We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Longwood

Longwood
140 Lower Woodville Road, Natchez, MS 39120
+1 601-442-5193
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Construction on this architectural gem, the largest octagonal house in the U.S., began in 1860, but was interrupted by the onset of war. A National Historic Landmark, the still-unfinished mansion is an enduring symbol of the impact of the Civil War.
Hoover, Alabama
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Big surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was my third visit to Longwood and I still enjoy seeing it. It is a must see. This time it started raining while we were there and it was so pleasant standing on the veranda smelling the rain and watching it come down. You could just imagine the children playing there when they were young.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    105
    19
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Civil war calamity came dreams broke and construction stopped”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This experience gives an up close taste of war's tragic influence. The building exterior is replete with splendor. The interior's basement level living quarters give an unintended feel of intimacy. They were to be temporary quarters until the planned ostentatious upper levels above were complete. A trip upstairs eerily reveals nothing but the bare "bones" of the structure.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Romantic Sorrow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The grounds and gardens of the plantation are very beautiful. The story behind the tour is really interesting. It really makes you think and put things into perspective. It is a story about dreams and unfulfilled reality. It really put an impression on my heart. My teenage daughters love this tour too. I myself have been to visit more than once and would go again.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

For history buffs and those who enjoy learning about life in the past, this is a must see antebellum home. The fact that it's only partially finished and will NEVER be completed, adds to the charm and mystery. If you are a True Blood fan, this has been used as Russell Edgington's home.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"A summation of the rise and fall of the South"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I love history and visiting places that really give a great depiction of the area I am sightseeing and this was ideal. Andrew, who gave us the fun-fact-filled tour, is actually the surviving ancestor of the plantation. His family is still a part of the unfinished plantation's tours and his mother even lived there at one point! Such a wonderful experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longwood also viewed

 

Been to Longwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.