We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip to PR alone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Isabela

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Isabela to your Saves list
Royal Isabela
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   396 Ave Noel Estrada, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the trip to PR alone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is the real deal and ranks up there with the best golf courses in the US. Take away the hype and tradition and this course surpasses pebble beach in every category. I'm a 2 handicap. Didn't play we'll, but not awful. Had little chance to break 80 on this day. We were playing from back though. Next time I go I'm staying at royal. If the wife plays you can't beat the deal.

Only negative is that it is on the other side of the island from San Juan. Haul to get there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
89
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

If you are an avid golfer and want to play a breathtaking but highly difficult course and you enjoy superb accommodations, food and service, this is just the place for you. Also has an absolutely beautiful, wild and desolate beach wonderful for walking and taking a quick dip, but beware of rough current. Designed as a private member club and boutique hotel, it really is a wonderful package of first rate amenities.

Room Tip: Every casita is the same and all views are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Been to all of Puerto Rico’s resorts and this is the crowning jewel of them all. A place to cleanse the spirit and relax in style. The Casitas are so cozy you never want to leave them, not to mention your own little pool overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. The only sounds you’ll hear are of nature, so this is a place for those seeking silence and repose.
Royal Isabela is mainly a golf community with an awesome 21-hole golf course that’s been described as Scotland in the Caribbean. While other activities are found nearby – surfing and bodyboarding beaches and other nature adventure options- it’s good to know the resort is adding a host of activities and tours for the guests. I mean, the property is so beautiful with its cliffs, coves, green trails and fauna; it’s perfect for many outdoor activities. Can’t imagine what a star-gazing expedition would be like here!
Had lunch and dinner at the restaurant at La Casa and it was excellent, with the pastry chef receiving kudos from this sweets junkie. Breakfast room service was great but pepper mill had no pepper, and part of the order came back in a second trip as it was missing. Service was very cordial and unobtrusive
All in all, it’s a vacation that I’ll be looking forward to repeat - Can’t wait to come back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Royal Isabela is a gem. Breathtaking cliff views from the golf course. Challenging winds on every hole. Spectacular par 3 on hole 17 over the cliffs.

The Casitas are beautifully designed with private pools and ample living rooms and bathrooms.

The restaurant is also a gourmet treat open from breakfast to dinner. Local herbs and spices grown on site. Excellent wine list and you may bring your own also which adds stars to service.

Caddies for every round and detailed service.

A must visit while on the northwest coast.

Room Tip: Casitas 1 to 5 are closest to La Casona and Pro Shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier L, General Manager at Royal Isabela, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear: Sajo Ruiz

Thank you for your wonderful and thoughtful review.
At Royal Isabela, we strive to be the ideal location for people who don’t just enjoy golf, but who also truly love nature and believe the principles of luxury living can go hand-in-hand with a deep respect for our beautiful planet. We hope you will visit us again soon!

The Royal Isabela Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Spent a weekend of luxurious relaxation. Stayed at bungalow 4, fruits and many other amenities upon arrival, the most comfortable and cozy bed, checked in late night and when we woke up, the view of the ocean was surreal. Had an early breakfast brought to the terrace and enjoyed the sun and plunge pool, later explored the beach, a natural reserve, and later tried the famous maraca burgers for lunch at the main Casa. Had a chance to meet the owners, the Pasarell brothers, world renowned tennis players, Charlie had the record for the longest game in Wimbeldon recently broken in 2010 by Isner. Obviously there is a grass tennis court on premise with Wimbeldon wood posts for the net. The golf corse is full of challenges and views. Hole 17th will become a landmark. Dinner was exquisitely prepared by NY trained chef who adds his local touch, the organic tomato soup,mmmmm, the tomatoes grown in the hotel's organic farm.

Room Tip: All bungalows have ocean view, but the honeymoon suites has an additional private deck, yes, romanti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

What a beautiful resort! My husband and I recently stayed for two nights. They are still in the process of finishing up the spa area and some of the casitas. None of this impacted our stay at all. The Casita was amazing! The bathroom has a waterfall shower and you can walk directly out onto your personal splash pool. The beach area is secluded and huge. You need to get driven out to it. The golf course was challenging. The caddies (which are an additional fee) are knowledgeable and definitely help our game at times. Everyone that worked there was wonderful, from the concierge to the restaurant staff to the maintenance guys. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brawley, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I traveled with a good diving buddy from California to Puerto Rico recently and had the pleasure of staying at the new Royal Isabela links golf resort overlooking the northwest coast of Puerto Rico.
My stay was beyond exceptional, truly my greatest vacation ever. My friend agrees with me and we were able to enjoy daily scuba diving with excellent local dive centers and even an extraordinary excursion to dive in the beautiful caverns and reefs of Desecheo Island (12 miles off the coast from Isabela). Royal Isabela has the most beautiful and spectacular golf course I have ever seen and in addition a 5 star restaurant, tennis and swimming--all on 300-400 acres of beautifully landscaped and natural land. My accommodation in luxurious and comfortable casita was perfect with magnificent views of the ocean. plunge pool and a rain forest shower.

Room Tip: all casitas are excellent -- # 3 and 4 are closest to the Casa and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier L, General Manager at Royal Isabela, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear George

Thank you for sharing your Royal Isabela experience with us.
Your “fairy tale” review rewards all the time and hard work we’ve invested over the years in making Royal Isabela the luxury golf and nature sanctuary it is today. Whether you are golf aficionados, come for our spectacular beaches or simply to enjoy some relaxing downtime, Royal Isabela is a magical and powerful place that stays forever in the hearts of those who visit.
We hope you’ll be back very soon!

The Royal Isabela Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isabela
45.3 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
60.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
#1 of 45 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
77.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
57.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 45 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 2,040 reviews
57.5 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#3 of 45 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
89.9 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Isabela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Isabela

Address: 396 Ave Noel Estrada, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isabela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Isabela 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Isabela greets guests with much more than suite accommodations. Located just steps from La Casa Restaurant, 20 freestanding Casitas are true "little houses" designed for the ultimate in Puerto Rican resort stays. Each Casita encompasses 1,500 square feet of indoor and outdoor space and is sited to best catch Royal Isabela’s stunning ocean vistas with minimal impact to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Isabela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Isabela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.