We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine old house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Devereaux Shields House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Devereaux Shields House to your Saves list
Devereaux Shields House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   709 N Union St, Natchez, MS 39120   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Win a 3-night Stay
Ranked #5 of 39 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fine old house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

A classy establishment indeed, in a beautiful town. the house is a fine old mansion. The proprietor, Ron, is very helpful and informative. Breakfasts are in his other house across the road, called Aunt Clara's Cottage, and are not to be missed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    24
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
118
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were fortunate to spend 3 nights in Natchez at the Devereaux Shields House / Aunt Clara's Cottage the middle of April 2014. Everything was beyond expectations. There were 8 of us and we occupied the 4 bedrooms at Aunt Clara's Cottage. Rooms were clean and large. Beds were great. Bathrooms clean. Breakfast each morning was outstanding. Our hosts were very friendly and wanted to make sure everything was good. Highly Recommend. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Louise Suite, but I think all the rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Eleanor and Ron are terrific hosts and we loved staying at Aunt Clara's Guest Cottage. It is in the middle of beautiful Natchez, convenient to all the attractions. The southern breakfasts in the charming dining room were delicious! Thank you for making our visit delightful.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had such an amazing experience in Natchez. When we arrived at the Devereaux Shields house, Ron the owner had us follow him down the street to "Aunt Clara's Cottage" just three doors down and across the street. We had the Victoria Suite, and it has to be the best room in the house for couples. A huge King-sized bed sits in the middle of a spacious room, with an additional sitting room which we ended up using for all our luggage. (But it was nice to have the option of going into the other room if one of us wanted to read while the other one slept.) The antique furniture was beautiful, and every room was decorated in a unique way. The breakfast room had water and soda's available at all times, and Ron offered us wine to enjoy when we arrived. Ron suggested a few places for dinner and we made reservations.
The breakfasts each morning were amazing. Starting with homemade biscuits and a fruit bowl, followed by a plate full of something delicious, one morning a frittata, cheesy hash browns and a ham slice, the next day grits and an egg strata. What a great way to start the morning. On our last day Ron and Eleanor showed us the inside of the main house, and it was beautifully decorated and put together as well. They think of everything to make your stay more comfortable! The price was very reasonable compared to other B & B's, and if we return in the future we will certainly come back to this wonderful B & B!

Room Tip: We heard no noise what-so-ever in our Victoria Room in the back of Aunt Clara's Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MISHAWAKA, IN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We were stopping in Natchez on our way home from Florida and did not have a place to stay. I got on line and found this B&B. I called and spoke with Eleanor who said she had the Victoria Suite in the Cottage available for that night. We were visiting during the Spring Pilgrimage so Natchez was very busy at that time. We couldn't have been more pleased! Our suite was gorgeous: large main room beautifully decorated with a large sitting room as well as a lovely master bath. The linens were top notch and the furniture was very comfy. We also appreciated the great lighting for reading. Ron was extremely helpful in helping us plan our activities. He even made our dinner reservation! We went to the Visitor Center and when we returned, there was wine waiting for us in our room - what a nice touch! Breakfast was absolutely delicious - you won't go away hungry. I would highly recommend this B&B!

Room Tip: From what we saw, they all looked lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Ambiance, charm, great service, and out of this world breakfasts. Highly recommend. Also a great location for touring the antebellum homes. We did the spring pilgrimage tour and enjoyed each home. This was a great "girlfriend" getaway.

Room Tip: They offer "suite" arrangements - I travelled with 3 cousins and we had two rooms with a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I searched the web and based on Trip Advisor chose this. What a good decision. Eleanor and Ron are lovely hosts, warm and helpful. We stayed in the Elmo room which was large and comfortable with a king bed, daybed, chaise lounge and wing chair. The bathroom is roomy and well appointed with big fluffy towels and all the amenities. We rally enjoyed this B&B and would recommend it highly

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Devereaux Shields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devereaux Shields House

Address: 709 N Union St, Natchez, MS 39120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Devereaux Shields House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a comfortable balance of peace, style, history and hospitality at the Devereaux Shields House conveniently located in the historic district of Natchez, Mississippi. Step into the past in 6 elegant rooms in our Victorian main house and charming Victorian Cottage. All rooms have private baths, great beds and a full Southern-style breakfast, free Internet, snacks & beverages. Enjoy Southern Hospitality at its Best – because it’s not what we do, it’s who we are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Devereaux Shields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devereaux Shields House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.