We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views of Mississippi River” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Natchez Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Natchez Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Natchez Grand Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Broadway, Natchez, MS 39120 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Natchez
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great views of Mississippi River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I paid a few dollars extra to get a room with a good view of the Mississippi River with the bridge in the distance. My stay was for one night after driving from Tupelo on the Natchez Trace parkway. There was a noisy family reunion going on in the hallway just after I arrived in late afternoon, so I think the soundproofing here is not so great. Fortunately they did not make any noise at bedtime, but I could see this could be a problem if you are unlucky enough to book during a special event that includes rowdy people. Ironically, in my extensive experience, I notice that it is the more upscale places that have this problem with noisy people and parties. Less expensive motels, since they don't have the facilities, usually cater to working stiffs and travelers who are road weary like I was, and they also want a quiet night's sleep. Anyway, my stay here was restful and enjoyable. The breakfast was better than most free breakfasts at motels, but nothing exceptional. You do, however get to look out at, or stroll along, the river in the early morning, which is a definite plus in taking a break from driving.

Room Tip: River view costs a bit more, but this is the Mississippi after all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    109
    66
    12
    13
See reviews for
48
126
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Commerce Township, Michigan
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Grand is a lovely hotel with all of the amenities that you want. Best I can tell it is not one of the major hotel brands, but definitely tops many of the big guys. Most importantly from front desk, to breakfast servers, and housekeeping it was a very helpful and friendly staff. Room size is generous and in very good condition. Glad we found it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

i stayed for one night while visiting a nearby prison for work. the room was nice and the location is great. you are right on the river and it was nice to walk out and see it early in the morning after i ate breakfast. the breakfast was buffet style. nothing special but decent. i have zero complaints and enjoyed my stay. there is a funky local bar close by (walking distance).

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welch, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The second week of September 2013, my husband and I along with two other couples took a 3000 mile motorcycle trip some of which included the traveling of the Natchez Trace from Nashville, TN to Natchez, Mississippi. We arrived in Natchez on a hot and steamy evening. Not having been to Natchez before and wanting to stay near the Mississippi river, we headed to the downtown area. We came upon the Natchez Grand and decided to see if we could afford to stay a such a beautiful hotel. The rate was surprisingly affordable and the location perfect. The room was very nice and the bed very comfortable. That shower felt so good after a hot steamy day on motorcycle. A big bonus was the wonderful towels and very large bathroom. It was also very quiet as well. The breakfast in the morning was also very good and much more the we expected. Another bonus was the evening bartender, Bryan. He was a wealth of knowledge about the city, its history and also great places to eat, all close to the hotel. He was also a funny kind man who could make a great cocktail. The Grand is located across the street from the river walk along the Mississippi with beautiful daytime and night time views. All in all the Grand is worth a look see as well as the local nearby restaurants.

Room Tip: We stayed on the city side and it was very quiet and I would assume less expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

I attended a conference we had going on at the convention center that was located right across the street, the staff at the hotel and housekeepers are absolutely great and the breakfast was so good! I had to call my family and tell them how great the service was and the rooms oh my god they are really suites! Awesome!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Large suite with separate bedroom, great bath and roomy living area. Plus a kitchenette. Look out in the morning to see barge going up the Mississippi. Breakfast above average. A bit upscale for me but worth it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The hotel looks better online than in person. Only has a restaurant for breakfast and nothing for the rest of the day. It has a bar in the lobby that was unattended (closed I assume). I paid extra for a room facing the river however the windows are small and there is not much view. It took several trips back to the lobby to get a key that worked in my door. I am not sure why but the hotel was nearly empty.

Room Tip: Paid extra to have a view of the river - such a small window, i should have saved that money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Natchez Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natchez Grand Hotel

Address: 111 Broadway, Natchez, MS 39120 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Natchez Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Natchez Grand Hotel, formerly known as the Country Inn and Suites, was built brand new from the ground up and opened in 2008. The Natchez Grand Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Downtown Natchez with a magnificent view of the Mississippi River and walking distance to many downtown restaurants, shopping, attractions, and nightlife., The Natchez Grand Hotel offers a comfortable place to stay with friendly service and gracious amenities, and is the perfect place to host meetings, corporate retreats, social events and much more, with over 5,000 sq. ft. of meeting space. We invite everyone to be our guest and experience a "grand" stay while visiting Natchez, MS! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Natchez Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Natchez
Natchez Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natchez Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.