We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterview on The Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Waterview on The Bay to your Saves list
Waterview on The Bay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501205 Grey Rd 1 | RR 1, Wiarton, Ontario N0H 2T0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wiarton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Grand Rapids
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I absolutely loved the location of this hotel. Short drive to many beautiful places to visit in the Bruce Peninsula. I loved all the wonderful things you can do at this resort, swimming either in the pool or the bay, volleyball, horseshoes, bonfires, sunsets, and more. Such a great place to stay for anyone. We did have a room on the lower level and, although it was clean, it was quite in need of updating. The hosts are wonderful and I would recommend this place to anyone. If we ever get back to this area, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I hear the rooms on the upper levels are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    58
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
66
114
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed August 02nd for one week. We had a wonderful time.We loved the location, it's 3 minutes to Bruce Caves, 3 mins to town, about 30 to Sauble Beach and 45 to Tobermory, excellent location. It was nice pool, privacy beach and to roasting marshmellows at the daily campfire. The room "6" had a excellent hot tub, coffee maker and view of the bay with private balcony, free wifi, really comfortable bed, Outdoor bbq/picnic area, beautiful garden, sunset view, lakeview, shared kitchen, snacks machine, ice machine,movies and bonfire. microwaves.The owners (Dave& Evan) were extremely friendly and helpful.Would recommend this place to anyone,family or couple!....

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed 2 nights and overall our experience was decent. The hosts are great and make your time there enjoyable. The view from our room was gorgeous and the location is close to everything. The room was dated though and needs to be refreshed. We did have a hot tub on our deck which we made good use of after long, busy days at the Bruce Peninsula National Park. We booked the "luxury king room" but upon arrival we didn't get that. Apparently it was a booking error from an online site. We only had a queen bed which made it a tight squeeze with our six year old in bed with us! They did offer to switch us though on the second night. The bathroom only had a shower, no tub so make sure when booking you ask them exactly what room you will be getting to avoid any disappointment. Overall, ok.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Owners Dave and Evan are excellent hosts. Beautiful resort with great interior designing, rooms very clean. A well known and highly recommended place to stay. Owners accommodated our last minute booking during the peak summer season. We have stayed at this resort a few times and we would not hesitate to return. Looking forward to staying in their newly built cottages. Bravo Dave and Evan!

Room Tip: Top level rooms have a Jacuzzi, second level are family rooms fully equipped with essentials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We traveled to the Waterview on The Bay because it was near Colpoys Bay. We found that the Waterview was better than expected. Some of the highlights include nightly bon fires at 9PM,beautiful view, an ice machine, comfortable beds, wi-fi, a beach, lush grounds, gracious hosts, and excellent water pressure in the shower. Only areas of concern was the need for an extension cord for our c-pap machine and carpeting needs updating. We will return to the Waterview some day.

Room Tip: All rooms have a Waterview. The cottages are beautiful and roomy or book a suite, you'll have m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Current, Ontario
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night. There was a fridge in the room and free wifi. There is a nice pool and the hotel overlooks the bay, so it is a lovely location. We were told in advance that the only room available was a basic room and we accepted that. We were surprised, to find old, tattered towels; faded sheets; stained furniture; and art that appeared to have been bought for a dime at a garage sale. I don't need a fancy room, but feel that for the price of the room the owners could do a much better job of making the room comfortable. I have stayed at this motel twice (and had the basic room both times), but doubt that I will stay again. The owners are friendly and pleasant, but the "basic" rooms just seem to be forgotten about. If you book a room, ask whether it is on the pool level. If it is, I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the pool level - basic rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed for 1 night at waterview on the bay in the hot tub unit and it was fantastic. Dave and Evan were amazing hosts. They provided a nice bonfire at night with marshmallows included :)
The bed is very comfortable and we both had a good nights sleep. The pool was great. The highlight of our night was going down to the beach and watching the most amazing sunset over Georgian Bay. We will definately be back to the Waterview. Thanks again for great time guys and see you soon

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterview on The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterview on The Bay

Address: 501205 Grey Rd 1 | RR 1, Wiarton, Ontario N0H 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Wiarton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wiarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterview on The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterview is a 4-acre waterfront resort/motel located on the shores of Georgian Bay minutes from the town of Wiarton on the beautiful Bruce Peninsula. There is a variety of rooms to choose from, some even have fireplaces and in-room Jacuzzis with private decks - all overlooking the bay, add a heated in ground outdoor pool, fully equipped banquet hall for special events such as weddings, evening bonfires, and hosts that go out of their way to please! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and T4B so you can book your Waterview on The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterview On The Bay Wiarton, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterview on The Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.