We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Hampton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   627 South Canal Street, Natchez, MS 39120   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Getaway Deal
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Natchez
london
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Terrific Hampton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

This is the best Hampton I have stayed in. Its newly built, with big rooms [get a front facing high one for a view of the Mississippi and the bridge]. It couldn't be better located unless you want to stay right in the middle of downtown. All the staff I came across were very friendly and helpful . The breakfast area is unusually spacious for this type of property. Free wi-fi and paper. I can't really fault it [even the guest laundry was good], that. I've knocked half a star off for the showerhead being too low [like 95% of other US hotels] and the pool being closed despite it being 86F.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    86
    38
    18
    13
See reviews for
60
112
18
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

The first room that I was assigned had a smell and I immediately called down and was nicely reassigned to another room. The next room had no smell, but had several pubic hairs in the bathtub, fecal matter on the sides of the toilet bowl and the carpet was stained and dirty. I had made an advance reservation on the internet and then was charged again during my stay (I caught it after the fact on my credit card bill). The thermostat in the room was not functioning well and it would be very cool or very stuffy throughout the night. The hotel does have a great location - very convenient to the river and downtown, but it's a $60 room and that's not what they are charging for it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, OK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

This hotel has a great location; easy to find and across the street from the visitor center. I would call this hotel just average to maybe a little below average for Hampton Inns. The breakfast was decent but the hotel didn't provide the usual free newspaper and the room had no cold water. People complain about no hot water but here you can get hot and hotter. Had to use bottled water to brush our teeth. I would recommend staying right across the river and the new Comfort Suites hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, MS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010 via mobile

Just as always Hampton Inn did not disappoint! We were only here for a night, but the staff were all very nice and accommodating! And VERY friendly, that southern hospitality showing through... The hotel was clean and the rooms smelled wonderful.. Breakfast was the normal Hampton inn breakfast (I love love love their coffee!)

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights whilst touring the Mississippi valley. Despite its position next to a main junction there was little or no noise in the room and it was up to the usual high Hampton standard of cleanliness, food and staff. The pool was great for relaxing in after a hard day sightseeing although the presence of some marshy ground to the rear rang a few warning bells about the bug life. The visitor centre is across the road and the escorted tour of the area is well worth the money, visiting some spots that you would never find on your own. The only downside seems to be a lack of decent chain restaurants in the area although some of the bed and breakfast places have dinner available to visitors. A must-see is the old prison which, although used as an office, has the deathrow cells and the trapdoor for hangings still intact and available to visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010 via mobile

Had a reservation for one night and stayed for three. Very nice!! The Hampton beds cannot be compared! Just a great stay, friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Indiana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

My wife an I have been staying in Hampton Inns for a number of years and have always found them to be one of the better hotel chains around, but this hotel doesn't come close to the Hampton Inn standards that we have found in the past.
First the good points; excellent location, near downtown and Natchez Under the Hill, visitors center just across the street, good rates, good and varied hot breakfast.
Following is a laundry list of problems we encountered in a six day stay:
> The desk couldn't find our reservation, I had to provide my E-Mail confirmation before they would assign us a room. In addition the front desk ladies were very unfriendly as if were my fault.
> TV came on at 5:30 AM three days in a row, they didn't solve problem.
> Cold water faucet on wet bar sink didn't work, problem not solved.
We changed room to be on the top floor, that solved those problem.
> Toilet paper dispenser coming off the wall, they did repair.
> Ice machine on fourth floor not working for at least three days.
> Bulb missing from light on right side of bed.
> Ran out of hot water two nights.
> Housekeeping almost non existent, bed linins and towels were OK, but the room and halls didn't look like they had ever vacuumed.
> No PBS or Comedy channels on TV.
> They had front driveway closed off for a race car display for the first few days.
> Water so soft the tub/shower were very slippery and dangerous. (probably not their fault)
> Hampton is noted for their warm fresh baked cookies, in our stay of six nights, there never were cookies, each night a different excuse.
Watchmaker

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez

Address: 627 South Canal Street, Natchez, MS 39120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez Hotel Natchez
Hampton Inn And Suites Natchez
Hampton Inn Natchez
Natchez Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Hotel Natchez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.