We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Bed and Breakfast experience is a success!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Oak Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Oak Hill Inn
Save Saved
You added Historic Oak Hill Inn to your Saves list
409 South Rankin, Natchez, MS 39120   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Mint Julep
Ranked #1 of 35 Natchez B&B and Inns
United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“1st Bed and Breakfast experience is a success!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Wonderful place, great people, awesome food, and cool town. We will definitely be visiting again! The breakfast was top notch and served on extremely beautiful pieces from the 1800s. It's close to downtown and other tour homes. The mint juleps are one of a kind, made with mint grown on the property.

Room Tip: Master bedroom (if available) is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
86
312
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Mississippi, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a weekend at Oak Hill and loved every minute of it. Doug and Don are incredibly gracious hosts and are genuinely concerned with making sure their guests have the best possible B&B experience in Natchez. As far as I am concerned, Oak Hill is the only B&B in Natchez. Once you've stayed at Oak Hill, it's difficult to imagine any other B&B delivering the same experience. Doug greeted us upon our arrival, showed us to our room, and since it was already somewhat late, helped us locate a good local restaurant that was still open. The breakfast experience each morning was INCREDIBLE. No lie, these were the two best breakfasts I have ever had. Also, the room you eat in is the original dining room of the house, which was built in 1835, and you will be dining with on plates that all from the period. It's pretty awesome. Doug sat with us during breakfast and is available to answer any questions and he provided us with a very interesting tour of the house after breakfast. The house itself is amazing, but I'll let Doug be the one to tell you all of the interesting things once you get there. Doug was also available to help make sure that our time in Natchez was filled first-rate experiences and that not a second would be wasted. I can't recommend Oak Hill highly enough if you are thinking about going to Natchez.

Jordan Miller
Madison, MS

Room Tip: The original master downstairs is a great room, I would probably ask for that first. If it's not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I went for a night away. It was exactly what we needed. Gracious hosts from the minute we walked in the door. So many wonderful antiques, great breakfast, comfortable room, wonderful tour of the house, it was perfect. Thank you so much!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We spent two nights at Oak Hill. The owners have restored and furnished the historic home to perfection. They have thought of everything when it comes to the comfort of their guests. The room and bath was impeccable and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and oh so properly served in their lovely dining room. Loved the welcoming Mint Julep and glass of wine. Doug's tour of the property was enlightening and so interesting. I don't think we have stayed in a lovelier inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this relaxing and beautiful B&B. The property is really well maintained and the home is just lovely. We stayed in the largest room on the main floor and we felt at home to enjoy our space as well as the outdoor patio and the library. We have traveled extensively and this is one of the top 3 B&Bs we have stayed in. The room was VERY clean. The bathroom was VERY clean. Drinks and cookies in the afternoon were yummy. Breakfast was homemade and delicious. I greatly appreciated the extra details and the house tour we were given by Doug. Thank you for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: The room on the main floor has the nicest bathroom. However, if you are traveling with a small grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My wife and I spent the Sunday before MLK and MLK morning at the Inn. Complementary drinks in the afternoon, wonderful breakfast. Located in a very quite area. We hope to return soon! I must say, I was very impressed with the historical antiques that Doug and Don have assembled.

Thank you!

Stuart & Jessica

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at this fabulous B&B on the 26th of December for 1 night during our 3 weeks USA trip (sorry for the late review).
This is without a doubt one of the best B&B we've ever stayed in; whoever ask us about our 3 weeks trip highlight, the Historic Oak Hill Inn is part of our answer.
It's also really good value for what you get.

THE BEDROOM:
We stayed in the downstairs bedroom, which is absolutely stunning; it felt like we were back in time of "gone with the wind" but with all the mod cons of today. The bed itself is outstanding, and very comfy with a memory foam mattress.
The room is very quiet and very spacious indeed, and so is the beautiful en suite bathroom.

THE HOUSE:
We loved the house; we were given a tour of this beautiful Inn and frankly, it was better than the tour we got from one of the famous antebellum in town!
The fact that a lot of the antiques are part of Doug's family makes it so personal, we really enjoyed it. It was very interesting and such a beautiful collection!
The breakfast room with the beautiful porcelain collection was special.

THE HOSTS:
Doug & Don were the perfect hosts. As soon as we arrived, we felt welcome. There was a cookie jar (yummy!!!) and we were offered a lovely glass of pinot noir, which we later enjoyed in the library with the other guests.
I like the fact that the owners are so proud of their home, and so they should be, as they worked so hard on it...and it shows.
Very friendly service, very knowledgeable, I could have talked to them all day about the history of the place!

THE BREAKFAST:
The Best breakfast we have ever had in a B&B!!! the fact it is served in original 1800's plates and silver cutlery somehow makes it special too.
But the food...we had eggs benedict, which frankly were the best I've tasted, pecan bread pudding souffle, and a lovely strawberry fruit salad. It was fresh & very tasty indeed. Just perfect!

So thank you Doug & Don for having such a beautiful Inn, it was definitely worth the overnight trip from New Orleans, and we hope to see you on our next trip to this part of the world.

Rachel & Grant van der Horst

Room Tip: THe rooms upstairs are lovely, but the downstairs room is special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Oak Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Oak Hill Inn

Address: 409 South Rankin, Natchez, MS 39120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored antebellum home built in 1835. Oak hill sits on a beautiful acre of gardens ans fountains in the historic garden district. The front of this mansion was built facing the Mississippi River for wonderful breezes. Guests can relax on the veranda or on the courtyard. A gourmet breakfast is served in the original Dining room under an 1850s Waterford crystal gasolier. Guests are greeted with homemade chocolate chip cookies iced tea and complementary soft drinks and mint juleps. Rooms are spacious and decorated with period antiques. There is a library guests can use with thousands of books, many Natchez related. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Oak Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.