We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful setting, hospitality, and breakfasts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Oak Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Oak Hill Inn
Save
You added Historic Oak Hill Inn to your Saves list
409 South Rankin, Natchez, MS 39120   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Mint Julep
Ranked #1 of 37 Natchez B&B and Inns
Sandersville, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wonderful setting, hospitality, and breakfasts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

I had done my research on places to stay in Natchez before going, and it paid off. Oak Hill is perfectly situated in the historic district, so walk out the door to all Natchez has to offer. I cannot say enough about the fabulous food served so beautifully at breakfast. Doug Mauro, the owner, is as passionate about fresh, local foods (the eggs and homemade sausages are from a nearby farm) as he is about touting Natchez's many charms. If you are really lucky, Doug will share his recipe for creme brulee french toast!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
88
320
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

From the moment that we stepped onto the beautiful front porch and into the grand hallway filled with priceless antiques, we could not wait to explore the rest of the home. Our charming host provided us with an outstanding goumet breakfast and accommodations. This B&B is in the same category as some of the best 5 star hotels and Inns in the US and Europe which I have stayed.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

A friend from London was visiting and I wanted him to see this gem of a town, Natchez. I selected Historic Oak Hill Inn because of its proximity to many of the old ante bellum homes. To find that this was a really wonderful place to stay and enjoy the fantastic breakfasts was more that I could possibly have anticipated. My rather relaxed English friend - a professional photographer - left one morning to catch a few of the sights and was not heard of again until late afternoon. This is the best accomodation that I have had the pleasure of staying in since I visited overnight at Inverlochy Castle in Scotland. Bravissimo to the owners!

AC
New Orleans, Louisiana

  • Liked — Beauty of the facility and the brealkfasts.
  • Disliked — Having to leave.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
racingdoc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. Although is was quite late secondary to delays, our hosts offered us some hot coffee and pastries upon our arrival. Breakfast was impecaable and the aroma of freshly brewed coffee and freshly baked almond scones was incredible.
Entire B&B was spotless, even the doorknobs had a shine to them. Availabilty is a key element in these B&Bs. The staff was responsive to our every needs. My bride of twenty years really thought she was our honeymoon. Romance was in the air at Oak Hill. This destination is an absolute must for anyone looking to share valuable time with a dash of comfort especially with a loved one. We were even treated to a tour of the orginal greenhouse attached to the property.
Oak Hill gives a new meaning to Southern Comfort at its best

  • Liked — great breakfast, fresh pastries and great coffee
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RANCHO MIRAGE, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

I don't know what more I can say that's not already been said, but my stay at Oak Hill in Natchez was superb. From the beautiful flowers in my guestroom to the fabulous breakfast of eggs benedict (best I've ever had), creme brulee french toast and fresh fruit, to the hospitality of the owners and their wonderful friends, and on and on. If you are looking for an intimate B&B that's done right this is it. No need to look any further. It is very convenient to downtown and within walking distance of almost everything. Also, very reasonably priced. Have a great visit.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, FL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

Oak Hill Inn provided an experience seldom seen in the travel world these days. We have stayed in some of the best hotels in Europe, the South Pacific, and the US and found that our hosts at Oak Hill provide an extremely high level of service, meticulous attention to detail, and true warm hospitality that equals that of properties that charge ten times the rate of Oak Hill.
Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by Doug Mauro, one of our hosts, with still-warm-from -the-oven homemade chocolate chunk cookies that would make Martha Stewart jealous. They were accompanied by freshly brewed iced tea with mint grown just steps away from Oak Hill's kitchen door.
Our suite was unexpectedly lavish, yet perfectly decorated with period furniture, not reproductions, as is the entire home. The teester bed was adorned with silkly smooth bed linens and the room was fragrant with freshly cut flowers from the garden that Doug loving tends daily. I don't know where he gets the energy! The black granite step-in shower was a real surprise, big enough to park a compact car in! Immaculately clean as well.
Breakfast at Oak Hill is an experience to not be missed. Freshly cut camelias, Old Paris china, lead crystal stemware, and silver flatware make breakfast a truly special occasion. I am a professional chef and have been for 25 years. I have to say the Creme Brulee French Toast and thickly cut wood-smoked bacon was definitely one the best breakfasts I've ever eaten. Our host Doug was there to serve us graciously while his partner, Don did the cooking. Everything was hot, cooked to order, fresh, and elegantly served. So many B and B's and high end hotels fall far short in this department, but these guys really put the word breakfast in Bed and Breakfast.
Oh, by the way, the house is gorgeous and won an award from the local historical society for the work Doug and Don did to faithfully restore this gem of a house.
I can't wait to go back soon and visit Natchez and Oak Hill Inn.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

We spent the Christmas holidays with our son and daughter-in-law
at the Oak Hill Inn. There are simply no words to describe the graciousness, the superb food, and the elegance of this bed and breakfast. The hosts, Doug and Don, are unbelievable!! It is interesting when you spend Christmas with pretty much strangers,
and it turns out to be one of your most memorable times. Doug made sure we had reservations for Christmas Eve and Christmas
Day dinners. Our daughter-in-law, who is an interior designer, was in hog heaven with all the lovely antiques in the house and all the accurate explanation of the antiques. The grounds of Oak Hill are exquisite, and the household cats are adorable. We absolutely recommend it, and we are looking forward to our next visit. Good job, Doug and Don.


Bill and Joyce - Sugar Land, Texas

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Oak Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Oak Hill Inn

Address: 409 South Rankin, Natchez, MS 39120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored antebellum home built in 1835. Oak hill sits on a beautiful acre of gardens ans fountains in the historic garden district. The front of this mansion was built facing the Mississippi River for wonderful breezes. Guests can relax on the veranda or on the courtyard. A gourmet breakfast is served in the original Dining room under an 1850s Waterford crystal gasolier. Guests are greeted with homemade chocolate chip cookies iced tea and complementary soft drinks and mint juleps. Rooms are spacious and decorated with period antiques. There is a library guests can use with thousands of books, many Natchez related. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Oak Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.