We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Powell trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ticaboo Resort

Save Saved
You added Ticaboo Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ticaboo Resort
Highway 276, Lake Powell, UT 84533   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Lake Powell
Payson, Utah
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lake Powell trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel is in a very remote location, it is clean and friendly staff. They serve a nice breakfast. Beds are ok, rooms are large and clean. The hotel is ran by a family that has stocked a small store with fun items to buy and take to the lake this hotel is much cheaper than the defiance house next to the lake. I have stayed here several times and have been well pleased with the service

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
9
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antioch,
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here with the family on our Summer Vacation. We took the ferry across Lake Powell and visited Natural Bridges, then down the Moki Switchbacks to the San Juan Goosenecks, Mexican Hat and Monument Valley. The Next day we explored Capital Reef National Park starting at the South End and working our way up the Notum Trail all the way up to Torry, where we ate. The final day we left and hit Goblin Valley and the Maze side of Canyonlands. The resort was a great place to stay. The kids loved the pool and watching the bats "dive bomb" when the sun went down. The community of Ticaboo is hidden around the back side of the resort's location. There is a small LDS church, boat storage and repair, and several homes.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are cooler in the heat of the summer. If you have SUV or truck, check out T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Warning: this place is NOT a resort. It is basically a hotel with a pool and a gas station, and apart from one diner and boat rental place, it is literally the entire town of Ticaboo. Here are the positives about the place first: they give you breakfast, they have wifi (sort of), and their rooms are clean and have a mini fridge. Also they are very close to lake powell. The cons: the rooms were very outdated, the TVs were very small with basic cable (after dinner we didn't have anything to do as we couldn't walk around town as it didnt exist and we were done at the lake). Also every location in the hotel seemed to get wifi except for our room, and when we asked about it, they were very unhelpful. We didn't have any cell phone reception so there was no other way to plan the next stages of our trip. The staff was kind of rude, though maybe they were just stressed or something, but the owner's sons were really cute and helpful. About the room, our blinds wouldn't shut all the way, so we were awoken at the crack of dawn by the light, and the ac took the whole night to cool the room from 80 to 75.
This is a great location if you want to go to lake powell, but there's nothing to do apart from Lake Powell.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

What an awesome place to stay. The rooms are huge, clean and comfortable. I love the parklike setting with the big cottonwoods. After a long day on the lake it was so nice to have a shower!!! The manager was really nice. Only 10 minutes from the boat ramp and so much more affordable. They even have charging stations for guests to charge their boats. Nice swimming pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the parking lot side with all of the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

i spent two nights out near the lake on business. this hotel was as perfect as you could want considering how far away from civilization you are when on the north of the lake. the room was spotless, the tv had ample channels, nice warm shower. great bed. the manager and her family gave first class service. the pool was perfect and it appeared that they had just opened it. a little cool, but it's like 104 out there, so a cup of hot chocolate probably would seem a little cool too. the breakfast was sufficient. just go down the road to the chevron and you can get the best sandwiches i've ever had. you are very far from anywhere out here and it's nice to know there are friendly people and they seem to be able to hook you up with necessities if a situation should arise.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

We crossed Lake Powell on the Halls Crossing / Bullfrog ferry and wanted to stay at the GCNRA's Defiance House lodge, but they were full. Found Ticaboo Resort about a 15 min. drive north on the only road out of the park. Found friendly service, plently of boat/trailer parking, and a large clean room, at a price about $50USD/night less than in the Park. Only regrets were that Ticaboo's restauarant and pool were closed; had to drive back to the park to eat in Defiance House's Anasazi Room restaurant (great view). Next time we come to GCNRA at Bullfrog, we'll stay here, save money, and then take the short drive to Lake powell!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

The website for this hotel isn't a very good representation. I was pleasantly surprised when we saw the actual hotel. It was clean and friendly - it's a very remote area. The only other buildings are a gas station and cafe. The rooms were average and clean.
The pool was closed because it was too cool to swim. The continental bfast was pretty typical - nothing fancy. If you drive another 10 miles to Bullfrog there's a hotel there too. My brother stayed there and wasn't very happy with it or the restaurant. The only other place to eat is the A&W between Ticaboo & Bullfrog Marina.

  • Liked — It was better than I'd expected.
  • Disliked — Not many options
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ticaboo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ticaboo Resort

Address: Highway 276, Lake Powell, UT 84533
Location: United States > Utah > Lake Powell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Lake Powell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 10 minutes from Bullfrog Marina on Lake Powell. Come stay with us on your next adventure to Lake Powell!Pet and family friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Ticaboo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ticaboo Hotel Lake Powell
Ticaboo Resort Lake Powell, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ticaboo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.