We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Horrible” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Yia's by Chef Tino

Yia's by Chef Tino
carr #2 Km.110.3, Isabela, Puerto Rico
787-567-9427
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 40 Restaurants in Isabela
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Latin
Description: Great restaurant in the NW coast of Puerto Rico. Open for dinner Wed.-Sun. from 4pm
Restaurant details
Description: Great restaurant in the NW coast of Puerto Rico. Open for dinner Wed.-Sun. from 4pm
Northern Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not Horrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My wife and I ate here under the recommendation of a friend who said chef Tino was one of the best chef's in Puerto Rico. He was supposed to have a cooking show on the food network, like the Puerto Rican Emeril. I have eaten at Emeril's in New Orleans, this is not Emeril's. First, it is loud. It was our table and the table next to us who were a drunk couple with about a 3 year old boy that they kept screaming at and didn't order him any food. In fact they didn't even feed him off their own plates. Disgusting parents. Any way, the music is so loud you can not hear anything else, club music too. It is dark to the point of straining your eyes when reading the menu. It is trying too hard to be 1990's trendy. The beer list is impressive, but they only have two of them. You can see them cook, but I think they just use a microwave because I never saw them cook anything. I saw them stand around and talk then just magically our food would appear. The waitress was great though, which is the reason for the 2 instead of 0. She actually was surprised when my wife said something tasted good (the tostones). The food was not good, lamb was awful, whatever unmemorable thing my wife ordered was not good. I have a feeling this place will not be open on our next visit. For the price, I would rather go to McDonalds 100 times.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheftino, Owner at Yia's by Chef Tino, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
First of all we will like to thank you for your visit and considerations. Yia's is not your average place, known for our unique style of decor and food. It's not for everyone, and we are very aware of that. We are a family owned restaurant that for almost 8 years now had been serving GREAT food with a GREAT service, and for that we are thankful cause is only by God's grace that we can be here. We are deeply sorry that your experience at Yia's was not "memorable", but we can assure you that we will continue to do our BEST. There are certain things about your review that are not quite accurate, for example our beer selection is ALWAYS available, all of it, maybe you where misinformed about that. We also regret that you didn't like the people sitting next to you, but at Yia's we serve all kind of people even if some of them are not up to your standards.
We are not trying to be be like anyone else, not like Emeril (which we admire), or retro 1990's, we are YIA'S BY CHEF TINO and we can assure you that if you decide to give us a second change WE WILL BE HERE for MANY years to come serving GREAT food. So we respectfully invite you to give us another chance.

THANK YOU FOR YOUR REVIEW, WE ARE WORKING ON EVERYTHING YOU POINTED OUT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Normal ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I went with my wife to dinner, the place seems interesting. Staff is very nice but the food is normal/avarage, not momorable. Bolitas de yuca: overcook; sangria: too sweet; altough they offer a nice selectiin of beers most them were not in stock.

Pasta isabela was the best pasta I ever eat but the other stuff just make everything fall to avg.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabela, Puerto Rico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I went to Yia’s after purchasing a “dinner for two” at a fundraiser event benefiting Carib Christian School. After I arrived the wait staff told me that Yia’s would not honor my coupon since they had already set aside a specific number of tables to accommodate patrons holding the same kind of voucher. The coupon expired that night. I reached out to the owner who initially signaled his willingness to work with me, but then chose to ignore multiple calls in subsequent days. Restaurants are in the hospitality and service industries. It’s simply bad form to gain favor from the local community by appearing to support a school fundraiser and then not to honor your obligations. Naturally, I will not return to Yia’s and encourage everyone who considers visiting Yia’s not do so. Instead, enjoy the many excellent local restaurants in and around Isabela. For a truly outstanding culinary experience visit The Eclipse – it’s a fantastic restaurant!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheftino, Owner at Yia's by Chef Tino, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Google Translation
saludos! Lamento mucho que haya tenido una mala experiencia en nuestro restaurante. Al parecer todo fue un mal entendido y en error en comunicacion. Nosotros le permitimos a CARIB hacer esta actividad para beneficio de los estudiantes, pero al parecer no le comunicaron a todos las restricciones que tenia la oferta. Es Yia's hacemos siempre lo posible para que tengan una buena experiencia y lamentamos que ese no haya sido su caso. Estamos para servirle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puerto rico
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“the best keeps getting better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have visited Yia's several times. I have mentioned how service was once not what we have expected and that chairs were not comfortable. All is great now!!! Perfectly well! The service is perfect, they have new chairs & food is great. The steaks are juicy and cook to perfection. The Churrasco is to die for, Porterhouse on mustard sauce with pepper is divine. Deserts are great also. Chefs Tino's attention's are special. I'm a fan of this place you will to. You may spot a celebrity also Chef Tino is on food network give yourself a treat & enjoy.
:)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabela, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Cuisine without having to go to New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I Have visited this place twice, one was for a 15 person private activity and the other for some good Rib eye steak. The steak cooked to how I love it, medium rare was juicy & tender bursting with flavor. I've had good steak all over the world, but this one is definitely one the top three of my experience.
As for the private activity, we had a great time. The food was so delicious that my girlfriend could not resist eating crab cakes even though she felt weird and later discovered she was allergic to shellfish. The staff acted quickly and got us some anti-allergy relief quickly maintaining everything in order for us to still enjoy a memorable celebration.


My family, always growing has many children and the crew had a separate table & menu for the children and attended them greatly. I am very satisfied with the service and experiences here.

It may be pricey, but if you want some excellent cuisine without having to take a trip to NY, Yia's by Chef Tino's is your answer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yia's by Chef Tino also viewed

 
Isabela, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Yia's by Chef Tino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yia's by Chef Tino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.