We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - 5 Stars - Thrilled!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Oak Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Oak Hill Inn
409 South Rankin, Natchez, MS 39120   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
complimentary mint julep
Ranked #1 of 35 Natchez B&B and Inns
Ormond Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
“Wow - 5 Stars - Thrilled!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have been to B&B's around the US and in Europe and this was by far the best experience I've ever had. First off, it was beautiful, with fine antiques and a gorgeous garden/fountain area in the back of the property. More importantly to me, it was extremely clean and comfortable. Doug gave us a wonderful tour (which was really one of my favorites of all in Natchez) and the other guests we stayed with were wonderful too. He went above and beyond. Both couples staying had been numerous times to Natchez and always come back to Oak Hill. The breakfast was outstanding. It was actually my favorite meal we had, even over the finest restaurants we dined in for dinner. It was so nice to actually stay somewhere where they used fine china and silver; I felt we were really served well and that is so rare these days. These men know what they are doing and I felt like this was a real vacation. Thank you Doug and Don for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    488
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
74
282
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our stay at Oak Hill was a genuine highlight of a wonderful trip. Our visit started inauspiciously, stuck in traffic for hours at Baton Rouge. But as soon as we arrived Doug saw our tired and dusty faces and prescribed mint juleps on the porch. It was August, and the afternoon sun had some kick to it, but that only added to the rightness of the moment. Heat, a porch, two rocking chairs, the most glorious surrounds, and the perfect mint julep to hand. Wonderful. Natchez is just beautiful and Doug pointed us in all the right directions; for dinner; for lunch; and for visiting. He and Don also prepared a stunning breakfast, which was a highlight on a trip filled with good food. Doug also gave us a tour of the house, which really is exquisite, and went out of his way to make us feel comfortable. Our bed was a delight to sleep in, and the facilities were not just functional and comfortable - they felt like they had been chosen with real care by people with an excellent eye for the tasteful.

I think the best thing I can say about our stay is that I was made to feel like an invited and valued guest, not just a stranger who was paying for a bed. Doug and Don are truly wonderful hosts and have a truly wonderful home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Monroe, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were given a Pastor's get-away trip to Oak Hill and my oh my what a wonderful experience!! From the decor to Doug & Don and their attention to ever detail, it was splendid. The bed downstairs was dreamy... We slept like rocks!! The breakfast was absolutely delish!! We could only stay one full day and night but it was worth every penny!!! Thank Ya'll for everything!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

One of the nicest inns we've ever stayed at. The home is beautifully restored and furnished, and the garden was delightful - a lovely spot to relax and sip your mint julep - and it was in comfortable walking distance of the downtown area. Breakfast was outstanding. Doug cheerfully accomodated our request for early morning coffee. Very reasonably priced, considering the inn's high quality. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was my first time staying at a B & B and any other I stay in will have huge shoes to fill! The hosts were gracious, house is beautiful, the location is perfect, the mint julep was the best I've ever had (and I live in the South), and the breakfast could not have been beat! The details Doug and Don put into everything made our stay feel like we were visiting friends and less! Make Oak Hill your 1st choice for accommodations Natchez.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

This is by far the best b&b we have stayed in. It is a superb historic house. The reception and care during the stay could not be bettered. The stay even includes a guided tour of the house. Breakfast is all home cooked to a very high standard. Stay there if you can and enjoy an experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My friends and I truly enjoyed a week of excellent breakfasts and delightful settings at Oak Hill Inn. My best stay at a B&B ever. We all felt pampered and we were given excellent guidance in exploring beautiful Natchez. The little details made such a difference. Our week in Natchez was truly a lifetime memory and Oak Hill was the star. Thank you Doug and Donald.
Patty
Burleson, Texas

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Historic Oak Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Oak Hill Inn

Address: 409 South Rankin, Natchez, MS 39120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored antebellum home built in 1835. Oak hill sits on a beautiful acre of gardens ans fountains in the historic garden district. The front of this mansion was built facing the Mississippi River for wonderful breezes. Guests can relax on the veranda or on the courtyard. A gourmet breakfast is served in the original Dining room under an 1850s Waterford crystal gasolier. Guests are greeted with homemade chocolate chip cookies iced tea and complementary soft drinks and mint juleps. Rooms are spacious and decorated with period antiques. There is a library guests can use with thousands of books, many Natchez related. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Oak Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Historic Oak Hill Inn to your Saves list