We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem of a Motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Lodge Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Goderich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Lodge Motel
157 Huron Road, Goderich, Ontario N7A 2Z7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Goderich
london, ont.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Hidden Gem of a Motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our family have been going back here for several years and every year it is updated and gets better. Goderich is a beautiful town with so much history.The Motel has a separate building with the pool, exercise room and hot tub and everything is pristine. The staff are friendly and if they are able, will fulfill any special requests you have. I strongly recommend anyone to visit it as a family or couple-it is the best!!!

Jeanne Mason

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitaJohnston, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
I would like to thank you so much for your kind words and your lovely recommendation! Most of all I would like to thank you for your loyalty! We enjoyed seeing you each visit and it means so much that you select our property to stay with. I enjoy hearing about you and your family each time we have a moment to chat! Thanks again for your words and for staying with us when you visit Goderich! We look forward to seeing you again next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    30
    13
    1
    7
See reviews for
22
36
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Innerkip, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We recently stayed here and had a great time . The pool and the hot tub was great!! The location is good close to everything that we wanted to do. The bagpipes on the beach Friday night were great , they are really nice to listen to. This hotel also has a exercise room . The room s are clean and have a fridge in the room as well. I would highly recommend this hotel its clean and is good value for your money.

Room Tip: we stayed in # 37 right across from the pool , exercise room and the hot tub great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitaJohnston, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Watching the pipers "Pipe down the Sun" on Friday nights really is a treat! We're glad you had a chance to enjoy them! We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that we met all of your expectations! We take pride in our property and we feel it is important to offer a great room at a great price! Value for your money is very important! Thank you for taking the time to review our property and thank you for the high recommendation! We hope you will stop in and stay a while the next time you visit Goderich.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have previously frequented another motel in Goderich which was more of a boutique-style with emphasis on the coordinated decor and furnishings, but the price has been raised unreasonably. The room at Cedar Lodge was a good size, the A/C very efficient, the frig, which we consider a necessity when traveling, was satisfactory, the setting was attractive and the location convenient for our purposes of exploring the area and attending the Blyth Theatre. The recreational pool area was clean and inviting, and the owner showed interest in how things are maintained. Perhaps there could be some art or photographs of the Goderich area on the walls in the rooms for color and to promote interest in local attractions. It would be useful for you to have copies of the local paper "The Signal Star". for visitors to acquaint themselves with the community. All in all, we were very comfortable and plan to return.

Room Tip: Check the mattress for the degree of support you require and also for a good reading light, as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitaJohnston, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We are very happy you chose our motel for your last visit to Goderich and we are thrilled that we met your expectations. It is great to have options and we believe we offer all the comforts of home.. plus some extras like the indoor pool! Having some local flair in the room is a great idea and I will certainly pass along that suggestion! Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind words and we certainly hope we see you again the next time you visit Goderich!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were very happy with the motel and the staff. The outside is well kept,and the room was clean and quiet. My wife and I came here in large part to the positive feedback on Tripadvisor. This motel and their staff lived up to our expectations. We wanted a good clean motel at a fair price and we got that and more. The pool area is great, but we didn't have time to enjoy it, we'll do some swimming next time. The A/C unit was quiet and efficient. All in all, if we're passing through Goderich again we won't hesitate to stay with Cedar Lodge.

Room Tip: Enjoy the pool, and ask for a room at the rear if a quiet room is needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitaJohnston, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks for your kind words about our motel! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope when you return everyone is feeling top notch and you will have time to use the pool. Trip Advisor reviews help both the customer and the property owners and reviews like yours are the best kind! Thanks again for taking the time to review our property and we certainly look forward to your next visit to Goderich! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep River, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much and made good use of the pool and hot tub although we didn't get around to using the exercise equipment or the sauna. The location is very handy and the place is well kept. The driveway and parking area were just re-surfaced. The room with two double beds was adequate for two people. The fridge needed to be de-frosted as the door on the freezer compartment wouldn't stay closed. It was handy to have the fridge, microwave and coffee-maker, since there is no restaurant. The beds were comfortable and it was quiet. I would recommend this motel to anyone.

Room Tip: We were at the back in the single storey building, and I believe this would be the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitaJohnston, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We are always please when our guests enjoy their time with us. It is great that you had time to enjoy most of our facilities as well. We really appreciate you taking the time to post such kind words and helpful advice. We do take pride in our property and we do our best to keep it clean and tidy and looking just right! Thank you again for taking a few moments to post your review. It helps us improve our business and keep our guests happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Ontario Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Staff very friendly and helpful.Rooms were clean. Walking distance to downtown. Close to resturants and shopping . Pool looked clean but we did not use it .Bed was very comfortable .I was here on business working at the Sifto Salt mine .The city is very beautiful with the blue blue water and the great beach.I have stayed fifteen days so far and will be there another to weekes .
I will be coming back to Goderich in July again and plan to stay in the same motel . This time I will be here for pleasure then .Beautiful city and people are so friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitaJohnston, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review. It's great to stay here with us while you are working but it will be even better while you are on vacation! Goderich is indeed very pretty and Lake Huron is certainly a beautiful back drop. Hopefully you will have time to relax in the pool next time! Thanks again for your kind words and we will look forward to seeing you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

due to gas leak-caused repairs at our house, we had to stay at this motel for several days. The staff are wonderful, the place is clean, it has an indoor pool/sauna/hot tub/fitness room, lots of parking, it's quiet, central to evetything in Goderich and, the best prices in Goderich and area. What could've been an unpleasant experience, turned out to be a mini vacation.We can't thank them enough for their attention, helpfulness and excellent establishment. If you have to stay in Goderich, this is the place to stay. (Andrea even gave us home-made dog cookies for our puppy).

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are not exposed to traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitaJohnston, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We are so happy we could accommodate you while you went through this tough time. It was lovely to have met you both! Thank you for taking the time to post such kind words. I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us and that you were able to make the best of a difficult situation! It is great we could be your home away from home! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cedar Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge Motel

Address: 157 Huron Road, Goderich, Ontario N7A 2Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Goderich
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Goderich
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just minutes from the beach and historic downtown. A two story modern facility equipped with air conditioning colour FLAT SCREEN TV, wireless internet as well as microwaves and fridges in each room. We also have an indoor pool and whirlpool spa as well as a sauna and fitness centre. Direct dial phones with voice mail. Located close to many tourist attractions. Open year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel Goderich
Cedar Lodge Motel Goderich, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cedar Lodge Motel to your Saves list