We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short and sweet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bowies Tavern

Bowies Tavern
100 Main St, Natchez, MS 39120-3458
(601) 445-6627
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 86 Restaurants in Natchez
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“short and sweet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Our visit was short and sweet. We decided to go to Bowies to watch the game and eat. We got stuck with this young server who thought it was cute to be on her phone and to cuss around us. She had no interest of where we were from or what our business here was. Even though we were given the wrong pizza the food was exceptionally good. Some of the other servers were on top of their tables giving ideal service to the other costumers even checked on us and bused our table. Maybe next time when I take my business partners out there we will request for someone different.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    23
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great gameday spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great place if you're looking to grab a drink or watch a game. This bar is located in a beautiful old building across from the fair grounds by the river. The food is average and served in small portions for the price, but the drinks are reasonable. Get there at least an hour before any LSU, Ole Miss, or Mississippi State games if you want a table. I know some people mentioned the service was bad, but I've been several times and never had any problems so these might be isolated incidents. There is a large bar so getting a drink is fairly easy if you're not at a table. Great atmosphere on game days when it's packed with cheering football fans. Outdoor shop located upstairs.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Go there on Thursdays and enjoy great and tasty bbq while watching the sunset. The grill master is entertaining and funny to watch.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Where's the management!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

While the staff showed potential.. They had very little knowledge of anything the bar had to offer. The lack of a uniform left very little for the imagination with some of the servers. I'm almost certain I saw almost all employees using cell phones and texting. All together I felt that I was in the servers way or a bother.. This bar is in dyer need of a manager. stayed for two hours and never saw any sign of management! Won't be coming back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchez, Mississippi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Trash,vomit and cussing patrons”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Nancy Best needs to be fired. Watch out for the vomit and attitude in the women's bathroom. Nothing like being cussed out and let step in vomit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bowies Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Bowies Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowies Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.