We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Natchez Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Natchez Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Natchez Grand Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Broadway, Natchez, MS 39120 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Natchez
Alabaster, Alabama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night en route to Lake Charles, LA. The location of this hotel could not possibly be better. The view of the river is beautiful. We were lucky enough that there was a Mardi Gras parade on the night we were there. We only had to walk to the corner to see the parade, catch beads and have fun. It was great. The bartender that was on duty that night was very helpful in finding a wonderful place nearby for dinner. He was personable and very friendly. Due to Mardi Gras, the lobby was festive. We found our room to be quiet and very comfortable. The breakfast (included in room rate) is very good for a hotel breakfast.

The cons: the desk clerks are not friendly at all, the in-room coffee is terrible and the duvet is very lumpy which gives the bed an unkempt appearance. Perhaps they need to lose the duvet.

Room Tip: Riverside - beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    104
    63
    11
    12
See reviews for
46
122
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after a very long day exploring the Natchez traceway and went in on spec!
The price was cheap and great value, check in was good and the staff friendly, parking was free.
The room was big with a huge bed which was very comfortable.
The best thing was the location, the room had spectacular views across the Mississippi in the morning and close to bars and restaurants.
After 5 days partying in Memphis and Nashville this was the perfect wind down en route to New Orleans.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany S, Director of Sales at Natchez Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We appreciate your positive feedback regarding our downtown location overlooking the mighty Mississippi River, our friendly staff, and spacious, comfortable guest rooms. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to our quaint city while traveling down the Natchez Trace. It would be our pleasure to host your stay during any future visits to Natchez. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
village mills,texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A Must See and definite A+ on location which is close to everything. Booked a Jr. King Suite with nice furnishings, on 3rd floor overlooking beautiful sunsets on the Miss.River. Comfortable beds, quiet/peaceful rooms.-- Walking distance to shops/restaurants, in fact, everyone is out walking downtown Natchez which makes this town very appealing. Civic Center across the street, walking path along the River right outside our room. Loved being able to leave my room & walk all over town soaking in all the sights. - Friendly, helpful staff. Complimentary wine at the bar 5-7pm, cookies available for guests during the day. Great complimentary breakfast with variety of foods 7am-10am.---helpful hint: get a room away from the elevators (heard a guest complain about too much noise by the elevator). also: river-view rooms are best, other side is facing parking lot and historic downtown. Parking is one large lot fenced in with black rod iron material and entire property sits on one city size block. Attractive appearance.

Room Tip: River-View rooms are best, 3rd or 4th floor for better sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchez, Louisiana
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Spent a couple of days in the Natchez area and decided to give this property a try.
Reservations were a breeze. Friendly staff upon arrival.The bar closed down early but the rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast area was nice and the food was good.
We left some items in the room and the Hotel contacted us even before we had missed them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabasha, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We traveled to Natchez in January 2013 on a whim when returning from a gulf coast trip. Stayed at the Grand Hotel and would encourage others to also give it a try. We liked; the view of the river (make sure you request a room looking at the river), laundry options to wash a load of clothes after a long trip, a WONDERFUL bartender named Beal that told us all about the area, nice room and good breakfast.
What we thought needed improvement; desk clerks that had the right personality for tourism-they were grumpy and very unwelcoming. We would also love to have an indoor pool or whirlpool. It was cold, rainy and not the best for outdoor swimming. We would return to this hotel and recommend it to others. We also enjoyed the visitors center movie for background on the area and don't miss Longwood and Stanton Hall.

Room Tip: Get one on the river side of the hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The grand reminded me of a motel, not a hote...... the room seemed clean but at the same time just not right. Walls were very thin, very noisy night. Not much sleep due to some type of disturbance next door. The hotel eventually called the police to escort the man out...... The soap dish was torn off of the tub wall and there was a nick in the tub. The grand hotel definitely did not live up to its name. Find some where else to stay or take your chance. It is in a good location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clane, Ireland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Not bad, but hardly Grand. A hotel that the visitor centre seems to recommend to everyone I reckon, but the reality was not a Grand old hotel on the river bank but a big modern function hotel just back from the bluffs. Having said that we had a wonderful view of the sun setting over the Mississippi from our room- though you had to peer a little through the rather dirty windows. The room was good, though and -except for the windows- very clean. The staff were really excellent also. The 9 am check out was a little disconcerting for those of us on holiday (most others there seemed to be at conventions). I noted someone saying that it is handy for downtown Natchez for its pretty shops etc. We booked in for 2 nights, decided one would do after a look Natchez and its downtown-and the hotel were excellent in not charging us for the second night, so I won't crib at a strange $7.95 charge that seems to be a charge appearing in a lot of hotels for something that should be part of the room cost. Again, to be fair, the room cost was very reasonable. We had a tour of Natchez the following day and there are some very good things to see (especially the William Johnson Museum, even though no-one would ever have heard of him), but the heart of the town- sadly- is running down and our decision to stay just the one night was right for us anyway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Natchez Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natchez Grand Hotel

Address: 111 Broadway, Natchez, MS 39120 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Natchez Grand Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Natchez Grand Hotel, formerly known as the Country Inn and Suites, was built brand new from the ground up and opened in 2008. The Natchez Grand Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Downtown Natchez with a magnificent view of the Mississippi River and walking distance to many downtown restaurants, shopping, attractions, and nightlife., The Natchez Grand Hotel offers a comfortable place to stay with friendly service and gracious amenities, and is the perfect place to host meetings, corporate retreats, social events and much more, with over 5,000 sq. ft. of meeting space. We invite everyone to be our guest and experience a "grand" stay while visiting Natchez, MS! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Natchez Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Natchez
Natchez Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natchez Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.