We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Longwood

Longwood
140 Lower Woodville Road, Natchez, MS 39120
+1 601-442-5193
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 32 attractions in Natchez
Type: Historic Sites, Bowling Alleys
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Construction on this architectural gem, the largest octagonal house in the U.S., began in 1860, but was interrupted by the onset of war. A National Historic Landmark, the still-unfinished mansion is an enduring symbol of the impact of the Civil War.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Loved this house tour! Hard to believe how large the house would have been if it had ever been finished. Lovely tour guide named Gay who was very knowledgeable about the history of the home and the family. Would definitely recommend touring this house.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    71
    10
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Longwood has a fascinating history. Only the first floor was ever finished, but you can just imagine how spectacular a home this would have been.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We only had time to visit one plantation house while we were in Natchez and we were recommended this one by the guide in the African/American museum.
We had a very good guide and the story of the house is fascinating. The downstairs area is interesting but upstairs is amazing.
The grounds were beautiful, the gift shop was well stocked. A very worthwhile house to see

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nutt house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Yep built by the Nutt family! Unfinished civil war mansion built in the round. Well worth the visit, along with much of the rest of this old city, built on the bluffs of the Mississippi River.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Interesting and worthwhile...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our visit. It was beautiful and interesting and our tour guide was awesome! The grounds alone are worth the drive!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longwood also viewed

 

Been to Longwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Longwood to your Saves list