We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez

Save Saved
You added Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Melrose Ave., Natchez, MS 39120   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Special!
Ranked #3 of 19 hotels in Natchez
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Serene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Beautiful old opulent hotel.We stayed here one night and it was faultless.The main building has been superbly restored and the furnishings are grand. We had a little timber cottage on the property to stay in which was great. The gardens are beautifully manicured even had a lake which added to the peaceful surroundings.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    290
    57
    28
    12
    12
See reviews for
43
225
13
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at the plantation after one night at a downtown hotel that was not very good. We have been all through the homes from Louisiana to the Carolinas.
We stayed in one of the cottages and it was homey and beautiful . Check in was a breeze and the
House and grounds oozed of days gone by. George the bartender was great
and very proud of his city. We fell in love with Natchez and it is everything Charlseton is, just smaller. We would give it 41/2 stars only due because the breakfast was fair and the one waiter was overworked. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I recently spent two nights at the Monmouth Plantation In Natchez and we loved it. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, the accommodations first rate, there is a formal dining room as well as casual dining, and a sumptuous hot and cold breakfast is served every morning. The grounds are spectacular and it's located very close to the shops and restaurants downtown. The owner, Nancy, is available to talk to and we enjoyed a cocktail and dinner with her for one of our dinners.

Room Tip: All rooms are off the highway and very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
380 reviews 380 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Monmouth Plantation in Natchez must be what Tara was in the classic movie of the Old South, Gone With The Wind. We have stayed at Monmouth on two occasions, most recently for three days in Eliza's suite that features a large bedroom, large parlor and two baths on the second floor. Eat your heart out, Scarlett O'Hara. Monmouth has changed quite a bit since our last stay. The new owners have added the very posh 1818 restaurant, perhaps the best dining experience in Natchez. There are more rooms and a very expansive breakfast facility that is separate from the Big House. During our visit, a large contingent of English tourists stopped for a night, dinner and breakfast. Monmouth is close to all of the exciting attractions in Natchez. It includes wonderful gardens. Roosevelt tends bar from 3 to 10. Visitors enjoy drinks and snacks prior to dinner. Breakfast is tasty and plentiful. Even the grits taste good. Monmouth dates to the early 1800s and is the grande dame of the antebellum mansions that cover the landscape. If you have to pick one place to stay for one night or three, Monmouth is your best bet.

Room Tip: If you are looking for Clark Gable/Scarlett O'Hara luxury, choose Eliza's Suite. You can fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, Mississippi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

From the moment we arrived to checking out, the staff and accommodations were fantastic.
Always pleasant, making sure we were taken care of. Beautiful grounds, quite atmospher, and perfect for a restful time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at the Monmouth Plantation for one night. The place was almost charming. I stayed in the main house upstairs 2nd floor in the room on the right at the front of the house. It was shabby chic - not what I expected from a 4 diamond place. The room was underwhelming and I had been excited for an antebellum feel. But what I felt was wondering if the room was clean. The bathtub had black mold around the interior - so gross. I told them about it but they were disinterested. The bathroom was tiny for two people and up a step. I kind of felt like I got a bottom of the category room and it was in the antebellum category. It felt like a standard or below type room. The grounds are lovely and the breakfast was yummy. But I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Read all of the reviews - but they won't confirm the room only the room type. Just stay somewher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

At the last minute we made reservations here on a cross country road trip. From the minute we drove up to the Inn, we began to relax. The staff was most pleasant and our room was a special treat that evoked visions from the 1800's, but with many modern conveniences in the bathroom. Hair dryer, etc. Dinner was in the Main dining room with other guests at the antique table. A lively conversation with travelers from many places in the country. The grounds and gardens were lovely and relaxing, and breakfast in the "Garden Room" was delightful. Of course the weather made the entire site a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend this Inn.

Room Tip: Cottages look private and special
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez

Address: 36 Melrose Ave., Natchez, MS 39120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MONMOUTH HISTORIC INN was built in 1818, and is a National Historic Landmark. As a charter member of Southern Living’s Hotel Collection, Monmouth is the perfect choice for travelers seeking an authentic southern travel experience. Wake up each morning to the aroma of a full Southern style breakfast, then take a tour of the magnificent mansion before exploring the grounds and all 26 beautifully landscaped acres. As the sun sets on the picturesque surroundings, relax on the veranda with a Mint Julep and complimentary hors d’oeuvres. In the evening, enjoy fine dining at the award winning “Restaurant 1818” in the antebellum home. As the end of the day draws near, retire to one of the 16 luxury suites or 14 elegantly appointed rooms, where a turned down bed and sweet dreams await! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monmouth Plantation Natchez Hotel Natchez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.