We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pretty decent place to stay if understand what you are getting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach to your Saves list
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach
Shacks Beach, Bajuras 326, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
WE BOOK DIRECT ONLY !!
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A pretty decent place to stay if understand what you are getting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

If you want a low key place to stay near the beach to hang out and be off the beaten path this is a good place to stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful in answering questions or getting any requests taken care of. The villa (R1) has basic amenities that were sufficient for us and our stay there. We went as a family and we had a good time hanging out on the beach playing in the sand, flying kites and playing in the water. If you are a surfer (kite, board, wind, etc...) its definitely a great place to stay.

Other reviews mention that it is not that far away from San Juan, and its not at about 70 miles, but you need to understand that it is not a simple 1 1/2 hour drive between the two. The closest we got in driving from San Juan to here is 2 hrs 20 minutes and that was on the best, lowest traffic day ever. Depending on when you come into San Juan you can hit massive traffic and traffic jams. I would not recommend staying here if you plan on traveling out to San Juan or back and forth to there, the travel and stress of the drive is not worth it. (We hit Friday evening rush hour and it was closer to 3 hours to get out to here from San Juan)

That said, this would be a great place to hang out for a few days or a week and just relax. Ola Lola's Garden bar is a 5 minute walk down the road for breakfast, lunch or dinner and the menu changes every day. You will need a car to get out to other places.

The view from our villa was fantastic and getting on and off the beach was easy. Stay here a few days to unplug and recharge your batteries. When we do come back, I would be happy to just stay at the villa and hit Ola Lola's everyday while I am there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    55
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
81
122
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband and I landed on thanksgiving and stayed at the R1 apartment in the Villa Tropical (atleast for the first couple of days ). Nolly was extremely nice and helped us check-in and show us our apartment. The view from R1 was absolutely fantastic!! The apartment itself was a little outdated. Even though we chose the "view" over an updated apt ,it turned out we wanted a better kitchen and a bathroom :). The stairs from R1 which would open up directly into the beach was washed away by sandy. I guess it should be fixed soon. Nevertheless the walk around the apt to get to the beach was less than 30 seconds. The reef is bang opposite R1 and so is the swimming area. The beach is simply beautiful. Never have I stayed in a place with the beach right in your backyard where you could snorkell, surf , paraglide and scuba. Simply amazing. We got to see a lot of fishes and meet some very nice people.

We got locked out of our apt the very first day as we left the keys inside the house and decided to have a nice dinner on the deck. Jennifer was extremely nice and helped us get back in with a slice of homemade pie!! This was on thanksgiving day btw.

We didnt have hot water in the bathrooms . We had to heat water on the stove and take a shower indian style ;). We decided to move to F1 as it was updated and trevor gave us a refund for the first day and did not charge us for the snorkelling equipment we rented for the entire week !

Overall we loved villa tropical and love love loved the beach! Will definitely be going back there again. But we will fly into the aguadilla airport which is 5 mins from isabela!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Ohio
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The bed is made out of god knows what. Sounds like cardboard crunching. VERY small room not suite. That room is not nice in anyway. This place is close to nothing so plan on transportation. We don't surf and that's the only reason you want to go here. I got caught in an undertow and taken out over my head in a second. Thank god a guy from Texas was on his honeymoon and was able to pull me in. No one from V-T made me aware of an undertow. The deck and grill are very nice and the beach is long and wide. Parking is tricky. A coin washer and dryer are handy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were supposed to stay at the hotel next door (Villa Montania) for a friends wedding. For about the same cost as their (Villa Montania's) cheapest rooms (far away from the beach), we were able to get an ocean front apartment at the Villa Tropical. We stayed at the M1 room and enjoyed our stay. Simple, basic, and very cost effective. Beautiful view, surfing, and near by reefs. A wonderful cost effective tropical experience.

Room Tip: we stayed in the M1. THe nice thing about this one was cost, as well as it was closer to the hotel n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just got back yesterday from Villa Tropical and was generally very happy with our stay. Granted we are a bunch of surfers on a surf trip, but we are all professionals who are over "dirting" it like we did twenty years ago.

By far, the best thing about most of these apartments is the view. We were constantly scoping out the surf and could jump in at a moments notice-the view was amazing(minus the palm tree obscuring the break a bit). As far as the actual unit goes, my second favorite part was the deck. Nothing like chilling on the deck, watching the surf while drinking a Medalla. Our unit had three bedrooms and two full baths as well as a full kitchen, den and dining room. The kitchen was great with plenty of cookware to make bfast and lunch etc. I stayed in one of the back bedrooms on a uncomfortable bed. I think this place could use all new beds. Again, not really a concern for us as our mission was surf.

All in all a great trip at a fantastic location. 10 mins to airport. Quick easy flights from NY. If higher end is what u want, stay at Villa Montana down the street-but not sure if that place is worth the cost.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights because we saw good reviews and photos but was very small and difficult t find you really need to have a car to get there and go out to eat or to the supermarket because is nothing near by, the beach is not the best be careful there is a undertow and no one say anything to us we almost drowned but if you like surfing that's the place to be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

First off, if you're looking for a luxury resort you may want to consider another location. If you want a great price for a comfortable and clean apartment on a FABULOUS beach then try Villa Tropical. The staff is very friendly and the apartment (1B) was very cozy. The best part for us was being just steps from Shacks Beach. Most days of our weeklong stay we had the beach practically to ourselves. Villa Tropicals close proximity to Ola Lolas Garden Bar & Villa Montaña make it easy to get drinks or dinner within walking distance. If you want to stay in and make your own food the furnished apartments and really nice grill on the deck make it easy to get dinner done. We would definitely like to come back to this corner of Puerto Rico and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Our stay in 1B was great, but if you're looking for a larger and more luxurious unit then VT has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach

Address: Shacks Beach, Bajuras 326, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isabela
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1990, Villa Tropical's Location and Accommodations have enchanted visitors from around the world. Villa Tropical Inc. represents an exclusive group of fully-equipped oceanfront and non-oceanfront apartments located ON Shacks Beach (Playa Shacks), Isabela. Directly in front of the VT Main building is the "Blue Hole", a coral-reef-protected swimming area that provides visitors the opportunity to enjoy a variety of sea life while snorkeling and diving in underwater caverns. Just west of the coral reef is a challenging surf break and favorite kite-boarding destination. There are 28 exceptionally furnished, fully - equipped apartments with everything for your home away from home on the beach. Many amenities are included such as FREE wifi, FREE A/C, FREE Parking, FREE beach access, FREE soap, dish detergent, TP and PT :) LOL and cleaning supplies and FREE BBQ tank refills. The NEW Villa Tropical Store (gifts, conveniences, beverages etc.) is to be in full swing by 2015. The friendly Canadian Owners and helpful staff are kind, resourceful and a joy to vacation with. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments On Shacks Beach Hotel Isabela
Tropical Hotel Isabela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.