We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B
Save
You added J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B to your Saves list
804 Washington Street, Natchez, MS 39120   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Live Music
Ranked #2 of 37 Natchez B&B and Inns
Salem, SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

Great stay. Home full of antiques and a wonderful collection of maps. Joe gave an excellent piano concert one evening. It was great. Bed comfortable, breakfast excellent

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
190
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Devils Lake ND
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

The initial draw to the Stone House was the billiards and the piano focus. Even if you have no interest in either of these, Joe has created an excellent B & B that makes you feel welcome. He is an outstanding host, very helpful, good cook and was easy to visit with. We stayed in the cottage, which was immaculate, and very tastefully appointed. I would highly recommend the Stone House to anyone considering staying in the area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

We spent four delightful nights with our grand duaghter at Stone House. Joe Stone has made Stone House one of the most enjoyable B&Bs where we have stayed. The house itself is full of rare and interesting antiques and artifacts, is architecturallly interesting, and sits in the middle of the historic area. Having grownup in Natchez, Joe Stone has a wealth of information about the town, the historic homes and the people. We can also enthusiastcially recommend his breakfasts, the delicious quiches in particular. If all that is not enought , Joe, a professional musician, does remarkable classical piano concerts for his guest.

In short, staying at Stone House made our visit to Natchez much more enjoyable and worthwhile.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

We arrived Friday evening for a weekend getaway & to checkout some Antebellum houses in the area. We spent two wonderful nights with Joe. We stayed in the 2 BR/ 1 BA cottage connected to the back of the house. This cottage served as the kitchen to the house in the late 1800"s. Very charming. And you are connected to the main house by a wraparound porch.

The main house is amazing. The detail & the work Joe has put into restoring this house is incredible. The history & the photos & the clothing from his family during the period was very beautiful & there were great stories to go with it. The Billiards Room is very interesting as it was the original wing of the house & even though it is now inside the house, it still has it's grand entrance.

The breakfasts were cooked by Joe and were great both mornings. The dining room & table is beautiful. Poached eggs, Quiche casserole,with shrimp grits & slices of ham and biscuits with marmalade jelly on the side are some of the dishes he served. Coffee & cranberry juice was great as well. This house has the master br available for guests & the cottage as well. So it feels like you and the other guests have Joe all to yourself.

Joe answered so many questions at breakfast and we all had a nice talk of not only his houses history, but the entire area as well. Its amazing how many of these Antebellum Homes that his family is connected to.

Joe had great advice on places to visit & eat.

The coolest thing about our stay was the private concert Joe gives you. Joe has a masters & a bachelors degree in music and used to play professionally. He plays clarinet & piano. He played us a beautiful concert including Bach,Chopin,Schubert & others. It was amazing listening to & watching a true master play. He plays from memory with his eyes closed. He can make a piano inspire you. Then after the concert, we had a wine reception which was nice.

Also talk to Joe about his hobby of collecting historic maps. He has maps dating back to the 15th & 16th centuries that really impressed me. He has many of them on the walls throughout the houses and there are great stories in lessons involved with those as well.

So much more I didnt get to.

Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

It is quite charming because the B&B has a little guest house attached by porch to the main house that offers privacy and the opportunity to bring some extended family or a friend along. We really appreciated the hospitality Joe brought to the guests which include a concert by Joe himself, who is quite an accomplished pianist, as well as an amazing breakfast and such detail in cleanliness and in so many other ways. Joe went out of his way to make sure everything was satisfactory. We loved it and will definitely be back to stay at the Stone House the next time we visit Natchez.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

My husband, Phil and I were privileged to stay 3 nights at the Stone B & B during Pilgrimage. We arrived about dusk....to a beautiful sunset complete with Joe's palm trees. (Nathez was such a welcome refuge from 2 feet of snow in Illinois.) From the moment we set foot in the parlor, I knew this would be an experiencde I would never forget. The huge double parlor with sliding doors spoke of a nastalgic time past that beckoned us to peace and relaxation. Our room, the large front parlor bedroom, had one large bed, and one smaller with a ante bellum canope. The bath was attached and had a new shower. Every day we had fresh towels and a scrubbed sink.

The people of Natchez take their role as historic caretakers seriously and with great thought. Joe, too, has so many lovely things to admire. He has an extensive collection of antique maps on view, as well as the beautiful mahongony antique furniture that you would expect to see in such a gracious home. If you are so inclined, he will be more than happy to give you a tour. However, if you just want to sit and sip your wine on his back porch, that's just fine too.

In addition to the experience of layed back opulance, Joe's breakfast each morning is something to really look forward to each day. On two mornings we had different kinds of quiche, along with ham, shrimp grits, finger biscuits, jelly, juice, and the best chickory coffee I've ever tasted. On our third morning we had the MOST delicious poached eggs in a southern style hollandaise sauce. ((These we my favorite morning fare.)

My favorite part of the stay was the concert, complete with printed program, Joe gave for us on his historic grand piano during the cocktail hour. During this concert we had a lovely wine and felt the afternoon blend into evening as only a southern afternoon offers. Don't get me wrong, if this isn't your sort of thing, no need to worry. He won't push it.....he wants everyone to feel comfortable and relaxed. It will be up to you (and any other couple there)to make a commjon agreement of time. Joe is quite an accomplished musician and has studied many years in New York before returning to the quiet life he has chosen in Natchez. (And, Natchez is lucky to have him.)

I guess II'd easily be a Southern Belle......if I could live at Joe's and listen to him play every day.
Go see for yourself.....you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleton, wi
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Joe Stone, owner of the historic Stone house went over and above to make sure that we had a wonderful and memorable trip. He began with great advice during the initial booking and it continued until we left. He is an extremely talented musician too, so please make sure that you stay for his concert in the evening. We stayed in the cottage which was very clean and quaint. The main house was like a museum and his breakfast was excellent too. Kudos Joe!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B

Address: 804 Washington Street, Natchez, MS 39120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique B&B includes a private classical piano concert with wine, a gallery of rare maps, prints & books, & an antebellum billiard hall for guests' enjoyment. A generous hot breakfast is served in the dining room on antique Limoges china. Among the smallest B&B's in Natchez, it includes the Master Bedroom and a Cottage with two bedrooms. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.