We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice unique hotel, good food ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Benmiller Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Benmiller Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Benmiller Inn & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   R.R.#4, Goderich, Ontario N7A 3Y1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Goderich
Waterloo, Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice unique hotel, good food ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Benmiller on March 28th. We couldn't get a room in the main building due to water damage, so we stayed at the Mill house instead. It was a very clean room, comfortable bed, soft feather pillows. The pool is nice and warm, with a big deck facing the river. Sunday brunch was delicious! A nice hotel for a romantic getaway anytime if the year.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    67
    35
    31
    11
See reviews for
20
163
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We had our wedding at the Benmiller and it was everything we hoped for!

Throughout the planning of the wedding the wedding coordinator and staff were very helpful and accommodating. We had every aspect of the wedding at the inn - all of our 85 guests and wedding party stayed at the inn. We also had the rehearsal dinner, ceremony, cocktail reception, reception and Sunday brunch there.

The weekend of the wedding was amazing! All of our guests were greeted warmly by the staff. The food was above and beyond what we expected and the venue was a perfect fit for us. On the night of the rehearsal, a very bad storm went through the area and the inn lost power for a bit while we were having cocktails in the main building before the rehearsal dinner. The staff weren't fazed by this and didn't miss a beat. The staff were so well organized, dinner carried on as planned and what could have derailed the evening was nothing more than a slight blimp.

I can't say enough about the quality of food, service of the staff and setting of the inn. Although our wedding was a few months ago now, our guests still tell us how much they loved their weekend at the Benmiller. We plan on making a weekend stay at the Inn an annual tradition and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: This is a historical inn, perfect if you are looking for a rustic get away, quiet get away. If you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for sharing your day with us and for choosing us for such an important day in your life. It was our pleasure and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

My husband and I visited the BenMiller Inn and Spa from February 14th to the 16th. We wanted to spend a nice quiet and relaxing weekend together, our first time going away since we’ve gotten married. Our stay here was disappointing to say the least. We are both very flexible people and are pretty easy going but felt this experience really warranted a review.

We booked a spa room, located in the River Mill building so we could have a nice bath in the Jacuzzi. The Inn is quite nice with its décor and homely feel. The location was lovely. We were not aware before booking that that the rooms are located in separate buildings a distant walk from the main building where the front desk and dining room were located. Although this was tough with the temperatures being -30 with the windchill, I assume in the summer it is a nice walk.

We checked in on afternoon of the 14th. On the morning of the 15th, we woke up to no hot water. Apparently a pipe had burst during the night. We brushed our teeth using bottled water since the tap water was too cold. My husband even had to use this to wash his hair. Whilst using the blowdryer, the fuse blew which was connected to the clock radio, tv and other outlets in the room. We called the front desk at approx. 10:30 am to report the problem. They were already aware and working on it (the water). When asked for a timeline or their plan to relocate if it does not get up and running, they said they were no sure. As for the breaker, we were told to press the restart. We followed instructions. Still did not work.

We arrived for brunch at the main building at 11:00 am. We stopped by the front desk to let them know that the breaker reset did not work. We were told to try again. After brunch, we headed back to the room and tried again, no luck. We called the front desk at approx. noon telling them of the issue. They said they would send someone to check it out…..no one came. We also asked about the timeline as to when the water would be fixed (since we still weren’t able to take our showers for that day), they could not provide a timeline.

3:30 pm arrives. We have been sitting in our room all day with no TV, no radio and no ability to even charge our phones. After much frustration, we decided to bundle up and make the trip to the main building. They gave us keys to a new room in a different building. We packed our bags and carried them in the bitter cold across the parking lot to the next building. Later that evening we had dinner reservations. My husband took out the ironing board to iron his shirt. The board was broken and the iron was not working either. Normally we wouldn’t have made a fuss about it, but given the rest of our day, we were already super frustrated. At 11:00 pm that same night, the fire alarm went off. We got dressed and followed the emergency guidelines and headed out our nearest exit. We waited and waited. Finally about 25 mins later, someone showed up and shut off the alarm.

Upon check out, we were offered a 10% discount!!! We clearly did not feel was fair enough for all the troubles we faced during our weekend stay. After requesting a more fair amount, the girl at the front desk called the manager who then agreed on 20%. After having booked this weekend for $900+ we didn’t feel this compensated us nearly enough for our troubles. However, recognizing that this was not her fault, we did not want to argue any further and just get out of there.

