We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting and Informative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosalie Mansion

Rosalie Mansion
Corner of Canal and Orleans Street, Natchez, MS 39120
(601) 445-4555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 31 Attractions in Natchez
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Specialty Museums, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home of the Daughters of the American Revolution and a unique collection of children's dolls and toys made from cloth and porcelain.
Wexford, PA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Interesting and Informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Good tour. Guide very receptive to questions. I always want to see the rooms they don't show us! Kind of expensive

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    48
    14
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Texas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting on the Banks of the Mississippi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This historic home, owned by the Mississippi DAR, is perfectly maintained. The director of the home gave our tour, which was very informative and offered helpful insight into the lives of the previous owners. The view from the upstairs porch is great.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girdwood, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful South”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

People! Wonderful and very educated. Entire area was extremely well taken care of. The atmosphere that was created makes you feel like you in the "Old South"

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“If you can only tour one, pick this one.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I were only going to be in Natchez a short time. Having never been there before, I was surprised to find out how much there is to see and do in the area. I wanted to tour one antbellum home and after asking on TA which one would be the most interesting to my husband, I chose Rosalie. We were not disappointed. The DAR ladies were in dressed in period costume and you could tell that they loved the home and its history. We both enjoyed the tour and the information given. Even though you can't take photos inside, you can take a picture of the view of the Mississippi River from the second floor, which is gorgeous. The grounds are beautiful and my husband loved the bell. We also enjoyed visiting the gift shop behind the home by the parking lot. The home is convenient for those passing through as it is not far from the Natchez Visitors Center at 640 South Canal Street by the bridge. That's where we bought our tickets....$15 each.....well worth it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful insights into real family history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our tour guide was knowledgeable and beautifully dressed in period costume. The house had its original furnishings very well restored and you felt like you had stepped back in time. The house itself is set in pretty gardens and is easy to find on the edge of town. Take in the walking tour of the town when you visit the house. Well worth it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosalie Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Rosalie Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosalie Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.