We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more for the high price, great food though” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Montana Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Montana Beach Resort to your Saves list
Villa Montana Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera 4466 Km 1.9 Interior | Barrio Bajuras, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Expected more for the high price, great food though”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Pros:
secluded beach, beautiful views
great dining

Cons:
expensive for what you're getting
uninspired lodging
terrible tennis courts

Unfortunately, we were hoping for a little more in the accommodations for the price we paid (300USD/night+taxes) . The garden villa we stayed in was very close to the beach but the buildings seem to be just an old, crummy condo complex. Really, it felt like we were staying in a nicely-decorated storage facility. We were on the ground floor, so we had to keep the blinds drawn all day. Apparently only 1 beachside villa is available because all the others are owned by private residents.

Don't expect anything from the tennis courts. The "fake grass" is actually threadbare green carpet with tears and divots all over the place. Almost unusable if you actually want to play.
We ate at the restaurant on the beach a lot and everything we ordered was fabulous. Expensive, but top-notch.

Expect a natural, beautiful beach. Lots of rocks and coral, but that didn't bother us much. The sunsets were magnificent.

Other than the fancy restaurant, this place has the bare-essentials-vibe of the "eco B&Bs" that are popular. I definitely would not call this a resort by any stretch, so my expectations were really let down.

I hate to leave a negative review, but it seems fair to provide our perspective. Some of this knowledge would have been appreciated and we probably would not have stayed here. We left a day early and stayed elsewhere on the island just to save the money. I'd love to see someone buy this place and overhaul the service, villas and tennis court to give it the luxury atmosphere it seems to desire.

Room Tip: Only take a beachside villa - if one's not available, move on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    132
    51
    53
    52
See reviews for
117
209
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We spent three nights in a Cliffside room. Parking was in a driveway near our room. Walking to and from the beach, pool, fitness room and restaurant was easy and enjoyable. We were blessed with great weather. I'd say the best attraction was the 3-mile beach to walk. The Eclipse restaurant had great tables just off the beach perfectly situated for sunset dinners. Service was very friendly, fun and accommodating. Live music on Wednesday night was preferred to the piped in music.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This place is absolutely amazing! The food was incredible, sunsets are to die for and the rooms are very comfortable. As far as booking the rooms it was harder than it should be but management was working on fixing that so it might not be like that anymore. Another thing I would try to fix is the wait time at the restaurant, every time we went to eat the wait for the food to get to the table after ordering was 45 minutes minimum. On the other hand the food was amazing, I mean, very good quality, fresh and innovative dishes. I did my wedding there and the owners were personally working towards making it perfect which made everything run smoother. Will always go back there for little romantic or family vacations. Definitely recommend this beautiful hidden treasure.

Room Tip: One bedroom suites ocean view are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed here on business and got a fantastic rate due to the company I was visiting having a special rate here. First time in 25+ years of business travel that I stayed on the beach anywhere. Whether you were coming here for business for vacation, I think you'd enjoy staying here. Modern, clean rooms, and yes, they have air conditioning despite what some travelers might have heard.

Amenities include two pools, tennis courts, and, of course, the beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Overall we really liked this place. The service during the reservation process and on-site was bad, but we were able to live with it, because the food was really excellent, the setting wonderful and secluded and the amenities pretty good.

It is about a 2 hour drive from San Juan but it is actually somewhat interesting.

If you like wide open beaches and you like to walk 5 minutes and never see another person, then this is for you. We had tempestuous seas, but were still able to find safe areas to swim and body-surf.

I just wish management could get its service in order, because it is the one defect in the operation.

Room Tip: There are more expensive options on the beach but really any room seems to have a patio or a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hidden treasure is a wonderful place to unplug, unwind, and share wonderful times with the ones you love. The service has been very attentive. The villas are clean and comfortable. We have been here many times and plan on visiting many more. The restaurant is very good food is delicious and service outstanding. Ask for Jaclyn the host an Celymane the server. They are very pleasent, helpful and great service

Room Tip: The villas are with the extra money then a cliff side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

The birds woke us and sang us to sleep. The amazing security staff (common in Puerto Rico, don't see this as a negative) welcomed us at 3am and one rode his bike up the hill to our villa to make sure we could find our accommodations the night we first arrived.

The restaurant staff were friendly and knowledgeable and when it got a bit over-crowded, just before Easter, they helped with a couple off-site recommendations that we liked. Reservations helped out too, when we realized we were on a third floor walk up and I have a bad knee, they found a ground floor unit that we were able to move to.

The beach is gorgeous. The water is a perfect temperature, even in mid-April, so we could swim and get sun as long as we wore sun screen!

Look, don't come here if you're looking for the Ritz with it's level of finery and finishes. The decor is West Elm and Pier 1, but totally comfy and relaxing, with working internet and a/c.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Montana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Montana Beach Resort

Address: Carretera 4466 Km 1.9 Interior | Barrio Bajuras, Isabela 00662, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isabela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Montana Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Montana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Montana Beach Hotel Isabela
Hotel Montana Beach
Resort Montana Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Montana Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.