Although we know that things like this happen and we’re sure the staff were working hard on dealing with the issue, we just didn’t feel that the customer service was up to par. With such a big issue of guests not having hot water in the bitter winter months, I would have expected the staff to react a lot more proactively. Feb 15th was the only full day we had at the Inn to enjoy the facilities, and we could not do no until 4 pm that day. With all honesty, this was really unfortunate. Upon arrival, I even mentioned to my husband that this would be a nice place to make a regular vacation spot for us and how I would love to come back in the summer to enjoy it further. Clearly by the end of this trip, you can imagine what his response was…….

Room Tip: River Mill building has the pool. If the hot water is working, its a good place to be!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Life is busy and if you want to get away, even for a night- Benmiller Inn is the place to be. Six of us went there for the weekend and took in the beautiful winter wonderland in a cozy, relaxing atmosphere. Dinner Saturday night was incredible--thanks chef Martin and staff. Brunch is always tasty and Tim made our omlettes exactly the way we wanted them. Amber waited on us and was at our side to refill coffee and tea before we asked and made our breakfast even more enjoyable! We love listening to Matt in the lounge- he offers his own unique sounds-we had a blast. Beds were comfy--and although the roads in and out could have been plowed better- we enjoyed a nice walk.

Room Tip: We love staying in RiverMill because it is close to pool but there is no bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you so much for your review. We love hearing how much guests enjoy their time here with us. Staff love getting to know guests and it sounds like you enjoyed getting to know them as well. We cant wait for you to come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgetown, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

I stayed at the Benmiller with my mother and sister-in-laws for a night and was fairly satisfied. Since there were 6 of us we were assigned to Sharpe's Retreat, a beautiful little old house that was very cozy, had 3 large and newly renovated bathrooms and two large and cozy bedrooms. The entire house was very clean and had all the usual amenities that would be in a room (towels, pillows, soaps etc). This would be great for a family as it has a lot of space. However while it said it slept 6, we were disppointed to find only two beds, and two of us had to sleep on a pull-out sofa. This is fine, but we were hoping for a luxurious girls weekend and the pullout wasn't exactly what we had in mind for the price we paid. Our spa experience was great however, all staff were friendly and acommodating and we were all very relaxed and happy with our treatments. The pool area and views from the entire place were gorgeous. My one major complaint would be the layout of the resort. While the scenery surrounding the buildings is gorgeous, we had to constantly drive back and forth from the main building to check in, to the spa building for our treatments, back to Sharpe's retreat, back to the main building for dinner then back to our house again. I'm sure the rest of the year it isn't a problem to just walk, but in winter time it was definitely a drawback to the whole experience. Overall I would recommend staying here, but take a good look at the building layout and get a room closest to the amenity you will be using most!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for your review. The property layout is interesting for sure and in winter it is challenging, especially when we get a lot of snow like this winter. We are constantly trying to find ways to improve and make it easier for guests to get back and forth. Glad you enjoyed the spa and some of what we have to offer and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

The lovely Ivey Dining Room of the historic Benmiller Inn was a pleasurable setting for our dinner and our table overlooking Sharpe’s Creek was ideal.
My entrée of bacon-wrapped Metzger’s pork medallions with braised date stuffing was full of flavour. It was accompanied by garlic mashed potato and chorizo Brussel-sprout fricassee. Superb.
My husband enjoyed his maple Dijon rainbow trout served with sweet potato pavé, green beans, and beet gastrique.
We finished our meal with coffee and dessert of flourless chocolate gateau with raspberry coulis and Lindt chocolate shavings—a perfect ending to an outstanding meal—beautifully presented and delivered with top-notch service.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for your kind words. We love hearing back from guests and I have passed on your comments to kitchen and dining room staff. Much appreciated and it keeps us striving to be better and better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

I had the pleasure of staying at the Benmiller Inn & Spa for a week recently. My room was spacious, very clean, and the bed was amazingly comfortable. The scenery was incredible. The river and creek and the surrounding area was so picturesque. The staff were always available and ready to help and the restaurant was probably the most pleasant surprise of all. I will go back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn B, General Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you so much!!!! What an awesome review. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Benmiller Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benmiller Inn & Spa

Address: R.R.#4, Goderich, Ontario N7A 3Y1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Goderich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Goderich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Benmiller Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Benmiller Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benmiller Inn And Spa
Benmiller Hotel Goderich
Benmiller Inn & Spa Goderich, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benmiller Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.