We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They don't have a swimming pool!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Natchez Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Natchez Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Natchez Grand Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Broadway, Natchez, MS 39120 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Natchez
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“They don't have a swimming pool!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

In the internet or adverts you can see that the hotel has a swiming pool but I'd rather say that it was mini-swiming pool on the parking area - not nice at all!. If it would be different, I guess that the hotel would get the best mark from me. Scenic view, nice location, good interior and excellent service is normally what you want and I can tell you - you can get it there. On the top the price for the room is quite ok, and its size also turn my atention. I was lucky with the weather, so I had some good pictures around. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask with the view to Mississipi (I had parking view ;/ )
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natchezgrandhotel, Director of Sales at Natchez Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at the Natchez Grand Hotel & Suites. With our location in the heart of the historic downtown district, an outdoor pool is not a likely amenity most would expect. However, because we welcome all- from business travelers to families alike- we do offer an outdoor pool. As space is limited, we specifically recognize it as a "small pool" on our hotel's website. Again, thank you so much for sharing your experience and we are so glad you enjoyed it. We hope you will return to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    113
    67
    12
    13
See reviews for
50
130
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

By most standards, this hotel is great. What we found was a large part of the room had not been vacuumed and asking the floor staff to come in required us to point out the areas around the furniture that had not been cleaned for some time. She, finally, cleaned it and all was well, but we felt they only did what was minimally expected such as sweeping around things. Seemed to only sweep the center area.

Location is great for several places to eat and hotel was nice. We stayed an extra night as we enjoyed Natchez so much.

Room Tip: Ask for River view room!! Rooms with balconies are 2nd floor and view is not what the 4th floor give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel itself was fine except for the weird stain of unknown origins on one of the queen beds, accompanied by a piece of hair that clearly wasn't ours. However, there is a deli down the street that sells amazing salsa and the view across from the hotel is legendary. It made up for the hair. The hotel seems like the only legit place to stay in Natchez unless you want to sleep in the woods.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just stayed 3 nights at the Grand. I'm a Tripadvisor junkie so I rarely visit any establishments that gets a negative review. We almost didn't stay at the Grand because of some bad reviews. The only reason I booked the room was because my husband was tired of looking at pictures of B & B's and he wanted to stay within walking distance of everything. I'm happy to say that I listened to him for once and booked this hotel! We had a nice king room with a river view and I couldn't have been happier. The view of the Mississippi was spectacular! We walked to the casinos and to every bar & restaurant except Dunleith. The staff was friendly and helpful and there were no complaints there. The small bar was right in the lobby as you walked in the front door and everyone sitting at the bar seemed to be having a nice (not rowdy) time having a drink and talking to the friendly bartender. Our room was large and comfortable. As another reviewer said, the bed and towels were great. The only negative thing I have to say is that the windows and hall carpets definitely needed cleaning, but, we could still see the beautiful view through the windows and we weren't staying in the hall, so that didn't matter to us!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a river view and don't worry about not having a balcony! The balcony rooms we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was a treat for my husband and I. We arrived in Natchez without a reservation, and when we drove by the Grand and saw the balconies overlooking the river we decided to stay. The room was incredibly spacious and the balconies (2) were a treat to relax on in the afternoon.

The breakfast in the morning was great, with a lot of selection

I appreciated that this hotel was downtown, so that we could wander to the restaurants and bars in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel is lovely and quaint, but the best feature is the location. Our room overlooked the Mississippi River and was gorgeous. The room was very clean, had great AC, and a comfortable bed- even the towels were awesome! They served a complimentary hot breakfast which was delicious and the lovely dining room overlooked the river. I loved it!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastrop, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay with the Natchez Grande. I really wanted to stay at a nice bed and breakfast, but when you have children, that's just not in the cards. I was pleasantly surprised at the southern charm that the Grande welcomed us with. The service was great and they've got a pretty good hot breakfast that was just the ticket for the whole family. I would recommend giving them a close look if you're in the Natchez area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Natchez Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natchez Grand Hotel

Address: 111 Broadway, Natchez, MS 39120 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Natchez Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Natchez Grand Hotel, formerly known as the Country Inn and Suites, was built brand new from the ground up and opened in 2008. The Natchez Grand Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Downtown Natchez with a magnificent view of the Mississippi River and walking distance to many downtown restaurants, shopping, attractions, and nightlife., The Natchez Grand Hotel offers a comfortable place to stay with friendly service and gracious amenities, and is the perfect place to host meetings, corporate retreats, social events and much more, with over 5,000 sq. ft. of meeting space. We invite everyone to be our guest and experience a "grand" stay while visiting Natchez, MS! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Natchez Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Natchez
Natchez Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natchez Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.