We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful public rooms - very ordinary private rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Natchez Eola Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Natchez Eola Hotel to your Saves list
Natchez Eola Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Pearl Street, Natchez, MS 39120   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Natchez
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful public rooms - very ordinary private rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

First impressions count, and the courtyard and lobby areas of the hotel are spectacular - very beautifully furnished in period style. Pity about the guest rooms, small and cramped with tiny bathroom and hard to adjust shower. The breakfast was poor - hot food was cold, and very difficult to get milk for cereal, coffee etc. Tiny 10 ml long life half/half just doesn't cut it when you have to get a dozen of them for a decent serve. Luckily we only spent a minimum amount of time in the room, the drinks in the courtyard made up for it. There is no guest laundry, but the wifi is free!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    86
    71
    49
    28
See reviews for
28
128
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I found this hotel to be lovely on first sight (exterior and main rooms) and it had a nice manager (?) and good food too but I wish I could have left it there (I was on a tour so I was stuck) My room was bad from the get-go (broken toilet) and no one downstairs at the front desk seemed to care much ("Maybe we can find you another room, I don't know" aka no apologies etc) The new room I was put into was AWFUL; cramped, smelly, dirty carpet and a shower that shot water across the bathroom (as there was no way to move the shower head down) If I could have a make-over on this one, I would visit this hotel (because the lobby and main rooms are quite nice) and listen to the pm pianist (ditto) and perhaps have a bite to eat and then LEAVE...bottom line, I would never stay in this place again.

Room Tip: Check your room out carefully and make sure things work before you move in-if you must stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

What a dump,first impressions as we drove in the front was to be greeted by trash and old mattresses ,we walked in the front and all the brass work was tarnished and had never seen a clean in years,the lift was filthy and when we went to the room I was appalled by the filthy room ,it had never seen a duster in weeks ,yuk ,for such a big quirky hotel ,it's a dump.our room had the oldest crappyest hand painted bath with a toilet that was moving on the floor and a loose sink on the wall ,I sat in lounge and looked at the flaky plasterwork with the rotten window frames with the half painted walls ,dirty carpets and all in all a crappy hotel.big big disappointment,the hotel is massively understaffed and is clear to see this.

Room Tip: Book into another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband and made an impromptu trip to Natchez. It just so happened that it was a prom weekend so hotels were busy! We booked the room at the Eola last minute! They were super nice got us a room with no problems! The hotel is opened in 1927 - I absolutely love the hotel! If you love history, you too will love the Eola. The room was clean and comfortable. If you stay at the Eola, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronkonkoma, NY
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is an old and historic hotel. The lobby is lovely as it the courtyard. The rooms are small, cramped and the BEDS need PILLOW TOP mattress covers.
Skip the breakfast buffet as it is awful and the coffee was worse. The people and staff were very nice and tried hard to make our stay most comfortable. Worse two nights of little sleep due to the uncomfortable beds and the breakfast was not a thrill.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at the eola for a wedding. It was a quirky fun little place with a very attentive (if a little gossipy) staff. Everyone knew we were part of the "NYC crowd", which leant a novel quality to us and was a fun conversation point with the staff.

Right in the heart of downtown it's easy to walk around and see all the amazing houses and antique shops or just get in your car and have a look around the river and surrounding area.

We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Hotel is located in the city center of Natchez, within walking distance of basically everything. Very nice courtyard where you can have a drink. The rooms are really historical and basic. Would recommend the hotel if you like historic hotels - but don't expect all the amenities you would from a new hotel. Everything has an "old" outdated look. Balcony is a plus, however and there is free WIFI throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Natchez Eola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natchez Eola Hotel

Address: 110 Pearl Street, Natchez, MS 39120
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Natchez Eola Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and TravelClick so you can book your Natchez Eola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natchez Eola Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.