We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sense of decay but great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Natchez Eola Hotel

Save Saved
You added Natchez Eola Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Natchez Eola Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Pearl Street, Natchez, MS 39120   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 hotels in Natchez
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
2,057 reviews 2,057 reviews
188 hotel reviews
Reviews in 300 cities Reviews in 300 cities
737 helpful votes 737 helpful votes
“A sense of decay but great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

It is so easy to criticise; everything others have said is true but despite all this I enjoyed my stay here. Even though I had one of the better rooms with a "balcony with a view", the photos had been enhanced to look as if the room and balcony was far larger.
The hotel itself is in a state of decay but for location, it doesn't get much better.
I was able to walk to so many of the places I wanted and as Natchez is a town of major historical significance, it seemed more appropriate to stay in a hotel with history not a modern hotel where you could be anywhere.
The staff seem oblivious to all the problems - even a small one like a pamphlet is given to you saying there is a "happy hour" - not true but they don't seem to care that they are misleading people.
One of the best features is the bar where the woman (didn't get her name) has a great ability for bringing people in the bar together for a conversation -met several people from different countries and this was one of the better parts of the stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    72
    59
    46
    25
See reviews for
23
111
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Lobby, restaurant, courtyard very pretty and lavish. If you think you'll have a good view of the River, you're wrong! Even from the small balcony on the 7th floor, the view is obstructed. Room was really small and bathroom smaller, but that's the way hotel rooms came in the '20s! Food is amazing! You'll have to have Chef Johnny's fried chicken!!! It's worth the trip! And we had a ball with Shelby, our waitress!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alligator, Mississippi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We used to absolutely love this hotel.
It was, by far and away, our favorite in Natchez, and we've stayed in a variety of their rooms, and even in room 701, the "Owners Suite" on one special occasion. Once upon a time, it was 'the' place to stay in Natchez.
Lo, how the mighty have fallen.

The staff seems to have gone from friendly and accommodating, to surly and sullen.
The level of cleanliness has changed (not for the better), and the front desk is downright rude.
On the last day of our recent week-long stay, we asked for late check-out (just NOON...not anything extravagant), and were told "no" in no uncertain terms, and that we had to be out by 11 or we would be charged for another night.
As we walked away from the front desk, we were dismayed to hear the front desk staff LAUGHING about it!
I fail to see the humor in poor service, I suppose.
Other guests in our party (our group had booked several rooms) had the same experience with the front desk.
This is Southern hospitality?
I think not.

There were a few bright spots, however. The lunch buffet was excellent, and the wait staff was nice. The courtyard flame fountain is very nice, and very romantic.
The hotel is located in the downtown area, and is in easy walking distance of most all the good restaurants and bars, as well as all the cute, funky downtown shops. It's also in walking distance of Natchez-Under-The-Hill, but I don't recommend walking it. Getting down the hill is easy, getting back up is strenuous. Wear comfortable shoes.

Parking is a little problematic. There are a handful of parking spots behind the hotel, and more across the street. There is no valet parking, and no bellman. (At least there wasn't when we were there. Bell service used to be available.)

As we said in the title, it's sad, really. This used to be our favorite place to stay in Natchez, and a favorite couples and romance getaway place. We used to recommend this hotel to all our friends...the marked decline in service has made us reassess that.

Room Tip: If you are getting a balcony room, do not get one on the 7th floor. The alleged "balcony"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My worst hotel experience to date and I'm 41. Rude manager who condescended me and blamed my for their computer error even though I had proof of my registration information.Terrible experience. I will steer clear of the Eola from now on, and recommend all my friends and family do the same.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had driven the beautiful Natchez Trace Parkway from Tupelo to Natchez and in the heat and humidity, were hopeful of finding a cool comfortable hotel where we could put our feet up and relax and this we did at the Natchez Eola Hotel. Our room was comfortable, clean and cool. For an older style hotel, it had all the requirements we needed for a comfortable base. The cost was affordable and the bonus was that there was a dining room and meals available within the hotel so we didn't have to go looking for a place to eat after a long day of driving.
The food and service was good and the dining room was charming indeed, decorated in the elegant style of an ageing star. The hotel is dated, but that is part of its charm. The foyer is unbelievable with comfortable easy chairs, pillars and marble busts, grand piano and dim lighting - we felt as if we were in another world. The staff were polite and helpful and all in all, we enjoyed our stay at this lovely old historic hotel in Natchez and would recommend it to anyone or any family travelling to or through Natchez. Well done Natchez Eola Hotel.

Room Tip: We were happy with the room we were given.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Mississippi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was a nice hotel that had a lot of character and charm in the lobby, but once you go to your room we were a bit disappointed. The bed needs to be replaced and the ceiling fan was dirty. The positive side to the place was that it was close to the antique shops and cute stores on main. Overall, the rooms need to be updated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The staff was very friendly upon checkin. We were told this hotel was haunted. This hotel is located near restaurants and stores. Our view was of the town and Mississippi River. It was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Natchez Eola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natchez Eola Hotel

Address: 110 Pearl Street, Natchez, MS 39120
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Natchez Eola Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Otel, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Natchez Eola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natchez Eola Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.