We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Amazing Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Oak Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Oak Hill Inn
Save
You added Historic Oak Hill Inn to your Saves list
409 South Rankin, Natchez, MS 39120   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Mint Julep
Ranked #1 of 37 Natchez B&B and Inns
Natchitoches, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Place, Amazing Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our 3rd anniversary on our first trip to Natchez and coincidentally, our first B&B stay.

The home is beautiful, the furnishings are amazing (especially those of personal significance to the owner) and the breakfast--as many have commented--is superb. In fact, the best food we experienced in Natchez was breakfast at the Inn, both mornings.

If breakfast was the best, mint juleps at five on the porch (or lush patio) would be a close second.

We highly recommend!

Room Tip: The main suite provides less privacy than upstairs, but is wonderfully appointed and the bathroom (s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakhillinn, Owner at Historic Oak Hill Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello,
we sure appreciate you taking the time to write our 402 five star review and hope you return to Oak Hill some day soon. As far as the room tip saying the upstairs is more private than our Main Suite is simply not true. Most of our guests chooses Historic Oak Hill for its elegant QUIET privacy. Our B&B has only 3 guest rooms which most people love. Your room is one of the most beautiful rooms in Natchez with a fireplace, all period furnitue and a LARGE bathroom with a large rainfall shower. A half tester bed that goes up 14 feet with large windows that look out to almost an acre of private gardens. The 10 foot doorways and 2 inch thick doors afford all the quiet privacy one needs. These guests did mention that it was their first B&B expierience so I can understand the difference between a Hotel and B&B. the wall that runs along our 60 ft. center hall is over four feet thick because there is a closet there. The rooms are so far appart that it is extremely private. My living Quarters are in the back part of the home to afford even more privacy. Surrounded by mature moss draped trees and garden and fountains make it feel you are out in the country. Thank you Doug Mauro Historic Oak Hill Natchez M.S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
88
320
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I want to say that I would travel to Natchez just to stay in this bed and breakfast. The room was comfortable and airy, and the breakfasts were simply the best my wife and I have ever had at any bed and breakfast. Doug and Donald were the perfect hosts with excellent suggestions about restaurants and sites to visit. The tour of their house with its numerous antiques was a highlight of our trip. Their hospitality made this a superb place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairieville, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

What a wonderful visit we had to Natchez thanks to our choice to stay at Oak Hill. The house was beautiful and the garden was worthy of any magazine. Our visit began with fabulous cookies and the best mint juleps. The owners were very welcoming and shared many tips with us. Our stay was capped off by a delicious breakfast that rivaled any of the fine dining establishments that we have visited - and we are from Louisiana so that is saying a lot! Thank you Doug and Don for making our anniversary trip extra special!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Everywhere you go in Natchez is imbued with an air of nostalgia, but rare is the accommodation that puts you right in the middle of this history. Oak Hill is one of these rare properties. My wife and I stayed at Oak Hill for our anniversary, and we loved every moment. The inn came highly recommended by work associates, and now we know why! Despite being a tad late on arrival, Doug whipped up a couple of icy mint juleps as we took in the soft evening air. Quick to offer a chocolate cookie and assist with dinner reservations, our gracious host got our evening off to a great start. We were pleased with the spacious, modern bathroom, which made it easy to get ready for dinner. We slept soundly in our room, notwithstanding the quiet, charming creaks of this nearly 180 year old house.

We woke with the sun the following morning, and lounged on the antique furniture in our room. Hot coffee was ready early, and we peeked outside at the humid dawn. At 8:30, breakfast was served in the main dining room, and it was outstanding. Sweet, savory, and always decadent, the meal was served on antique china, complementing the beautiful decor. Doug was our gracious host at breakfast, regaling us with stories of both the house and Natchez. After we finished, he guided us around the property with a comprehensive and complimentary tour. The house is full of beautiful historic pieces from the world over, each with a unique story. Despite this, the pieces feel very much part of the house, not exhibits behind museum glass.

A trip to Natchez is very much a journey back in time, and a stay at the Historic Oak Hill Inn only adds to this feeling. Some B&Bs allude to this history, while others boast an impressive collection of antiques that they keep safely out of the reach of guests. Oak Hill puts visitors right in the middle of this history, exposing you to the sights, sounds, and mystery of the Old South, and addressing your every need along the way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is definitely the place to stay when visiting Natchez. The house is out of this world fantastic as is the surrounding gardens. All the rooms are decked with original antique furniture and the beds themselves are very comfortable. Particular highlights were the Mint Julep cocktails served in the afternoon on the outside patio, the fantastic cooked breakfast of Eggs Benedict and French toast, and the optional tour of the house which was a real treat. Thank you Doug and Don for such a lovely stay. Our only regret is that we could not stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

When making travel plans for Natchez, Mississippi, Oak Hill Inn is a must if you are looking for perfect bed and breakfast accommodations. The house has been beautifully restored and the grounds are meticulously maintained. The back patio is a perfect place to sip one of their cool mint juleps and relax to sound of the fountain flowing into the fish pond. If you re lucky, Evangeline the cat will stop by for a visit. Our room on the main floor was spotless and very comfortable. And the breakfast - oh my! Doug and Don are consummate hosts and have created a delightful haven for the traveler. I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Historic Oak Hill has the top "Fab 5" of classic bed and breakfasts: fantastic food, fascinating history, friendly conversations, fantastic tips for what to do and where to eat, and flourishing and beautiful gardens. Oops, make that six fabs: the fountains that start pouring forth their soothing sounds from the time you park in the car port until you get to the garden and back door.We had such a good time with the owners; they are what B & B hosts/ owners should be.

My only regret was that we didn't book soon enough so that we could stay there all three nights instead of having to stay at another B & B the last night. They have been recognized as best B & B in Natchez. I concur whole heartedly. Oak Hill is the place to be in Natchez.

Room Tip: Master Suite on first floor is fabulous. My favorite guest room in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Oak Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Oak Hill Inn

Address: 409 South Rankin, Natchez, MS 39120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored antebellum home built in 1835. Oak hill sits on a beautiful acre of gardens ans fountains in the historic garden district. The front of this mansion was built facing the Mississippi River for wonderful breezes. Guests can relax on the veranda or on the courtyard. A gourmet breakfast is served in the original Dining room under an 1850s Waterford crystal gasolier. Guests are greeted with homemade chocolate chip cookies iced tea and complementary soft drinks and mint juleps. Rooms are spacious and decorated with period antiques. There is a library guests can use with thousands of books, many Natchez related. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Oak Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.