We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in Natchez!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Oak Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Oak Hill Inn
Save
You added Historic Oak Hill Inn to your Saves list
409 South Rankin, Natchez, MS 39120   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Mint Julep
Ranked #1 of 37 Natchez B&B and Inns
Natchez, Mississippi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best place in Natchez!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This a very beautiful B & B! We had an amazing breakfast and felt right at home. Doug and Don are very nice hosts and we definitly recommend this B&B. We have been there a few times and enjoy it every time!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
88
320
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
McComb, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was our first time to stay at a B & B and we are so glad we chose this one ! It was also special because it was our 7th wedding anniversary. I love to take pictures and spent our first few moments there taking picture of the beautiful rooms and grounds. We were the only guests there when we arrived so I was able to view all the rooms. They were all equally beautiful decorated. The host Don was very gracious and helpful with his suggestions of what to do during our stay. The breakfast was delicious as were the complimentary cookies. I would highly recommend this B & B for anyone looking to stay for an anniversary weekend or for an overnight stay to tour Natchez.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Grove, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My husband and I highly recommend this B and B.The home is beautifully restored with an amazing collection of furniture and fixtures that have great history with the pieces. Don and Doug were gracious hosts, and we felt very welcomed into their home. We stayed two nights, and the breakfasts were excellent. Doug is wonderful historian and gave as much if not more information on the surrounding homes as the tour guides. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: The upstairs has 2 bedrooms but 1 bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We recently spent some time at the Historic Oak Hill Inn; the home and the proprietors were gracious and lovely! The antiques were elegant, yet comfortable; we never felt as though we were in a museum, but rather as though we were experiencing the living south. Our hosts were very personable and very enthusiastic about discussing their precious family heirlooms.
Our breakfast was leisurely, fresh and delicious. It was served in a beautifiul dining room with antique wall paper panels.
The entire experience was a delight!
Rudy R.
Metairie, LA

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The Historic Oak Hill Inn is a lovingly restored home in "downtown" Natchez. The Inn was immaculately clean. The breakfast was first rate, very plentiful, and gormet. Don, the host, was helpful and cordial.. He provided several suggestions on both dining and mansions to visit. A delicious mint julep was provided upon arrival (or a glass of chardonnay). Homebaked cookies, water, and beer was also available. Covered, off the street parking (behind the house) is also available. Great stay and highly recommended.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms and they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 2 night "baby moon" in Natchez, MS. The Oak Hill Inn was everything we could have hoped for and more. The house is beautiful and Don is a wonderful host. The 2 breakfasts we had there were probably some of the best meals we had in Natchez. Don helped us make reservations at The Castle Restaurance, which was also a great suggestion. We would go back in a second!!! Worth every penny and a great value too! Thanks again for a great stay.

Room Tip: The Beatty suite downstairs is absolutely beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keithville, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

It’s been a week since my wife and I celebrated our 25th anniversary with a 2-night stay at the Historic Oak Hill Inn. I’ve been waiting for the words to come to me but I’m just not that good a writer so I’ll just say it as it comes to me. It was the best. It was the best B&B we’ve ever stayed at, and it was the best vacation we’ve ever taken, even though it was brief.

When we checked into the main suite downstairs, there were fresh double-chocolate cookies for us to sneak a snack, out by the coffee area. There was a fresh cut magnolia bloom in a vase on the side board, and orchids on the main table. It was quiet, hearing only the water fountain outside. Above all, it was elegant. Walking into our room, it looked like we were the first couple to ever stay there. It was clean to the point of being perfectly immaculate, even by my wife’s high standards. Nothing was worn or even slightly cheap looking; it looked like a place you would decorate if you had perfect taste and an unlimited budget. There was a fresh cut magnolia bloom by the bed side along with truffles, and the décor is period-perfect for an 1830 antebellum home, as well as just strikingly beautiful. If this house was decorated this nicely in 1830 the owner would’ve been held in very high esteem, and that’s the way we felt by staying there: special. It was a live-in antique, but at the same time comfortable and homey. It was kind of like visiting that great-great aunt who passed along stories told her by her father her about the civil war days.

The owner, Donald, was very friendly and helpful in our sightseeing efforts, and he invited us to read the books in the library, and we did. After a morning of touring the city’s sites, many of which he pointed out are within easy walking distance of this inn, we cooled off in the comfortably cool A/C while reading a book of ghost stories (no ghosts in this house though – just in the books). Then we took a walk to the malt shop located just 375 feet from the inn, and got chocolate-vanilla twist soft serve cones and ate them on the way back “home” as the soft afternoon rain began to fall through the sunshine. Summer in Natchez is so enveloping in its sultriness, it adds to the authenticity of the experience of visiting a city so steeped in American history. It was magical, old fashioned, and very comfortable. We finished off the ice cream while sitting on the back patio, listening to the fountain drops fall into the koi pond, and watching the Inn’s pet cats play on the bricks.

We slept extremely well on the fine soft sheets and soft-top memory foam mattress. Maybe the best bed I’ve ever slept on. Breakfast was a masterpiece. No, we are not related to Donald and he’s not paying us to say this. It was both beautiful and delicious. There was fresh fruit in a cut crystal glass, peach French toast with a crumbly coffee cake-like top with butter and a choice of warm syrup or preserves, a small omelet, crispy bacon, a fresh homemade biscuit, fresh juice and coffee, banana nut muffins, oh my gosh what did I leave out. There was so much but every bit of it was so good we didn’t want to leave anything on the plate. If someone were allergic to one food item or just didn’t want it, there is still enough there to fill up on five-star treats while leaving something on the table. The second morning everything was different but equally delicious. This has to be a major effort for Donald, but we didn’t see any stress. We just felt welcomed by the owner. There are a lot of good reasons why Tripadvisor shows this as the top-rated B&B in Natchez. We are going to return here. It is a really great inn.

Room Tip: The main suite is the most grand, and saves going up stairs. The two upstairs rooms share a bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Oak Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Oak Hill Inn

Address: 409 South Rankin, Natchez, MS 39120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored antebellum home built in 1835. Oak hill sits on a beautiful acre of gardens ans fountains in the historic garden district. The front of this mansion was built facing the Mississippi River for wonderful breezes. Guests can relax on the veranda or on the courtyard. A gourmet breakfast is served in the original Dining room under an 1850s Waterford crystal gasolier. Guests are greeted with homemade chocolate chip cookies iced tea and complementary soft drinks and mint juleps. Rooms are spacious and decorated with period antiques. There is a library guests can use with thousands of books, many Natchez related. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Oak Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.