” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach

Save Saved
You added Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach
Shacks Beach, Bajuras 326, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
WE BOOK DIRECT 2 U> ONLY
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Isabela
new haven ct
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ideal for a short or longer stay in Isabela”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Villa Tropical is an ideal spot to stay while enjoying the fantastic Isabela, which is absolutely gorgeous. What is great about Villa Tropical is that you get an apartment or studio for a very reasonable price with a fantastic view of the beach. It is one of the most relaxing places I've ever stayed at. It is perfect for for couples, families, or a group of friends. Unlike a hotel or resort where you spend tons of money on food and drinks that may not live up to your expectations and have to deal with crowds and waiting times, here you can prepare your own meals (there are supermarkets and a Walmart some 10 or 15 minutes away), but also have the option of walking to Villa Montaña, the resort next to it, which does have a restaurant overlooking the beach or Lola's down the road for drinks or a quick bite to eat. Shacks beach, as other reviewers have noted is more so for surfing, but if you walk in either direction you will find calmer waters. The apartments are very clean, and the owners are very attentive. I don't have a single negative thing to say. If what you are looking for is a hotel or resort with swimming pools, restaurants, fitness rooms and a spa, Villa Tropical is clearly not for you, but if what you want is an escape from it without dealing with what staying at a resort or hotel entails, this is the place to do so without a doubt.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    52
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
76
112
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Trevor and Jennifer (the owner) are very very smart people. I met them by coincidence at JFK Airport in New York before boarding to San Juan. At the end, they offered me a seat in the middle of the night in their car and drove me directly to Shacks Beach by singing and listening to the best songs ever. At this point, I already knew that I must have made a "lucky punch" with them. And that became in every point true: the studio had ocean front view, was very clean and well equipped with direct beach access. You can see a lot of various coloured fishes, turtles etc. at the reeve by snorkeling and stand up paddling. Trevor and Jennifer looked very good to me, introduced me to the locals, gave me tips, invented me home for dinner with their lovely children and showed me the snorkeling spots and how to stand up paddling. It was a great experience which I won't forget at an unique place with a kind of wilderness in it.
I'm very happy to met them and will stop by again by next chance!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Although at least a 2 hour drive from San Juan, these apartments are truly great. We stayed in M4 which is a 1 bed apartment with unbelievable panoramic views of the sea. It was spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished.

My only word of caution is that we were absolutely battered by the waves so, coupled with the reef line, it's not ideal swimming territory for young children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was a dream getaway in the Carribean. Being Mediterranean people, my wife and I were yearning to get some serious time on a beach after a whole year in Washington DC. We got what we wanted at this amazing place. Not only do the apartments have amazing views and terraces right on the beach; their finishing is very tasteful in its simplicity. The service was exceptional and you can tell that the people who run it do so with great care and love. And it's also well priced. What made our experience is the fact that we stayed away from the hustle and bustle of San Juan. It's a two-hour drive away, which can get tiring because of Puerto Rico's traffic, but it's all worth it. Go for it.

Room Tip: Just give these guys a call. They're flexible and will give you clear guidance, an immediate quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franktown, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a great family vacation at Villa Tropical and would recommend it to friends and family. Like with anyplace, there are some pros and cons to keep in mind:
Location: Pros = the M3 villa we chose is the second floor of a three story unit directly on the beach and the views are amazing from the deck; a hundred yards to the right and you are at an amazing snorkeling area, a hundred yards to the left (past the Villa Montana resort) is a sandy spot where you can splash in the waves; Cons = you cannot swim from the beach directly in front of the villa due to sharp rocks, sea urchins and a strong rip tide. Also, Shacks Beach is very isolated which is great for quiet beach time but not so great for dinner out options (although the one place you can walk to, Ola Lola, is terrific!) or a quick trip to the market.
Rooms: Pros = spacious unit (M3) with comfortable and functional furnishings, overall very clean, full modern kitchen, lots of deck furniture to enjoy the water; Cons = needs some maintenance - many windows didn't open, some ceiling fans did not work, and the room air conditioners were either luke warm or icy cold.
Service: Pros = everyone we encountered was polite and friendly; Cons = this isn't a resort or even a hotel and the staff did not go out of their way to ensure we were happy or having a good time. Example: there was only one key to the unit and it was inconvenient for us to hand it off among five of us, but the management just kind of shrugged off our request for a second key.
General caution: the drivers in Puerto Rico are aggressive and we hit a couple of huge traffic jams on the drive out to Isabela and back to San Juan. Give yourself plenty of time to get where you're going.
All in all, I would be happy to stay at Villa Tropical again if I took another trip to Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

A wonderful quiet place in paradise. We could not get enough of the water, snorkeling to discover new worlds underwater, local food, friendly neighbors, long walks on deserted beaches and beautiful sunsets from our porch. There was not one disappointment in our stay. Service was wonderful. I will visit this spot in my mind often and am hoping to get our whole family down for a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This marked the third time I've been to Puerto Rico and have stayed right on Shacks Beach each time. Trevor and the whole crew were fantastic and made our stay incredibly comfortable. They really run a wonderful place on one of the most beautiful beaches on the island. The rooms are open, comfortable, air conditioned, extremely clean and welcoming. Even though it's on the far west side of the island, you can make day trips all over the place quite easily if you get a rental car from the airport not even 15 minutes away. A mile in either direction walking along the shore will present to you either a quiet and desolate shore with nothing but waves and palm trees, or primo surfing (Jobos Beach) and a place to grab a drink and a snack. If that wasn't great enough, the snorkeling right in front of the Villa's is simply breathtaking and a fantastic place to spend the whole day. I've sent lot's of friends here and they had an equally amazing time. Enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach

Address: Shacks Beach, Bajuras 326, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isabela
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Isabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Tropical is an exclusive group of fully-equipped oceanfront apartments located ON Shacks Beach. Directly in front is the "Blue Hole", a coral-reef-protected swimming area that provides visitors the opportunity to enjoy a variety of sea life while snorkeling and diving in underwater caverns. Just west of the coral reef is a challenging surf break and almost a dozen major breaks are a short drive away. Exceptionally furnished with everything from microwave, barbecue to blenders, wireless internet and satellite. WE BOOK DIRECT ONLY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments On Shacks Beach Hotel Isabela
Tropical Hotel Isabela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.