We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Worth a Stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosalie Mansion

Rosalie Mansion
Corner of Canal and Orleans Street, Natchez, MS 39120
(601) 445-4555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 42 things to do in Natchez
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home of the Daughters of the American Revolution and a unique collection of children's dolls and toys made from cloth and porcelain.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth a Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Natchez is an interesting town because of all the antebellum homes and mansions. We enjoyed Rosalie quite a bit because of its story. Although our guide was new to the job (we found out later) he gave an excellent talk and handled many questions about the home and the previous residents. We visited during low season during the week so we had a personal tour. As with all the other mansions the story is interesting. I found it amazing that descendants of the original family lived there until 1958. The DAR owns the property and has gone to great lengths to maintain it. Don't forget to walk out into the side yard and go to the edge of the bluff for a great view of the river.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    55
    15
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“So straight forward, old and elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I'm not sure what impressed me more about this home: the furniture, the access to upstairs, downstairs and gardens... or the level of upkeep. The house conveys how it was like to live elegantly, without any electrical devices and entertain the same way. Tour takes less than 30 minutes, but this property sets the stage for any other mansion you visit, as it is one of the oldest. The location on top of a bluff with river views, emphasizes this.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lots of Original Furnishings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This historical home is overlooking the River right on the Bluff downtown. The home had a very interesting history and had lots of the original furniture. Price was only $10 and $5 for seniors. Our guide was very good, he covered all the history and also had a few humorous stories. Upstairs you could go out on the balcony and had a wonderful view of the River. Very much worth seeing.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Wonderful history surround this home. Tour guide was excellent. If you are interested in the Civil War, this is a great home to visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxborough
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Lovely home with a fantastic view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Rosalie Mansion is a lovely home with an interesting history. Our tour guide gave a nice tour. Two unique features of Rosalie is its doll collection, and its gorgeous view of the Mississippi. It also has one of the better gift shops of the Natchez antebellum homes.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosalie Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Rosalie Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosalie Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.