We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you surf, or kite, or are looking for a quiet beach with character, you can't do better.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach

Save Saved
You added Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach
Shacks Beach, Bajuras 326, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
WE BOOK DIRECT 2 U> ONLY
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“If you surf, or kite, or are looking for a quiet beach with character, you can't do better.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Amazing views on the ocean front units. We switched rooms from a non oceanfront unit to an ocean front unit and it was well worth it as the huge windows bring the outside in. Even our non ocean front unit was nice as it was on the 2nd floor with a healthy outside wrap around deck that still captured the tradewinds. Unfortunately there are a few units on the property that I would not want, the unit below us, although nice, lacked privacy and I doubt it received the same airflow as our unit above. For some reason, there is little difference in price between the oceanfront units and non oceanfront. There are even some buildings (townhouses really) on the other side of a small dirt road from the oceanfront units and the prices don't drop significantly despite the lack of oceanfront, I suspect this is because they are newer and well furnished units, but to me, visiting the carribean means easy ocean access and I would prefer a beachfront hovel (which these were not) to an upscale property slightly removed from the beach. The beaches here have character, have a nice but not spectacular reef right out in front that is protected by an outer reef which creates a something of a lagoon, protected from the waves but not from wind chop and current. The wave at shacks is a right that can get very good but is fickle. The kite launch and land is not for beginners but we had wind 8/10 days and head high surf or better throughout our stay. It's an idyllic little spot but use care when choosing your unit. If you like pampered posh resorts this is not for you, but if you love the carribean ocean and all it has to offer, I can't think of a better place that combines snorkeling, surfing, and kiting in one convenient spot.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    53
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
76
113
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Humacao
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great stay, very nice villa very, friendly staff. As senior citizens,we really enjoyed ourselves there during the weekday. Travis and Cookie could not have been nicer! A great place at a great price. Vic & Judy

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Very nice place, We rented a 2 bed room apartment, it was beautiful! Very clean, great tv, view of the ocean, everyone's very nice, It's right on Shacks beach, two nice restaurants are in walking distance. Jobos beach is a 2 minute drive and the beaches of Rincon are 40 minutes away. If you kite and surf this is a great place to stay.
*Snorkling in the Blue Hole is awesomet! The hotel weill rent you mask, fins. snorkel 10 bucks for the week. The hotel has a nice selection of surf boards, SUP's Sea Kayaks, ect you can rent 50 bucks for the week, try one board one day anorher the next, try the SUP, try the Sea Kayack.
MY ONE complaint is that the outdoor grill was not working so good, but I'm sure they got that fixed. The Villa Tropical is a great place! FIVE STARS

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have been coming here for some ten years or so. I have always stayed in Villa Filisha. The atmostphere is truly amazing. The staff and owner are awesome, It's a great place to come to just to relax.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Underhill, Vermont
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at Villa Tropical Apartments, each time at a different rental unit. Most are right in front of the best beaches in Puerto Rico. Trevor and Cookie manage the apartments and keep the apartments super clean and maintained. They are also full of information about things to do and places to eat in the area; their advice is to be trusted. This time we were treated with humpback whales right in front of our deck twice breaching clear out of the water. This is also the spot that you can see at least 8 to 10 kite surfers every day as there seems to be a constant wind. Villa Tropical also has snorkels, etc. to see the reef fish and dive the blue hole just off shore. The apartments come completely furnished with cooking and eating utensils and all appliances. There are frequent power outages on the Isabela electrical grid but these apartments come equipped with backup generators which many other rentals do not have.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front with deck overlooking the beach and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our first time to Puerto Rico, and it won't be our last. Villa Tropical is truly a gem, with it's amazing location, friendly owner and staff, beautiful accomodations, and awesome views. The apartment we rented (# TL), was clean, spacious and airy, decorated with local art, paintings and prints. The king size bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on. We shared the ocean side deck with the other apartment but it's spacious enough to feel like you have your own space. Our apartment even had another patio with an island view. Everyone we met on site was really nice and most people we spoke to had been coming to Villa Tropical for several years, which also speaks well for the place. What I loved about the location is, that you can walk for a couple of miles in either direction and explore other beaches, all of which were beautiful and uncrowded! If you're into snorkeling, the best snorkeling is to be found right in front of the Villa Tropical, and you can rent a set of equipment, for just $10/ week. Some of the equipment could use replacing or upgrading, and there didn't seem to be enough sand chairs for everyone in the building that we stayed in. But that is my only (minor) critique of the place. You will need a car to get to the grocery store or most restaurants- but there are many nearby, and you can also grill on the decks. If you are looking for a relaxing, restful vacation where staring at the ocean is on the top of your list, then I highly recommend staying at the Villa Tropical apartments.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

If you're looking for a "true" puerto rican experience, this is an amazing find. I don't even know where to start!
We stayed in Villa Filisha, F2. There were 4 of us and we each had our own bedroom. In addition, the "couple" shared a bathroom in the master bedroom while my friend and I shared a bathroom - perfect! The general living space was kinda small but we didn't spend much time there anyway. In general, everything was functional and comfortable. Air conditioning in EVERY room which was a nice perk too. Kitchen was fine for cooking which you'll need to do. The only downside is if the apartment next door was taken, you would have had to share the patio. But we had it to ourselves which was awesome. OH! And there was the sweetest orange cat who loved to hang out with us...miss him already.
So, at Villa Tropical there is no hotel service- somebody isn't coming in to clean every day, no room service, etc. If you know this going into it, you should be fine. If you like that resort atmosphere where you are pampered....don't stay here. We did both (started at VT) and I enjoyed them both equally!
We rented snorkeling equipment for $10 for our entire stay! And we definitely used it. The Blue Hole was pretty much right on our doorstep - you WILL see fish. The water was warm, too. Not bath water warm but not cold, either. This beach is very private - my friend and I were basically the only ones on the strip sun bathing! However, it is popular for kite boarding...so, at certain times of day the kite boarders would use the strip to either set up and head our or wrap things up at the end of the day. No biggie and it was fun watching them out there. Now, there's a reason why this beach is popular for kite boarding: it's ALWAYS windy. At least, for our entire 5-day stay it was. If you go down the steps from the house and to the right, don't even think about sun bathing b/c the sand whips around and hurts. Go to the left and it's much better. And actually, b/c it's so hot the wind felt pretty good. I'm not sure what it's like the rest of the year but I imagine not too different since Shacks is known for kite boarding.
So if you go down the beach for a 3-minute walk, there's a REALLY cool resort called Villa Montana. This is where you can hop up to the outdoor bar for a frozen drink or head in for dinner, lunch, etc. It's a super nice option b/c you get the privacy at Villa Tropical but you can take advantage of the amenities at Villa Montana! We loved it.
Other dining options are nearby and Ola Lola's was a fun spot to hit up at night although I hear the breakfast is good too.
Don't expect ANY kind of nightlife! This is a very quiet, laid-back spot for people who just want to relax and enjoy the view or the water. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Go with a lower level so you can just wake up and step on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach

Address: Shacks Beach, Bajuras 326, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isabela
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Tropical is an exclusive group of fully-equipped oceanfront apartments located ON Shacks Beach. Directly in front is the "Blue Hole", a coral-reef-protected swimming area that provides visitors the opportunity to enjoy a variety of sea life while snorkeling and diving in underwater caverns. Just west of the coral reef is a challenging surf break and almost a dozen major breaks are a short drive away. Exceptionally furnished with everything from microwave, barbecue to blenders, wireless internet and satellite. WE BOOK DIRECT ONLY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments On Shacks Beach Hotel Isabela
Tropical Hotel Isabela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.