We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Mixology Class” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King's Tavern

King's Tavern
613 Jefferson Street, Natchez, MS 39120
+1 601-446-5003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 89 Restaurants in Natchez
Price range: $14 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Description: Historic King's Tavern circa 1789 as seen on Ghost Adventurers and Travel Channel. Wood fired oven with steak, fresh fish and pizza's. Craft Cocktails - some of the best in the country. Also tour the Charboneau Rum Distillery next door. Ourdoor dining
Monroe, Louisiana, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun Mixology Class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We attended a mixology class where the bartender showed us how to make several delicious, specialty cocktails. He was personable, knowledgeable, and entertaining. Would definitely do it again!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    17
    9
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Francisville, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wood fired excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We visited King's Tavern for a Sunday brunch. Several wood-fired pizzas were on the menu. Both of our selections were flavorful, service was attentive, and we enjoyed the quiet table with views to the green outside lawn.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We were only in Natchez for one night, so I can't really compare King's Tavern to the other options locally, but wouldn't hesitate to recommend compared against food and drink available anywhere. The cocktails were inventive and delicious (and appeared to be flavored farm-to-table when able; I saw the bar tender out back gathering herbs during our meal--perhaps the basil and mint that were muddled into my wife's drink?). The flat breads were delicious. Between the table, we tried the brisket, smoked catfish, and italian sausage. Apps and salads were likewise good. The setting was unique. There simply aren't that many buildings dating from the 1700s available for restaurants to occupy. King's Tavern was firing on all cylinders. If I am ever in the area again, I would come back to Natchez just to eat here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchitoches, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“We didnt feel welcomed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We were not impressed. The staff was a bit stuffy, with no smiles, lacked basic costumer service. We also found the bartender rather off-putting. This is Natchez which was voted the 7th most friendliest city in the US, and we didnt feel welcomed at King's Tavern.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Mixology and GREAT appetizers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Barkeep has many great local liquers and will mix a local version of your favorite drink.

The oysters and other appetizers are great!

Stop in for a long while of snaks, drinks and craic!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to King's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.