We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Stay in Natchez” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Devereaux Shields House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Devereaux Shields House to your Saves list
Devereaux Shields House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   709 N Union St, Natchez, MS 39120   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 37 Natchez B&B and Inns
Mandeville, Louisiana
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A Perfect Stay in Natchez”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a three-night stay in Aunt Clara's Cottage during the middle of the week, and it couldn't have been more perfect. The Elmo room was lovely, and we were as comfortable as we've ever been in a B&B or hotel.
Breakfast was excellent, and our hosts and their staff were very attentive; my coffee cup was never empty, and that's saying something as I am quite the coffee glutton! The food was tasty and well-presented, and we enjoyed lingering over our breakfast and visiting with the other guests.
I can't say enough about what wonderful hosts we had in Ron and Eleanor. We had ample time to visit with them, and they were extremely congenial and helpful. We hadn't been to Natchez for a number of years, but plan to make more frequent trips there for short getaways now that we've found such a perfect place to stay and such wonderful hosts to visit with.

Room Tip: The Elmo room was spacious and comfortable. Although it is on the street side of the cottage, we di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    22
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
106
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
County Antrim, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

What a gem?
Ron and Eleanor were the perfect hosts. They were there if you needed them.
Aunt Clara's cottage was well appointed, beautifully decorated and lovely antique furniture.
Spotless with everything you needed from shampoo to coffee, water , sweets ......
I had a really comfortable bed.

The Location made easy access to the town.

We just loved the few hours spent rocking on the porch after a day siteseeing around Natchez.

Breakfast was like a family gathering .

My only negative was the breakfast itself.......but maybe I should have asked for cereal and toast.
The Pain perdu or French toast was outstanding but more of a dessert than breakfast in my opinion.

Room Tip: Have to recommend Aunt Clara's cottage....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictorianComfort, Owner at Devereaux Shields House, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to your return to Natchez and to explore more of Eleanor’s wonderful cuisine. We do offer guests a choice to enjoy breakfast separately or with other guests.

R Fry
Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We booked a room in Aunt Clara's cottage for my husband's birthday get-away. As it was the middle of the week, we had the entire cottage to ourselves, which made it even more romantic. We frequently stay in B&Bs, and this is certainly among the top 25%. The cottage itself is a charming Victorian complete with front porch and white picket fence. We were given Elmo's room, which included a king-sized bed, a day bed and a chaise lounge, and a private bath. Everything was clean and well-maintained; the bed linens and towels were of high quality; the bed itself was extremely comfortable. I did take advantage of the chaise for reading, and could imagine spending several days in the room; it's always nice to have something other than the bed or a desk chair to sit on. Breakfast was served in the dining room of the cottage -- fruit, juice, scrambled eggs, bacon and pancakes. We have no dietary needs, but understand that they would have been met. There is an ice maker in the dining room, along with a mini-fridge stocked with complementary beverages and a hot beverage maker (tea, coffee, cocoa).

What drops it from 5 to 4 are the little economies and details -- modern rather than antique furnishings, plastic shower curtain rings, a shower curtain liner with bits of mold on it, large bottles of drug store body wash and shampoo in the tub (not sure if they were for our use or from a previous guest), a broken standing lamp over the chaise, inadequate parking; there's really only room for one car in the driveway. I'd be afraid to leave my car on that very narrow street, and didn't see any cars parked there, so I don't know what we would have done if there had been other guests. Just something to ask about. Also, be sure to ask about the thermostats; we spent a rather uncomfortably warm night because I had not noticed that there are two, and switched the wrong one to "cool." I should have called Doris at the number she gave me -- that's my fault. I'm sure she would have happily given me instructions if I had called her.

Room Tip: Elmo's room is on the side next to the street, if traffic noises bother you. We weren't both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictorianComfort, Owner at Devereaux Shields House, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We are very glad our guests had a happy birthday celebration and a cozy, quiet and romantic getaway and welcome their return to Natchez to experience our personalized southern hospitality first-hand. We apologize for missing them by taking a midweek day off with visiting life-long friends and missed personally addressing their needs. We only just met them at breakfast on the morning of their departure and highly recommend they connect with property innkeepers from the booking to checkout to enhance their guest experience and to improve the value of their reviews, which they seem to enjoy providing. We do typically provide tours for interested guests of our homes and our wonderful antiques to highlight their origins and history. Future guests should be rest assured that due to rigorous ongoing restoration activities all conditions cited by these guests have been addressed. We offer exclusive use of Gilchrest & Soames bath products for our guests. Our B&B is on a major collector street and one of the most beautiful, crepe myrtle-lined streets in Natchez. While on-street parking is allowed and available we encourage guests to avail themselves of our off-street parking for their safety and to minimize our impact upon our residential neighbors. Our rooms are guaranteed off-street parking by considerate guests according to city B&B code. We look forward to welcoming these guests back to Natchez again in the future.

R Fry, Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed with Ron & Eleanor Fry, they are such wonderful host. The breakfast each morning was delightful. The rooms were spacious and the beds were so comfortable. They were so nice, we enjoyed it so much that before we left to return home we booked our room for the next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have been married for 32 years and never have stayed in a B&B. If this is any indication of what they are like, this will be the first of many B&B stays. My wife and I were in Natchez for the Ballon Festival and stayed with another couple in the Rose Suite. Ron and Eleanor (the owners) were the perfect hosts. Everything in the way of comforts has been well thought out. From the cleanliness to the roominess and charm exceeded my expectations. Don't miss the breakfast either.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonzales, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I spent our first anniversary in the Louise Room at Aunt Clara's Cottage. It was very charming and cozy. The breakfasts were fantastic! The bathrooms were period specific like we had hoped and a little small. Linens were very nice in bathroom and bedroom.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We can absolutely recommend Devereaux Shields House as a perfect place to stay in Natchez. Ron and Eleanor had thought of every comfort. We stayed in Rose Suite, which had an enormous bed and adjoining bedroom which had plenty of room for a roll away. Breakfast was delicious and Ron gave great recommendations and booked dinner for us (Magnolia Grill); he even kindly drove us down to the restaurant. On another of our hosts suggestion we visited Longwood Antebellum House the following morning and we are delighted we did. We wish we could have stayed longer.... hopefully next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Devereaux Shields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devereaux Shields House

Address: 709 N Union St, Natchez, MS 39120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Devereaux Shields House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a comfortable balance of peace, style, history and hospitality at the Devereaux Shields House conveniently located in the historic district of Natchez, Mississippi. Step into the past in 6 elegant rooms in our Victorian main house and charming Victorian Cottage. All rooms have private baths, great beds and a full Southern-style breakfast, free Internet, snacks & beverages. Enjoy Southern Hospitality at its Best – because it’s not what we do, it’s who we are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Devereaux Shields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devereaux Shields House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.