We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Goderich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Point Farms Provincial Park

Point Farms Provincial Park
Highway 21, Goderich, Ontario, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Goderich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Goderich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Went camping there two weeks ago. It was beautiful. The sites are not to private, but still not bad, also went during the week so it wasn't too busy. Didn't go to the beach at the park, went to he beach at Goderich, was beautiful. Washrooms were kept very clean, it appeared they were there every hour or two to clean them, was very impressed. Park enforcement were friendly, and kept a watch. Also the Huron Gail is a must see. Would go back again. Loved it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice quiet campground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We recently visited Point Farms and stayed in the Huron campground (radio free). Our site was large and half grass covered. It wasn't the most private site (despite that the provinical park website listed it as very private) but still very nice.
We walked the Old Farm trail and it was well maintained. You can easliy do the entire trail with younger children and even with a child in a stroller.
The washroom facilities in the Huron section were not the cleanest! Sadly, there are only 2 showers so when camping on a busy weekend there is always a wait to have a shower no matter the time of day.
From the Huron campground you can walk down about 100 stairs and have access to a stone beach. To get to the sand beach you walk about 15 minutes down the water front to the sand beach. The water and beach was quite nice.
There is a small parking lot down at the beach but it was always full during out visit so we opted to walk down whenever we wanted to go for a swim.
Firewood is not sold by the campground but can be purchased at a store just to the left of the camp entrance.
We will visit again the the future.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Awesome campsite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I went camping with several friends last summer, and we chose point farms based on reviews, proximity to the beach, and the open sites.

the site was great, very clean, and well layed out. We had #94, back in the corner, and i can not think of a more perfect site. It was huge, and had fantastic privacy. covered in grass it was great for games and soft on the floor of your tent.

We never saw the park rangers come around, which was nice, but at the same time it makes you worry that they aren't checking up on things, and if we actually needed them, would they come by.

The beach was nice, it's a bit of a walk, down a stair set of around 120 stairs, it's all rocks at the bottom of the stairs, and if you walk maybe 15 minutes down the beach you can find sand. Tip, just bring water shoes and you'll be fine at the bottom of the stairs.

All in all, it was a great place, and I'm going back again next week, same site too. Highly reccommend

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful campground.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I don't know how we ever overlooked this 'gem' of a campground as we love trying different provincial parks, but we are so glad that we finally found it!
Our campsite was spacious and private and the comfort station was nicely updated and clean.
The dog beach was amazing (just an extension of the 'regular' beach) and it was equipped with picnic tables too.
Our son loved the park there as well.
We will definitely book here again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Large sandy public beach with facilities...worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

$14 entrance fee will buy you a day at the beach! Very large, clean sandy beach,plenty of parking, clean water,no lifeguard, picnic tables and washrooms.....great place to spend the day!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Farms Provincial Park also viewed

 
Penetanguishene, Ontario
 

Been to Point Farms Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Farms Provincial Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.