We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great view, good value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach to your Saves list
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach
Shacks Beach, Bajuras 326, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
WE BOOK ONLY DIRECT
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place, great view, good value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We rented unit Q1 in front of the beach. The apartment had a fully equipped kitchen (CLEAN), fridge (CLEAN),one bathroom with tub (CLEAN), and small living room area with a flat screen TV with satellite TV, and a main room with a queen (not so comfy but ok) and a full bed. The apartment faced the ocean through a door that leads to a terrace equipped with a hammock and a dinning table. On top of that, there is a small front yard were you can have sunbathing sessions and next to it there is a grill if you want to grill some locally fished snapper. Cost was not really expensive ($150/night) considering that three people can stay here comfortably and just walk a few steps to the ocean, and really once you get there you don't want to leave, it is just beautiful and you have a soothing ocean breeze constantly. All these apartments are located in a quiet and safe neighborhood so that is a big plus. And if you want to go an have a cocktail in front of the ocean just walk five minutes west through the beach and go to the bar of Villa Montaña.

Room Tip: Ocean view untis are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    53
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
76
115
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is the most beautiful secluded ocean front place. My husband and I stayed here July7-12 in room M4 that was recently added on. It is a one-bedroom apartment on the top floor of an ocean front house. We had the most wonderful amazing time. We snorkeled daily (reef is right outside the house). We saw a turtle,eel, squid, and many other beautiful fish. I have not been this relaxed in about 10 years. The view is exquisite. We were very lucky to have perfect weather. At night we walked on the beach, made dinner, and stared at the stars. The area is remote but there are restaurants and bars about a mile down the beach. If you love the water and want to relax and not come into contact with very many people this is the place for you.

Room Tip: M4 beautiful right on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Bring your snorkeling gear thanks to the blue hole reef. Villa was excellent for family and the kitchen was fully equipped. BBQ grill with ocean view simply priceless. They have differents types of apartments to accommodate from couples to a family of 6 or 8. This is a secluded area with an spectacular ocean front views!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I arrived 7/20 the directions and advice trever the owner gave us were perfect we rented from Charlie cars witch gave us the best rates and the map on our itinerary lead us there perfectly. Our room m4 was the best room on the beach hands down. Panoramic view of the ocean, extented balcony really this place looked like a place a superstar would stay in . We slept with the doors open listening to the ocean almost every night . The beach was ok a little crowded but the snorkeling around the reefs was great . Now the bad part of our trip. We went to the town of Isabella to find fresh fish to BBQ.there is a local fisherman there that says he has fresh fish every day by 12. Well we went there by 12 and bought half of a king Mackrel from him.he fillet the fish and we went back to our room and had sushi for lunch and dinner.this fish poisoned us and we now are suffering from ciguatera fish poisoning.it can cause debilitating effects to your body and neurological system for up to 20years. Not to mention the fish was not fresh evidently.beware of the local fish market !we read about the cause of this and one cause is the mishandling of th fish as well.we ate seeking treatment for this now but will def go back to villa tropical because it is a truly unique, professional and beautiful place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I spent 4 days last week in Villa Tropical. First, Trevor, the guy who receive was very nice. The room was very clean and the kitchen, bathroom and utilities were complete. You will need a car while you stay here because there are not much options for restaurants and nightlife. Anyway, sunsets was beautiful and nights were amazing. The beach in front is great and the water is very warm, I'm from Puerto Rico, and I will come back later this year without doubt.

Room Tip: Go doen with the Q2 if you travel with your couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Excellent place with spectacular views. Will recommend for people that wants a quiet and beutiful place to stay. Snorkeling is excellent as well. They also give you a 10 % discount at the Villa Montana restaurant. Very clean and the apartment was huge with modern appliances.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Went beautiful Isabella, Puerto Rico with friends for my 30th birthday. Read a few reviews on trip advisor and decided on Villa Tropical. Was an amazing experience!!! Beach was picturesque, Rooms were clean and modern with hd tv and wifi, and the Staff were all so nice and helpful. Trevor and Jennifer weren't the typical snobby owners, they were like old college buddies that you haven't seen in awhile, that really took pleasure in making our trip special. They took care of all of our needs and recommended a lot of activities to do, (athough when you see the place you wont wanna leave) I would highly recommend staying here as ive heard of some people having nightmares at other resorts, and its just not worth taking that risk on a vacation. Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach

Address: Shacks Beach, Bajuras 326, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isabela
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1990, Villa Tropical's Location and Accommodations have enchanted visitors from around the world. Villa Tropical Inc. represents an exclusive group of fully-equipped oceanfront and non-oceanfront apartments located ON Shacks Beach (Playa Shacks), Isabela. Directly in front of the VT Main building is the "Blue Hole", a coral-reef-protected swimming area that provides visitors the opportunity to enjoy a variety of sea life while snorkeling and diving in underwater caverns. Just west of the coral reef is a challenging surf break and favorite kite-boarding destination. There are 28 exceptionally furnished, fully - equipped apartments with everything for your home away from home on the beach. Many amenities are included such as FREE wifi, FREE A/C, FREE Parking, FREE beach access, FREE soap, dish detergent, TP and PT :) LOL and cleaning supplies and FREE BBQ tank refills. The NEW Villa Tropical Store (gifts, conveniences, beverages etc.) is to be in full swing by 2015. The friendly Canadian Owners and helpful staff are kind, resourceful and a joy to vacation with. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments On Shacks Beach Hotel Isabela
Tropical Hotel Isabela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Tropical Oceanfront Apartments on Shacks Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.