We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmest welcome in Mississippi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B
Save
You added J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B to your Saves list
804 Washington Street, Natchez, MS 39120   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Live Music
Ranked #2 of 37 Natchez B&B and Inns
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warmest welcome in Mississippi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

WE HAD DRIVEN DOWN THE NATCHEZ TRACE TO THIS B&B IN THE TOWN AND IMMEDIATELY ON ARRIVAL KNEW WE HAD FOUND SOMETHING VERY DIFFERENT.
A warm welcome made us feel as if it were almost our own house. Joe happily spent quite some time showing us all round the property, and very interesting it was too - family history, antiques, maps and charts ... and then the music. Treated to a splendid recital all of our own, he is a very accomplished musician and piano player. Then the next morning an excellent cooked breakfast, served the way it should be.
Downsides? Can't really think of any except maybe the fine main bedroom may need a little extra ventilation in the middle of summer? SO WE WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE STONE HOUSE B&B SHOULD YOU BE ANYWHERE NEAR NATCHEZ - AND IF YOU'RE NOT IT'S WELL WORTH THE DETOUR!

G&S, ON HOLIDAY FROM THE UNITED KINGDOM.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
190
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Joe Stone is unlike any other B&B host in that he is an amazing classical pianist in addition to being a gracious host. My wife and I spent four wonderful nights in the little guest house behind the main house. The entire downtown of Natchez is easily accessible on foot, as are all the main restaurants. Our cottage consisted of two bedrooms, a bath, and a sitting room. We only used one room, but it would be perfect for a family. We especially liked it because it was valentine's day and it afforded much more privacy than a typical B&B room. The breakfasts were served in the main house, just ten steps away from the cottage. The food was wonderful, and we really enjoyed browsing the atinque furniture, artworks, and maps that were on display. Last, but not least, is the music. As a unique value-add, Joe put on a full musical performance that showcased his incredible talents as a musician. As a guest we got to see the locally famous performance as a part of our stay with no extra charge. Joe performed Chopin, Debussy, Brahms, and Gottschalk compositions on his Steinway, and provided a complimentary bortle of wine. Considering the vey reasonable room rates, I feel like we got an amazing value for our stay. I would highly recommend the Stone House for anyone visiting Natchez.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

The accommodations are truly exquisite and the host is gracious and sophisticated.
The piano concert in the evening is unforgettable. The breakfast was sumptuous without being
pretentious.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Stone house was our first experience at a B&B. We were simply amazed at the effort and kindness extended by Joseph Stone. The opportunity to sleep in a home that is more than 150 years old and experience the family treasures that exist in perfect condition is something to see. The piano concert left us in awe, Joe joined us for a nice glass of wine followed by a 2 hour chat about family history and accomplishments. Joe's efforts to restore the mansion have won him praise and recognition in historical magazines and we are proud to recommend this stop on your journey through the Natchez area. Wish they had a diamond rating for Joe and his home!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Our B&B host Joe Stone was very hospitable, personal, and went above and beyond to make our stay extra special. He offers an incredible piano concert complimentary to staying at the B&B. He is a very talented musician, and quite knowledgeable about the history of Natchez. He is part a family that has been in Natchez for many decades, and he has wonderful historic relics and antiques with a story to go with each of them. Each morning he made us a lovely Southern breakfast... we especially enjoyed his quiche and the cheese grits.
The home is wonderful. My husband and I stayed in the cottage, and we really enjoyed the rooms. They are immaculate in cleanliness, and they have lovely furniture and art. The house is situated within walking distance of downtown and of a number of mansions that you may tour. We also went to the little malt shop which is just around the corner for a holiday milkshake!
I would recommend this B&B above many others I have stayed at for the special care, attention, and personable nature of the host and for the beauty and history of the home! Check it out! We plan to go back and to bring our mothers along with us! :)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Río Verde, Chile
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

My husband and I were in Natchez recently, and due to our tight schedule, we stayed only one night and that was at Stone House. I selected it based on its fine reviews at Trip Advisor, and it truly merits those reviews. Stone House is lovely, with historic furnishings and it is very clean and tidy. We struck an unusual cold spell in Natchez, but our room at Stone House was warm and toasty. The room we were in had huge proportions, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had great water pressure and ample lighting. Joe Stone, the owner, is a knowledgeable host. I can say only positive things about Stone House and I recommend it highly!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

Our recent stay at The Stone House was delightful! Our host, Joe Stone, knows everybody and everything there is in Natchez. The house, which is listed on the National Historic register, is charming and full of museum quality pieces. Our bedroom was large and beautifully appointed. Breakfast was sumptuous and was served on beautiful antique pink china (with juice in a silver goblet!). Best of all was the piano recital where Joe not only played beautifully but took the time to explain the significance of each piece. Probably the most enjoyable B&B we have ever stayed in. We definitely plan on returning to The Stone House and highly recommend you stay there as well!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B

Address: 804 Washington Street, Natchez, MS 39120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique B&B includes a private classical piano concert with wine, a gallery of rare maps, prints & books, & an antebellum billiard hall for guests' enjoyment. A generous hot breakfast is served in the dining room on antique Limoges china. Among the smallest B&B's in Natchez, it includes the Master Bedroom and a Cottage with two bedrooms. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.