We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calabogie Highlands Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Calabogie Highlands Golf Resort to your Saves list
Calabogie Highlands Golf Resort
981 Barryvale Rd., Calabogie, Ontario K0J 1H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Calabogie
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Family Weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Calabogie Highlands Golf Resort hosted families from Starlight Children's Foundation as we rolled out our first ever "Motomax" snowmobiling event in Ontario! Families from Starlight were invited for a relaxing but action packed weekend filled with snowmobiling, games, activities, and much more. We had a ton of fun on Saturday afternoon, and then families had the chance to relax and re-energize for another morning filled with snowmobiling!

The resort did a FANTASTIC job accommodating our group and made sure we had everything we needed. They hosted us for lunch and dinner, and then breakfast the next morning which were all delicious and well prepared. They participated with our activities and were very welcoming to the staff, volunteers, and especially the families from Starlight.

We hope we can make it out to Calabogie Highlands Golf Resort again this summer!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We were invited to a special event during the winter. The family who own the resort welcomed us and made sure we were comfortable and had fun. The rooms were immaculate and well stocked with linens and supplies. The kitchen was well appointed with everything needed to prepare and serve meals. The rooms were warm and cozy and the fireplace was just the right finishing touch.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We visit Calabogie regularly to play golf. We stay overnight one weekend a year. This year, we chose an early weekend in October. Aside from the group of 15 men who thought the best means of communication was to scream at the top of their lungs, we had a lovely time. We chose a one-bedroom suite this time, and loved the gorgeous view of the water from our very large patio. The golf course is fun and challenging, with beautiful views on most holes.

We had dinner in the dining room on Friday night, and it was delicious. Homemade soup, followed by generously stuffed chicken and scallop crepes. Both were worth talking about. We avoided the main dining room on Saturday night, as it was Octoberfest, which wasn't a drawing point for us. Sunday breakfast of Eggs Benedict was also excellent! Home made hollandaise sauce, and well poached eggs.

We will certainly continue to come here for our weekend getaways!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Have stayed here the last 4 years. Last year I had some concerns, (the air conditioning) and so this year I contacted the reservation desk and was assured that the A/C was no longer an issue.
The Good - The golf course is one of the best in the area. The landscaping around the villas and the golf course is fantastic.

The Bad -The screen, in the patio door leading to the deck, was completely out of the track and the door would not glide along the track without a great deal of pulling. There were no ice cube trays in the refrigerator, no coffee mugs in the cupboard,the remote for the TV in the adjoining suite would not work even with new batteries.

The Ugly- The BBQ was disgusting. Thank god we took a pan with us to put our food on to grill because you would never put food on the racks of this BBQ. I do not think it has been cleaned since last year.

The A/C unit was locked at 22 and you could not change it. This in F is 76 degrees and it was quite warm but you could not make it any colder.This was the very issue I was assured had been corrected from the previous year,so I was lied to.

Room Tip: Choose a lower unit so you will not need to climb stairs, no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom suite on the second level for a couple of nights. The place was spacious, comfortable and clean. The large balcony was great as it overlooked the lake and was quite large and provided a nice cover during one rain storm. (by the way we do not play golf)

The kitchen is well supplied with cooking and eating utensils better than what you find in a cottage as well as i full size coffee maker. Quite a large dining area and very nice living room. (we had an end unit which gave us additional windows off the kitchen and two sides of the dining area.

Despite being full the place was quiet. Although there was no swimming area the area was pleasant to walk around. The town of Calabogie is not far away as is Burnstown (art shoppes and antiques).
The king bed was comfortable with the only complaint being it was two singles put together and held by covers.

Although there was a restaurant it was open only briefly.

Service from the staff was friendly and helpful.

Considering the reasonable prices, if we are looking for a quiet spot we would stay again. (mind it gets booked very quickly)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were planning a weekend getaway with friends. I booked this beautiful lakehouse through booking.com one month in advance. ( the lakehouse is part of the highland golf resort.) I called the hotel to confirm 10 days before the weekend, they said everything is fine and I will find the key on the table. Also received a confirmation from booking.com 2 weeks prior.
The they before, we phoned the resort because we noticed they had not taken deposit. They said, they have the credit card on file, so everything is fine.
Friday morning just before we were going to leave Toronto to Calabogie, I received an email from booking.com that the resort double booked the lakehouse, so as right now we have no accommodation, sorry for the inconvenience and they are trying to find something else. ( we are talking about 10 people here!!!)
Right away I called the resort to find out what happened. They said, they told booking.com well in advance that the lakehouse is already booked, even though they confirmed when I called that everything is fine. So I talked to booking.com and the manager called the resort to find out what happened. The resort claimed they had power outage, so when I made the booking online they accepted a reservation via phone from someone else. ( yeah right! )
The worst part of the whole experience was the attitude of the resort. As they did not care, and did not want to help and resolve their mistake.
On the other hand booking.com tried everything they could to accommodate us.

I'd like to thank Ellen Smith who operates the Kirkman house bed and breakfast in Arnprior.
As she took us all in and save the weekend. All 10 of us felt extremely welcomed and had an unforgettable weekend! Thank you Ellen!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardinal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We rented a queen/jacuzzi room for a weekend for an anniversary getaway. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. We were provided with a tv, dvd player, small fridge and microwave, coffee maker, and wardrobe, which made our stay more comfortable and convenient. The room was air-conditioned and had a cute little front deck with chairs, which was a nice plus. The bathroom was the jewel of the room, huge, with a 2-person jacuzzi, corner shower, double sinks, and seperate toilet area (very nice). The grounds and outside of the villa were well-kept and attractive, lots of parking for our truck and boat, and a lovely waterfront area across the road with a small dock and great area for sitting and enjoying the water or fishing. The 2 issues which made me unhappy were that they advertise the free Wifi internet, however, the signal in our room was so poor that we could hardly ever connect, and when we could, it didn't last long enough to accomplish anything. This wasn't a big deal, as we came to spend time together, not be on the internet. I was more unhappy about the fact that the jacuzzi water went cold before we even had the tub filled, so we had to just rinse off in a cold shower, and also had no hot water after just a couple minutes again in the morning. When I pay the extra for a jacuzzi room, I want to be able to enjoy it, dissapointing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Calabogie Highlands Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabogie Highlands Golf Resort

Address: 981 Barryvale Rd., Calabogie, Ontario K0J 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Calabogie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Calabogie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Calabogie Highlands Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calabogie Highlands Golf Resort Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calabogie Highlands Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.