We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to Villa Tropical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach

Save Saved
You added Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach
Shacks Beach, Bajuras 326, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
WE BOOK DIRECT 2 U> ONLY
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Isabela
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Return to Villa Tropical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed the Villa Tropical last winter so much that we returned for a week this past January. We love the Villa and all of the nice people who work there including Trevor the owner and Cookie the office manager. We stayed in Q1 for three nights and then moved over to last year's favorite, R1 with a substantial wrap around neck about 12 feet above the beach and stone's throw from the Blue Hole, a swimming area protected from the wild and beautiful Atlantic surf by an extensive coral reef. We have grown especially fond of this area of Puerto Rico, the Northwest corner between Aguadilla and Isabela for the beautiful nearly deserted beaches with endless fabulous shells, very low volume of tourism, lush landscape, neat seaside neighborhood, very friendly people, nearby Economarket, and the constant music of the ocean. For inexpensive gourmet meals, with enough vegetarian selections and incredible desserts, we recommend the nearby Cucina Creativa where we went for dinner each night it was open. We also recommend a visit to the incredible bamboo artist a short walk from the villa. Finally, the Villa offers a range of amenities and prices. We are economy travelers and chose the more basic and least expensive accommodations and will happily do the same next visit.

Room Tip: R1 for value and a deck on the ocean. Our favorite. Q1 for a patio and lawn, a bit more sun, and a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    52
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
76
112
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in TL for 5 days. Love the location right on the best beach on PR. Great for walking on beach and snorkel. Quiet with everything you need to make your stay wonderful, we will return I have been to PR 11 times now and I have to say this place and beach are my favorite

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Amazing views on the ocean front units. We switched rooms from a non oceanfront unit to an ocean front unit and it was well worth it as the huge windows bring the outside in. Even our non ocean front unit was nice as it was on the 2nd floor with a healthy outside wrap around deck that still captured the tradewinds. Unfortunately there are a few units on the property that I would not want, the unit below us, although nice, lacked privacy and I doubt it received the same airflow as our unit above. For some reason, there is little difference in price between the oceanfront units and non oceanfront. There are even some buildings (townhouses really) on the other side of a small dirt road from the oceanfront units and the prices don't drop significantly despite the lack of oceanfront, I suspect this is because they are newer and well furnished units, but to me, visiting the carribean means easy ocean access and I would prefer a beachfront hovel (which these were not) to an upscale property slightly removed from the beach. The beaches here have character, have a nice but not spectacular reef right out in front that is protected by an outer reef which creates a something of a lagoon, protected from the waves but not from wind chop and current. The wave at shacks is a right that can get very good but is fickle. The kite launch and land is not for beginners but we had wind 8/10 days and head high surf or better throughout our stay. It's an idyllic little spot but use care when choosing your unit. If you like pampered posh resorts this is not for you, but if you love the carribean ocean and all it has to offer, I can't think of a better place that combines snorkeling, surfing, and kiting in one convenient spot.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humacao
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great stay, very nice villa very, friendly staff. As senior citizens,we really enjoyed ourselves there during the weekday. Travis and Cookie could not have been nicer! A great place at a great price. Vic & Judy

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Very nice place, We rented a 2 bed room apartment, it was beautiful! Very clean, great tv, view of the ocean, everyone's very nice, It's right on Shacks beach, two nice restaurants are in walking distance. Jobos beach is a 2 minute drive and the beaches of Rincon are 40 minutes away. If you kite and surf this is a great place to stay.
*Snorkling in the Blue Hole is awesomet! The hotel weill rent you mask, fins. snorkel 10 bucks for the week. The hotel has a nice selection of surf boards, SUP's Sea Kayaks, ect you can rent 50 bucks for the week, try one board one day anorher the next, try the SUP, try the Sea Kayack.
MY ONE complaint is that the outdoor grill was not working so good, but I'm sure they got that fixed. The Villa Tropical is a great place! FIVE STARS

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have been coming here for some ten years or so. I have always stayed in Villa Filisha. The atmostphere is truly amazing. The staff and owner are awesome, It's a great place to come to just to relax.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Underhill, Vermont
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at Villa Tropical Apartments, each time at a different rental unit. Most are right in front of the best beaches in Puerto Rico. Trevor and Cookie manage the apartments and keep the apartments super clean and maintained. They are also full of information about things to do and places to eat in the area; their advice is to be trusted. This time we were treated with humpback whales right in front of our deck twice breaching clear out of the water. This is also the spot that you can see at least 8 to 10 kite surfers every day as there seems to be a constant wind. Villa Tropical also has snorkels, etc. to see the reef fish and dive the blue hole just off shore. The apartments come completely furnished with cooking and eating utensils and all appliances. There are frequent power outages on the Isabela electrical grid but these apartments come equipped with backup generators which many other rentals do not have.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front with deck overlooking the beach and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach

Address: Shacks Beach, Bajuras 326, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isabela
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Isabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Tropical is an exclusive group of fully-equipped oceanfront apartments located ON Shacks Beach. Directly in front is the "Blue Hole", a coral-reef-protected swimming area that provides visitors the opportunity to enjoy a variety of sea life while snorkeling and diving in underwater caverns. Just west of the coral reef is a challenging surf break and almost a dozen major breaks are a short drive away. Exceptionally furnished with everything from microwave, barbecue to blenders, wireless internet and satellite. WE BOOK DIRECT ONLY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments On Shacks Beach Hotel Isabela
Tropical Hotel Isabela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.