We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly an Anniversary to Remember!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B
804 Washington Street, Natchez, MS 39120   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Live Music & Wine
Ranked #2 of 34 Natchez B&B and Inns
Brandon, Mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Truly an Anniversary to Remember!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 27th wedding anniversary in Natchez at the Joseph Stone House over the 4th of July holiday. We were treated royally with Southern Hospitality,scrumptious breakfasts served in the formal dining room and stayed in the beautiful master suite. Joe is a native son of Natchez and presents a marvelous historical background of the area and his lovely home. The crowning highlight was by far the Piano Concert given by Joe Stone on our final evening there. He is a musician of such exceptional caliber and extensive knowledge of his pieces that words seem inadequate; this is truly a one of a kind...must do... Natchez experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    304
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
176
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Memphis, Arkansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My daughter and I spent our annual outing in Natchez, staying in the little cottage at Stone House.
It was very comfortable and met all our needs. We left with lovely memories and dreams fulfilled. The cottage was lovely and filled with antiques. We enjoyed practicing on the piano and experiencing for three days an essence of the past. Mr. Stone was an excellent host and his piano concert was a highlight of our trip. We experienced Southern hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Memphis, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Mr. Stone has a beautiful property with lovely antiques! The Cottage where my mother and I stayed was so cute and added lots of elegance! The cottage was VERY COMFORTABLE! I loved having our own piano to practice on. My favorite part of our stay was breakfast. I have never had breakfast with such elegance. We were served from Lamouge China, and had the most unique foods. Mr. Stone was a lovely host, and we enjoyed visiting with him. If you stay at Stone House PLEASE enjoy a piano concert by Mr. Stone! The concert was amazing, and we were served beverages from fancy china and crystal while we listened. All in all I give Stone House an overall excellent rating! Thank you Mr. Stone for such a wonderful stay, and I hope we get to come back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Mr. Stone offered wonderful service with a unique twist- a private piano concert. He was a very gracious host, patiently answering a multitude of questions about his beautiful home. Breakfast was delicious as well. My only complaint is that the "cottage" is very small with so much furniture it was hard to easily move around. The bathroom was tiny. I did get a peek at the room available in the main house and it looked exquisite. Would definitely return if that room was available!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeNatchez, Owner at J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your compliments. As for the Cottage, the vast majority of reviewers rated it as "Excellent" or "Very good."  This is the first review to rate it as "Terrible."  Although it is not particularly spacious, it is hardly "Terrible."  It is important to note that you brought 2 teenagers and a younger child with you, so your family of 4 was the maximum capacity for this unit.
 
The following is a direct quote from the form-letter email that I sent you in response to your email inquiry:

"The Cottage next to the main house has about 450 square feet but is divided into 3 smaller rooms. The front bedroom has a full-size canopy bed, antique furnishings, thermostat, couch, table, chairs and TV. Behind it is the rear bedroom with an extra-wide queen-size bed,  antique furnishings, and the entrance to the bathroom. The third room is just a small foyer which has a second private entrance that comes from a spacious deck next to the private parking in back. It's furnished with a piano, and a couple of granite counters."

The same details appear on my web site at the "Bed and Breakfast" link. The 10 pictures of the Cottage on the web site also make it clear that this is not a big unit and that it is well furnished. I prefer to make that clear rather than have guests be disappointed.

If the Cottage were furnished with modern furniture rather than antiques (such as the rosewood armoire, the canopy bed, the carved walnut piano which your children enjoyed practicing on), the rate would be lower. The concert with wine, attended by your entire family, is offered at no extra charge to B&B guests, an important part of the value, especially since Stone House is one of the few B&B's in Natchez that accepts children. These features -- along with the hot breakfast served on antique Limoges china in the dining room where over 150 years of family history adorns the walls, access to the billiard hall featuring an antique rosewood table, and an extensive collection of rare antique maps exhibited around the property -- are not found at the "Average" Natchez  B&B. - Joe Stone, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was a memorable overnight stay in a beautiful town. The house is filled with antiques, beautifully decorated and exquisitely furnished. The host, Joe, is incredibly welcoming and spent some time showing us his antique map collection (highly recommended if you have any interest in maps) which would probably be the envy of many museums. Breakfast was extremely high quality and was partially served in a newly purchased silver antique server that Joe took great delight in showing to us. A remarkable first night's stay in Mississippi - and the very epitome of traditional Southern hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

At the end of 2012, the area in Arkansas where we live lost all power due to a snowstorm. My family decided to take a trip to Natchez and was interested by the website for this B & B. The website was more than truthful about Joe Stone and the wonderful experience he provided. His piano concert and the history of music he provided even kept our two college-aged sons engaged. I loved the antique billiard table as well, which is still available for play. Joe is also an amazing cook and provided us with a great breakfast. Joe knows the real Natchez. The Stone House Musicale will be a place we will return to someday, even if there is not a snowstorm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Elegant. Charming. Educational. Entertaining. All combined and delivered with the finesse of a true gentleman host. A classical pianist, Joe Stone, gives you a personal concert which will rival any musical experience you will ever have. The amenities of your stay will give you fond memories months after you leave. This is no ordinary Bed and Breakfast. You just can't do better anywhere near the Natchez area.

Bill Stroud, Ph.D.
Oxford, MS

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B

Address: 804 Washington Street, Natchez, MS 39120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique B&B includes a private classical piano concert with wine, a gallery of rare maps, prints & books, & an antebellum billiard hall for guests' enjoyment. A generous hot breakfast is served in the dining room on antique Limoges china. Among the smallest B&B's in Natchez, it includes the Master Bedroom and a Cottage with two bedrooms. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B to your Saves list