We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, historic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Natchez Eola Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Natchez Eola Hotel to your Saves list
Natchez Eola Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Pearl Street, Natchez, MS 39120   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Natchez
Simi Valley, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice stay, historic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The staff was very friendly upon checkin. We were told this hotel was haunted. This hotel is located near restaurants and stores. Our view was of the town and Mississippi River. It was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    86
    71
    49
    27
See reviews for
28
127
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Mississippi, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

The walls are apparently thin. Not sure how many men were be entertained by the "lady" next door but their noises kept us awake and disgusted all night. We requested a room change but were not accomodated..nor would the front office staff ask them to be a little quieter. Try explaining those words and sounds to a 7 year old!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The room was small and dirty. Not alot of people there (by the looks of the parking lot) but they put all of us on the 6th floor and you colud hear the doors slamming, showers running, people talking, TVs, etc.. through the walls. We were there on Memorial day and a couple of days after that. Not alot going on in town. The breakfast buffett was not good for $10 a person. The dining area was not clean. The tablecloths were stained. The staff all just stood around talking to each other. They did not speak to you unless you said something first. The lobby was interseting but you could tell that nothing had been cleaned or dusted in a long time. bad, musty smell everywhere.I would not recommend staying there. I really wanted to go somewhre else but did not suggest it because I did not want to hurt my husband's feelings because he had set up the trip as a surprise for me.Someone else wrote on their reveiw that the staff seemed to be oblivious that they were in the service industry. I agree they were not helpful or very friendly at all. I loved Natchez but the Eola needs alot of cleaning and renovations. I will never stay there again or recommend anyone else stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed in June of 2013. The Eola has a great history and some wonderful public spaces. Once one goes above the lobby however, it looks like there is a lot of deferred maintenance. The hallways are a bit musty. The room we were in was very small. However, the bed was clean and we had plenty of hot water. We paid $89.00 for the night so it was worth it to us. The staff was friendly. We did not have a river view, but I hear it is nice. We would stay again for the right price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I are on an 8 week trip across the country with our dog. We chose Eola for its dog policy and because it was in town. They charge extra for the dog. The hotel is in the center of town. It is very old-which we expected- but the halls smell very musty. The room did not smell. Our room on the 6th floor had a great view of the Mississippi River- an unexpected bonus. And a large balcony with a table for 4 and an overhead fan. We had a very nice room service dinner on the balcony and enjoyed a beautiful sunset. The hotel sitting areas and restaurants were very empty during our stay. The room was clean, a decent size and quiet. It is a unique hotel and the pros outnumber the cons.

Room Tip: Choose upper floor overlooking the Mississippi River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

When I arrived I was not sure about the condition because I noticed that it was a historical property. I was amazed with the appearance of the hotel. It was beautiful. So much history in that building. The furniture was gorgeous. I recommend that you stay in a room that has a river view. The sight of the Mississippi River at night is relaxing. Riverside view rooms have small balcony with chairs. My room had a skylight which was refreshing to see the sun shine into your room in the morning.

The staff at this hotel were so nice & professional, excluding the gentleman, who works the front desk in the night time. He could use a personality class or customer service class. He's not very welcoming. The restaurant staff & the hotel manager were the most amazing people. The lunch buffet was delicious. The presentation of the food out surpasses any high end restaurant. I ate at Bowie Tavern on the night before because the hotel restaurant was closed. Eola food was so much better. The entire restaurant staff make you feel just like you are at home. Thanks for your delicious cook Mrs. Mathilda.

The worst part of my stay was the squeaky ceiling fan.

Room Tip: Get a room on the mississippi river side for a grand view at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Originally we planned our trip to stay at The Guest House, the phone number to the Guest House rings to the Eola Hotel as they are both owned by the same people. We thought we were staying at the Guest House because that is the # that we called, and they booked us for the Eola and didn't know this until we arrived in Natchez at the Guest House. We found out that the phone forwards to the Eola and you have to specify that you want reservations at the Guest House even though you are calling the Guest House. The rooms were small, housekeeping was very poor and for the pricey room, you got less than Motel 6 quality. The headboard even fell off the wall!! The only plus was the view of the River from our balcony

Room Tip: The balcony rooms were nice, 6th floor, but ours was close to a bar and it was Memorial Day weekend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Natchez Eola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natchez Eola Hotel

Address: 110 Pearl Street, Natchez, MS 39120
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Natchez Eola Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, TravelClick and Travelocity so you can book your Natchez Eola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natchez Eola Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.