We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How would you describe quaint?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albion Bed & Breakfast

Albion Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Albion Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Albion Bed & Breakfast
125 South Street, Goderich, Ontario N7A 3L9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Goderich B&B and Inns
Amherstburg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“How would you describe quaint?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Quaint!

Location easy walking distance to down town square for local attractions and markets.

The English couple that ran the B&B added to the ambiance. They were great. The room we had was comfortable with a nice size bed and your own private washroom. The room beside you is the second available room with a nice common area and covered porch.

8.30 am breakfast, first class and the stay is what you would want for a B&B. Overall good value for money. Nice Beach and parks 2 minutes drive away for the beach goers.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My daughter and I decided to get away to cottage country for a relaxing break from the city. We reserved this B&B in May. It was a busy weekend in Goderich with the Celtic festival. We arrived 20 minutes before check in time and were surprised that the owner was taken aback at our early arrival and did not welcome us in. My daughter even had to ask if it was the right location. She stated that the room would not be ready for another hour. The room was clean with a large comfortable bed and lot's of closet space. Do not expect that you can iron any wrinkly clothes when you get there as there isn't an iron.

This is a small, quiet B&B, if this is what you're looking for. There was a concern that we would be in too late. The breakfast was good if you like what was served. We were not asked our preference. I'm not sure why we were told that our breakfast was at 8:30. The other couple was up and having breakfast at 8.

Overall, I felt uncomfortable, as though we were intruding and a "guest" in their home. Interestingly, the other couple raved about the owners and there seemed to be an easy interaction between them. Perhaps we just started out on the wrong foot?? Or perhaps they show greater hospitality to those who stay for a longer duration of time and/or are returning guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

But the neighbors cat that walked all over my car with dirty feet (and used the gravel driveway as the town's largest litter box) were disappointing. Thank god for the black out shades in the guest room, as the street lights are right in front of the house!

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooden UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

During our tour of Ontario, we stayed in a number of places where hotels and motels were good, bad or just acceptable. Upon arrival in Goderich, the Tourist Office was fortunately still open.
The clerk gave us a list of accommodations and the third that we looked at was the Albion. It looked good from the outside with a driveway to park the car. The owners welcomed us in, showed us a comfy room, made us feel at ease with cups of coffee while they asked our breakfast requirements. We slept well, had a good breakfast that set us up for the day's touring, and enjoyed the British element of the stay that gives good service. We liked this small B & B rather than staying in a tired looking hotel where you are just another room number.
We thanked the owners and on departure, called into the Tourist Office to give them our recommendation to pass on the the next visitors.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Albion is our new favourite B&B in Goderich. Our family rents a cottage for a week or more in the area every summer but my husband and I love to take in the town (no less charming, though much changed after the tornado) and the Lake Huron sunsets several long weekends each year. During this time, we have stayed in almost every B&B in the area. This modest cottage has been renovated to provide two private rooms both with full ensuite with a shared lounge and dining area. In our double room, there was very well thought out custom cabinetry which allowed my husband and I to both have closets, drawers and a small night stand on each side of the bed. There were ceiling fans as well as central a/c. Norman and Joyce are a friendly and welcoming English couple with interesting stories to tell, though only if you ask. The breakfasts were tasty. We will definitely be back on our next trip as a couple.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 125 South Street, Goderich, Ontario N7A 3L9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Goderich
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Goderich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Albion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Bed & Breakfast Goderich, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albion Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.