We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not your best value” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   627 South Canal Street, Natchez, MS 39120   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Getaway Deal
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Natchez
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“not your best value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed at the Hampton Inn and Suites in Natchez, Mississippi for the last four nights. Day one and continuing, the hotel was under renovation which I must add, it was in need of. Detours were in place and some elevators were out of service. The rooms were of average size for my expectations and all electronic equipment worked well. The bed comforters appeared to be a bit old and not exactly up to the standards one would expect paying $120 per night.

The TV however had a mind of its own. It woke me up every morning prior to the alarm clock. I overheard another guest expressing the same concern at the free breakfast the following morning, suggesting there was a ghost in his room.

The elevators were partially operational and there was no ice machine or vending machines on my floor due to the construction. The air conditioner worked well though!

The bathroom sink would not drain. I inspected it to find the hardware under the sink was defective and it wasn't due to a clogged drain. I reported this to the front desk but I saw no improvement when I returned to my room that evening. Then that night I had no cold water in my bathroom. I will add however that their water temperature is very hot and not conducive for taking a nice relaxing shower after a hard days work!!

But what upset me the most was that the Internet went out and stayed out at least for 24 hours, and by then I had decided to check out. I tried to use their Internet to check in on my plane flight, but that was a no go! When I physically checked out, the desk clerk informed me that their computer was not functioning and she was not able to check me out but was kind enough to inform me to go on anyway, that she wasn't going to make me stay and she would figure something else out later in the day!

The staff were very nice and pleasant as one would expect from Southern people!

Room Tip: The restaurant consisted of a couple small vending machines for sandwiches and snacks. But the conti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize if you were inconvenienced in any way regarding our internet connection at our hotel. I do empathize with your situation and assure you that we are always looking for ways to improve our guests’ satisfaction. We are currently looking at different options to increase the speed and availability of our Wi-Fi connection. We strive to be competitive with other hotels and offer quality services and amenities in our guest rooms; however, I apologize if we came short of delivering what you expected from us. With this in mind, I assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration to improve our property.

Again, I truly regret any inconveniences you went through and hope that you give us another chance of staying with us if you are ever around our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    84
    35
    18
    13
See reviews for
57
109
18
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, KY
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

In a town that prides itself on it's B&B's, the Hampton Inn in Natchez is a solid, reliable hotel and very conveniently located across the street from the Visitor's Center.

The hotel was still undergoing lobby renovations and so the guests were crowded (and I mean CROWDED) into a couple of the meeting rooms. But once the renovations are done, I think the hotel will be more visitor friendly.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevators and toward the river and bluff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

A rating of a four it about as high as I usually give unless it is very special. We were stopping here as first stop of a two week family road trip and drive the Natchez Trace the next day. This was a perfect stop. I made reservations in advance. I had been to Natchez, MS once before only as a food stop so I was not familiar with the city. I picked the Hampton as they have a good reputation. This hotel was remodeling but they maintained their service even though the lobby was a mess as a result. The breakfast was typical nothing great but OK. Everything was clean. The pool was good and on par for a Hampton. Our dog was allowed. We need to return to enjoy Natchez. If we do, yes, we'll stay here again.

Room Tip: Making advance reservations at an unknown hotel can be risky but I did read reviews and I trusted th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here July 3rd and 4th. This Hampton was wonderful! The front desk ladies were so kind. They answer the phone "where we treat you like family" and they are not kidding. Helpful, knowledgeable - just as sweet as ever. They were booked for the weekend but remembered we wanted to extend a day, so they called us to say they had a cancellation! This hotel is being refurbished. Our room was totally redone-new bedding, carpet, paint, curtains- the breakfast area is going through a renovation and will be done soon. The staff will love it, and so will the guests. It is in a perfect location, overlooking the river. Easy on and off to 84. Such a historical town, and Hampton Inn is where you need to stay.

Room Tip: Request a room up high overlooking the river...there are four floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Overall for the town of Natchez, MS, this hotel is adequate but over priced. Housekeeping if very good at keeping the rooms clean. Rooms are average size and will accommodate 4 people comfortable. Complimentary breakfast hours should change to end at a later hour. Most of the guest come for the casinos and usually miss breakfast. There are several restaurants nearby within driving range however none in walking distance to the hotel. Pool is average and outdoors. Rooms do have microwave and refrigerator which is very convenient. Internet is available however slow. Overall, for an overnight stay stay the hotel is satisfactory. Staying longer I would have to reconsider.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice property. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The lobby is being refurbished, but they still had a nice breakfast in the temporary space. The staff was great: they let us plug our plug-in hybrid in to recharge the batteries overnight.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moon Township, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here while visiting Natchez. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was great. The southern hospitality was obvious. This is a really good place to stay. Natchez is not the quaint lilt southern town it once was. I could not believe how much it has grown in the past 20 years.

Room Tip: When we were there they were remodeling so I am not sure about a good room. The room we had was ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez

Address: 627 South Canal Street, Natchez, MS 39120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Natchez
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez Hotel Natchez
Hampton Inn Natchez
Natchez Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Hotel Natchez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.