We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Needed Rest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez

Save Saved
You added Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Melrose Ave., Natchez, MS 39120   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Special!
Ranked #3 of 19 hotels in Natchez
Lumberton, Mississippi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Much Needed Rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

From the moment we arrived to checking out, the staff and accommodations were fantastic.
Always pleasant, making sure we were taken care of. Beautiful grounds, quite atmospher, and perfect for a restful time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    285
    57
    28
    12
    12
See reviews for
43
221
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at the Monmouth Plantation for one night. The place was almost charming. I stayed in the main house upstairs 2nd floor in the room on the right at the front of the house. It was shabby chic - not what I expected from a 4 diamond place. The room was underwhelming and I had been excited for an antebellum feel. But what I felt was wondering if the room was clean. The bathtub had black mold around the interior - so gross. I told them about it but they were disinterested. The bathroom was tiny for two people and up a step. I kind of felt like I got a bottom of the category room and it was in the antebellum category. It felt like a standard or below type room. The grounds are lovely and the breakfast was yummy. But I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Read all of the reviews - but they won't confirm the room only the room type. Just stay somewher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

At the last minute we made reservations here on a cross country road trip. From the minute we drove up to the Inn, we began to relax. The staff was most pleasant and our room was a special treat that evoked visions from the 1800's, but with many modern conveniences in the bathroom. Hair dryer, etc. Dinner was in the Main dining room with other guests at the antique table. A lively conversation with travelers from many places in the country. The grounds and gardens were lovely and relaxing, and breakfast in the "Garden Room" was delightful. Of course the weather made the entire site a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend this Inn.

Room Tip: Cottages look private and special
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Elegant buildings – exquisite antique furniture – gracious bedrooms – fine dining restaurant – landscaped grounds – what more do you want? Well, value for money I guess. Did it deliver? On balance, yes. We paid $600 with tax for 2 nights in an upstairs suite with a king bed and separate sitting room and large bathroom (with walk-in shower) located in an external building away from the main house. I’d say, given the relaxed and charming surroundings, it was probably worth the money. The on site restaurant 1818 is splendid and the barman, called Roosevelt the night we stayed, made heroic mint juleps. The breakfast was the best I had out of 5 different hotels I visited on our trip around Mississippi and Louisiana. Incidentally, a car is a must as the inn is some distance from Natchez center. However, Monmouth definitely has the feel good factor and worth the price for unbridled luxury. And by the way - they like to call it Monmouth Historic Inn not Monmouth Plantation!!.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Monmouth plantation has pretty grounds but is not worth the price. The overall feel is gimmicky. We stayed for one night in May in a deluxe suite. The room was clean. Yet, the television was out of date and the bed was uncomfortable. We ordered room service and had a bad experience. Our salads tasted fishy yet we ordered chicken. Our food came late and the cheesecake as subpar. The parking next to our suite was also tight which we did not appreciate. If we had to do it again, we would have stayed closer to downtown for a better value at a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We live about 100 miles away and visited Natchez this week for a short break staying at the Monmouth Plantation for the first time. From the very welcoming check-in to the equally warm check-out , the whole experience was wonderful. We stayed in one of the cottages away from the main house - it was very comfortable, king bed & first class en suite bathroom - AC was quiet and effective . We had an excellent dinner at the reasonably priced 1818 restaurant and hearty breakfast which incidentally is included in the room rate.
If you are looking for a peaceful location with interesting history and charming attentive staff Monmouth Plantation is the place to go - we will be back..

Room Tip: Set in 25+ acres of wooden grounds all of the accommodations offer good locations - we stayed in a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deinze
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Superbly restored mansion dating back to 1818. We were treated like very honourable guests in a unique historic property. Very well managed with a friendly staff. Hotel, restaurant, gardens ... all competing for the best experience ever. What a treat!
Sure "the" place to go while staying in Natchez if you can spend an extra dollar for an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house are of a superb quality and worth the extra pay. The gardens are magnifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez

Address: 36 Melrose Ave., Natchez, MS 39120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MONMOUTH HISTORIC INN was built in 1818, and is a National Historic Landmark. As a charter member of Southern Living’s Hotel Collection, Monmouth is the perfect choice for travelers seeking an authentic southern travel experience. Wake up each morning to the aroma of a full Southern style breakfast, then take a tour of the magnificent mansion before exploring the grounds and all 26 beautifully landscaped acres. As the sun sets on the picturesque surroundings, relax on the veranda with a Mint Julep and complimentary hors d’oeuvres. In the evening, enjoy fine dining at the award winning “Restaurant 1818” in the antebellum home. As the end of the day draws near, retire to one of the 16 luxury suites or 14 elegantly appointed rooms, where a turned down bed and sweet dreams await! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monmouth Plantation Natchez Hotel Natchez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.