We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good pub/comfort food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Loaf and Ale

The Loaf and Ale
25 Dundas Street East | Ontario, Napanee, Ontario, Canada
613-354-5247
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 56 Restaurants in Napanee
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: If you are looking for great homemade food with large portions this is your Pub. We always offer great lunch, and dinner specials. Our menu is british pub fare, with large vegetarian options, catering for small or large groups and a private back room for special occasions. We have live entertainment on Saturday's. We are kid friendly. Come hungry.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very good pub/comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Only 5 minutes off the main highway and a great alternative to the chain restaurants in Napanee on the 401. The roast beef sandwich with au jus is great as is the fish and chips and the chicken caesar wrap. The only "miss" was the pulled pork sandwich. Good prices and friendly staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    6
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cobourg, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good pub find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were in Napanee for the day doing some research for a tour and The Loaf and Ale was recommended for lunch. We had heard that there was a new chef. He certainly seems to be a good investment. I started with a chicken soup with vegetables - the genuine homemade article. I followed that with three Indian style samosas, on a bed of spinach leaves and with a sweet chili dipping sauce. The samosas were stuffed to the gills with an excellent pea and potato mix and then probably baked. They certainly were not greasy which samosas can be. My only complaint is that it would be nice to have a few more of the spinach leaves. My husband had a turkey club sandwich, filled with turkey slices and generous helpings of the other usual ingredients - a real doorstep of a sandwich. This came with lattice fries which are his faves. It is a pub, usual television screens playing silently, but a great downtown spot to grab a quick lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“They need new staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Went there for lunch with daughter and my friend after bragging about how good the food was. Half way through our meals I noticed my daughter is not eating ask her what is wrong and she shows me a piece of glass that she found in her wrap. Show the waitress who looks at us like we were lying and walks away. No replacing the food no nothing when I ask her about when I go to pay she states to me that my daughter ate the fries and half the wrap. I stood there stunned then say perhaps I could speak to the manager to which she says fine and takes the meal off of our bill. No sorry or anything. Won't ever go back and tell be don't bother until they get new staff and it is mentioned here !!!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
“Late Lunch and a pint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stopped in for a late lunch and a pint of the Loaf n Ale beer. I don't know where they get it, but this beer is great. I had the soup and sandwich lunch special. Half a tuna salad sandwich and chicken creole soup. It was spectacular. The cooks make the soup fresh in the restaurant, not some crap squeezed out of bag from head office. This is my third trip to the restaurant and it never fails to impress me. If you want a good wholesome home cooked meal, I reccomend the Loaf, if you want crap squeezed out of a bag, go to one of the chain stores.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Everything about this restaurant was average, from the service to the food. I have eaten there for lunch and dinner on 3 occasions now, (I like to give the benefit of the doubt) and it still remains mediocre in my opinion.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Loaf and Ale also viewed

Napanee, Lennox and Addington County
Napanee, Lennox and Addington County
 
Napanee, Lennox and Addington County
Napanee, Lennox and Addington County
 

Been to The Loaf and Ale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Loaf and Ale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.