We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a historic house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez

Save Saved
You added Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Melrose Ave., Natchez, MS 39120   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Special!
Ranked #3 of 19 hotels in Natchez
Helden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a historic house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Unfortunately i just stayed one night in this beautiful historic hotel. You feel very welcome here. The rooms are decorated with antiques but everything you need is there. Large bathroom with amenities. The restaurant serves great food and the ambiance is romantic and beautiful. The breakfast in the garden room is also excellent. The hotel has a great and well maintained garden (park) with beautiful ponds and patios. It is a great place for a weekend escape or longer!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    61
    28
    12
    12
See reviews for
45
231
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at the Monmouth Plantation for 2 nights as part of a 2 week tour of the US. Before departing on our trip, we were expecting the Monmouth to be a real highlight, however it unfortunately did not live up to expectations...by a long way. I will list the negatives, and the positives (to be balanced) of our stay at the Monmouth:

Negatives:

1. We arrived at the Monmouth after a long drive from Memphis, and we were very tired. The check-in process was very long winded though. We just wanted to get to our room and relax, however we were given a lengthy run-through of the house, and Natchez by the porter. He was a very nice man, but we were tired and just wanted to relax at that point. It wasn't the time for this.

2. Whilst at the Monmouth, a wedding party was being held, with our first day being the 'bridal shower', followed by the actual wedding the next day. This caused us the following issues:
(a) we had booked a meal in the restaurant, however, because the bridal shower was being held in the dining room, we had to eat our meal in the bar-area. The meal was lovely (see below), but it was served in a totally unsuitable room; the sort of room you might have a casual drink in. The quality of the plate was not commensurate with the surroundings.
(b) loud music being played until 1am.

3. The breakfasts are of a very low quality. We had a traditional southern breakfast one morning, and it was so bland. The bread (which we toasted) tasted very cheap quality. The service was mixed. One young man was very good however.

4. Upon departure, when we were asked if we’d had a pleasant stay, we politely mentioned the loud music on our first night. The lady on reception said “yes, that was the wedding party…I always ring ahead when I book some place, to check that there isn’t a party that could cause noise”. We found this bizarre. It isn’t the guest’s responsibility to check in advance whether a party is being held. It’s the hotel’s responsibility to make their accommodation pleasant for all their guests.

Positives:

1. The restaurant meal (served in the bar) was actually very good. Shame it was not served in the dining room.
2. Some of the staff were very hospitable e.g. ‘Roosevelt’, and young man in the breakfast room.
3. There is good social interaction between the guests, The Monmouth has some nice friendly people staying there.
4. Our accommodation (wooden bungalow in the grounds with rocking chairs) was pleasant and cool.

Overall, the negatives far outweighed the positives though, and we were left feeling quite disappointed.

Room Tip: Ring ahead to check there's not a wedding being held! Avoid breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stopped for only one night before we started driving the Natchez Trace. Decided on Monmouth given its ratings. Would have been better off in one of the chain hotels closer to river and downtown. Location of hotel is not convenient to most attractions in Natchez. King room was comfortable, very clean and we had a good sleep. Room was worn however, with even some paint starting to bubble and crack. Absolutely the minimum lighting in room itself, bathroom lighting was okay. Parking and pathways are not paved so tendency to get mud on shoes and luggage wheels. Breakfast was in large hall room with poor ambiance even though they tried with white table clothes etc. Breakfast selection was poor compared to what available in chain hotels. Could not take advantage of dinner in the hotel's reputable dinning restaurant as all we had were are traveling clothes and we did not pack "business casual".

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy R, Owner at Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
I am so sorry Monmouth did not reach your expectations. You did indeed stay at the wrong hotel.
Monmouth is an experience not just a stopover. You mentioned that you were not near the attractions of Natchez and you were staying in one of the most famous attractions of all. We are a National Historic Landmark. I do hope you took our tour included in your room price. I also hope you walk our beautiful gardens and ponds.
I do not know what to say about breakfast. We include a great Southern Breakfast with grits, eggs anyway, sausage and bacon or ham and wonderful homemade biscuits. We also offer a cold bar with homemade granola, yogurt and fresh fruit and juices to enjoy before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

As many other reviewers have observed, Monmouth is close to perfection. Therefore it is unfortunate that I can only rate it 4 star.
The flaw, and loss of a star, relates to probably the worst service experience I have ever encountered in 50 years of travel to over 100 countries. I discussed the particularly malevolent server responsible with the owner, Nancy, who listened carefully and apologised. It is to be hoped that corrective action will prevent a recurrence which would undermine the hotel's reputation.
Apart from this, Monmouth has charming staff, beautiful grounds and accommodation (in room 46 complete with 4 poster bed) to match.
There are plans to install safe boxes in the rooms and perhaps a pool, which would make the property even more delightful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester,England
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed three nights here in early July and it was a great choice for Natchez. The Inn is a old pre-Civil War house with beautiful gardens and quaint cottages scattered amongst the grounds. We had a large cottage near the main house with a porch overlooking a small lake. It was idyllic! Four poster bed, two wash basins, separate bath and shower. The house is historic of course and you receive a free tour. The restaurant 1816 is pricey but very elegant in the main house dining room - good service and fine food (which is not always easy to get in Southern USA with the love of fast food). The resort is a short distance outside town but well placed for visiting other houses which are numerous. Natchez is a lovely town, very quiet and historic. Try the horse drawn carriage tour just $15 for over an hour with very knowledgeable and funny guide. Not many decent restaurants - portions too large and covered with ubiquitous sauces. Magnolia Grill down on the river side was best of the bunch. Nearby Vicksburg well worth visiting if you are interested in the Civil War - well kept monumental park and battlefield. A word finally for the staff at Monmouth - nothing was too much trouble, very nice people, homely and proud of thier town and hotel. Would highly recommend Monmouth, it was the highlight of our Southern road tour.

Room Tip: Go for a garden cottage nearest the house with four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Monmouth Plantation was an oasis for us. Quiet, relaxing, beautiful rooms, friendly and welcoming hosts. Next time I will stay longer. We stayed in a cottage off by itself by a little pond. Beds were super comfortable, rooms were spacious and beautiful decorated. I felt I had gone back in time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy R, Owner at Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Than you for your wonderful review. Our guests love to spend time here walking the gardens and sitting by the ponds especially after a day of touring Natchez.

Thank you for choosing Monmouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Beautiful old opulent hotel.We stayed here one night and it was faultless.The main building has been superbly restored and the furnishings are grand. We had a little timber cottage on the property to stay in which was great. The gardens are beautifully manicured even had a lake which added to the peaceful surroundings.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez

Address: 36 Melrose Ave., Natchez, MS 39120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MONMOUTH HISTORIC INN was built in 1818, and is a National Historic Landmark. As a charter member of Southern Living’s Hotel Collection, Monmouth is the perfect choice for travelers seeking an authentic southern travel experience. Wake up each morning to the aroma of a full Southern style breakfast, then take a tour of the magnificent mansion before exploring the grounds and all 26 beautifully landscaped acres. As the sun sets on the picturesque surroundings, relax on the veranda with a Mint Julep and complimentary hors d’oeuvres. In the evening, enjoy fine dining at the award winning “Restaurant 1818” in the antebellum home. As the end of the day draws near, retire to one of the 16 luxury suites or 14 elegantly appointed rooms, where a turned down bed and sweet dreams await! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monmouth Plantation Natchez Hotel Natchez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.